The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby M_2NR » June 3rd, 2014, 11:23 am

Quickreply also? Because I have yet to see a proper stock integration of such on either.

And what about continuity? I'm talking proper seamless integration which apple demoed. Not "oh. Lemme save a file in jopbox from office/office suite and hope it on meh PC. Oh. It deh. Good. Lemme open it in word."

If yuh talking about extensions and keyboards. Well now yuh talking.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 3rd, 2014, 11:48 am

Is innovation limited to creating new tech alone? Because I thought taking something that was there and making it easy to use and desirable was also innovation.

Postby tr1ad » June 3rd, 2014, 1:09 pm

quick reply as well.....out since OS7 made native in BB10

Postby S_2NR » June 3rd, 2014, 4:36 pm

PapaC wrote:Is innovation limited to creating new tech alone? Because I thought taking something that was there and making it easy to use and desirable was also innovation.

Innovation at apple died with Steve jobs imo.

T3CHSMASH

Postby T3CHSMASH » June 3rd, 2014, 4:39 pm

For all those who are saying Apple copied Android...or iOS users said they didn't need this and now they want it because they can have it...although that might be true to an extent, it is EXTREMELY good to see companies in competition. This just results in better products and software for us consumers. As a user of both Android and iOS, they both have the areas where they shine most, and competition is only making it better.

Postby M_2NR » June 3rd, 2014, 5:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:
PapaC wrote:Is innovation limited to creating new tech alone? Because I thought taking something that was there and making it easy to use and desirable was also innovation.

This! At least he left a road map for them to follow for some time until they become like Sony.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/kylesmith/2 ... next-sony/

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 3rd, 2014, 5:36 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Innovation no longer exists in Apple's world. Now it's using old technology and calling it their own by pioonering it. Love apple but as said before they gone down the drain

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 5th, 2014, 4:58 pm

trvs

Postby trvs » June 6th, 2014, 9:34 pm

Anyone have an iMac with the Fusion Drive?

Thinking if to get the 1TB Fusion Drive or a 256 SSD. Both are the same price.

Which one would you go with?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 6th, 2014, 10:58 pm

trvs wrote:Anyone have an iMac with the Fusion Drive?

depends on your needs

Personally I'd go with the 256Gb SSD and get a Thunderbolt external drive or RAID for data storage. The SSD is really just for OS and applications installation. Thunderbolt is very fast and you can change / swap / upgrade the external drive whenever you like. Changing the internal drive on the new iMac is not easy.

If you are getting the 27" iMac, get it with the least RAM possible and then upgrade the RAM to 16GB or more yourself. It should be much cheaper this way.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 6th, 2014, 11:53 pm

trvs wrote:Anyone have an iMac with the Fusion Drive?

depends on your needs

Personally I'd go with the 256Gb SSD and get a Thunderbolt external drive or RAID for data storage. The SSD is really just for OS and applications installation. Thunderbolt is very fast and you can change / swap / upgrade the external drive whenever you like. Changing the internal drive on the new iMac is not easy.

If you are getting the 27" iMac, get it with the least RAM possible and then upgrade the RAM to 16GB or more yourself. It should be much cheaper this way.

Yeah! I thinking the straight 256 GB SSD is the way to go.

It's the 27" iMac. I decided to go with the 16 GB RAM since it's two 8 GB sticks and I'll just throw in two more 8 GB sticks to upgrade. :)

Thanks man.

Postby Kenjo » June 7th, 2014, 8:36 am

Anyone has suggestions for a media server for my MacBook Pro ? I was using tvmobili but apparently they may have stopped their free license

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 7th, 2014, 10:18 pm

Anybody knows when iOS8 beta 1 will expire? And doh say wen beta 2 release...

scotty_buttons

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby scotty_buttons » June 8th, 2014, 8:38 pm

Hey guys. Sorry to digress... Wanted to get an iPad. Mainly for surfing and reading..
Getting a deal on an almost new ipad 2 32gb for 1700. Is the retina display worth the extra cost?

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2014, 8:48 pm

Yes.

Postby javishm » June 8th, 2014, 9:21 pm

You wouldn't notice the difference unless they are side by side but yes it's totally worth it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 8th, 2014, 9:29 pm

The iPad 2 is still a very capable machine

Postby javishm » June 8th, 2014, 10:11 pm

Correct I have both the iPad Air and the iPad 2 and up to this day no issues with the iPad 2 and still performs as the day it was bought

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2014, 10:22 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Mainly for surfing and reading..

Most definitely. Astounding. Yes.

If yuh was just gonna knock some angry birds and hungry shark evolution, then by all means, get a non-retina screen. The difference between Retina and Non-retina is light and day for reading especially.

scotty_buttons

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby scotty_buttons » June 8th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Well since I have two retina devices.. Macbook pro and iPhone, im guessing the difference might really bother me. :lol:

But it's really just something to bide the time till a newer ipad release. Heard the iPad mini display is surprisingly good for non retina so considering that option as well.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2014, 7:39 am

Its comparable to an iPhone 3gs screen except its IPS and the 3GS wasn't. Best bet would be to go into pricesmart and use one.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 9th, 2014, 5:53 pm

Are there docking stations for the macbook pro??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2014, 6:00 pm

src1983 wrote:Are there docking stations for the macbook pro??

http://hengedocks.com/
Won't be out till Spring 2014
http://hengedocks.com/pages/vertical-do ... -pre-order

http://www.macworld.com/article/2099483 ... vices.html

honestly I'd wait for the Henge

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 9th, 2014, 7:18 pm

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 9th, 2014, 7:54 pm

src1983 wrote:Are there docking stations for the macbook pro??

http://hengedocks.com/
Won't be out till Spring 2014
http://hengedocks.com/pages/vertical-do ... -pre-order

http://www.macworld.com/article/2099483 ... vices.html

honestly I'd wait for the Henge

Thanks, I forgot to mention that I have the non-retina version. I'm liking the hedge dock

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 10th, 2014, 10:43 am

Just to let y'all know, went with the iPad mini retina. Really satisfied with it thus far.
Thanks!

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » June 10th, 2014, 11:17 am

Anyone knows any reputable websites that unlocks iphone 4s 7.1.1?

Postby javishm » June 10th, 2014, 6:03 pm

what network is it locked too?

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » June 11th, 2014, 8:50 am

Verizon

2WNBoost