Need Callalo recpie asap

sharkmouth

Need Callalo recpie asap

Postby sharkmouth » May 10th, 2014, 12:11 am

can any of you cooks out there help me,i got some cassava,dasheen bush and what ever meat,crab is not necessary

sonygoup

Re: Need Callalo recpie asap

Postby sonygoup » May 10th, 2014, 12:14 am

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » May 10th, 2014, 12:16 am

thelem wrote:I can help with a dictionary though.

maybe your great inbred gran kids might care

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 10th, 2014, 12:31 am

urabus

Postby urabus » May 10th, 2014, 12:37 am

Not the best with exact quantities as i wud just average when cooking, neither with the English right now.

Let's say its a bundle of bhagi u have

1/2 carrot, grated
1 sweet potato grated
A small piece of pumpkin grated

Of course you need to clean the bhagi, cut up the leaves and the stem.

In a pot with oil, sauté some blended garlic, onions, pimentos, hot peppers, maybe a piece of ginger too

Add the grated carrots, pumpkin and sweet potatoes and let that sauté for about 5mins

Then add the bhagi leaves, salt

After sometime u would need to add coconut milk, not the pack coconut milk eh, fresh coconut milk.

Add some ochroes and just let that simmer

You can even add a maggi cube and some golden ray for flavoring

Use a swizzle stick and swizzle the bhagi so it can mash up, dont use a hand blender, it gets too mushy.

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » May 10th, 2014, 12:52 am

urabus wrote:Not the best with exact quantities as i wud just average when cooking, neither with the English right now.

1/2 carrot, grated
1 sweet potato grated

In a pot with oil, sauté some blended garlic, onions, pimentos, hot peppers, maybe a piece of ginger too

Add the grated carrots, pumpkin and sweet potatoes and let that sauté for about 5mins

After sometime u would need to add coconut milk, not the pack coconut milk eh, fresh coconut milk.

Use a swizzle stick and swizzle the bhagi so it can mash up, dont use a hand blender, it gets too mushy.

you are a genious

Postby eliteauto » May 10th, 2014, 6:57 am

sweet potato and carrot? that's a first

you need dasheen bush, if you're buying it in the market look for the young "rolled" bush as opposed to the older (and cheaper) broad leaf, clan and cut it up incl of peeling the stalk, wash and put in a pot like a tall stock pot, if you're using one bundle of bush you'll need about 8-10 ochroes, cut those up and add to the put together with some diced pumpkin, cut up some onion, chive celery, garlic and pimento add everything, the choice of meats is yours, you can have none or go with crab, smoked bones, pigtail etc, add your coconut milk ( fresh or pack it's at your convenience), at salt to your taste and your Golden Ray/Maggi cubes is optional and let everything simmer until the leaves are tender and the pumpkin is soft.

At that point you determine what consistency you like whether it be by swizzle stick, immersion blender or a reg blender, Callaloo is a personal dish, each person's own would be to their preference (hence the carrot and sweet potato above) and it's a one pot all ingredients in dish, what I gave you is the basic foundation upon which you can shape to suit you, it's also and eyeball kinda dish. Try your hand and tweak to suit

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » May 10th, 2014, 7:02 am

sharkmouth wrote:
urabus wrote:Not the best with exact quantities as i wud just average when cooking, neither with the English right now.

1/2 carrot, grated
1 sweet potato grated

you are a genious

Everyone has they own method cooking Callalo first of all no to that golden ray butter that will kill you.

My girl don't even go tru the cutting up @ Hilo or other supermarkets they have a Callalo pack less than $20 , it comes cut up ,pumpkin ,ochroes , hot pepper and magi seasoning included .

Wash out ,have yuh garlic ,ginger and salt meat ( pig tail or beef)

Coconut milk not from the pack real grated from the dry coconut the milk squeeze out .

Start heating up the pot we use a non stick .

Sauté ginger ,garlic in some olive oil we use the Badia brand minced garlic in olive oil from pricemart.

Add the Callalo with all the diced pumpkin ,ochroes ,Maggie seasoning place whole hot pepper on top make sure the hot pepper has the stem and salt meat.

Then add the coconut milk and let it boil down on a medium fire .

We use the swizzle stick but take out the hot pepper and salt meat or it will be spicy or you can use the blender just for 4 seconds not longer you don't want too liquify. Put back in the salt meat not the hot pepper.

That's it .

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 10th, 2014, 7:30 am

eliteauto wrote:sweet potato and carrot? that's first

Oh, thought it was just me.....also I always thought bhaji was spinach :|

Postby Gem_in_i » May 10th, 2014, 8:05 am

Postby Gem_in_i » May 10th, 2014, 8:06 am

Postby SR » May 10th, 2014, 8:19 am

Swizzle stick is the best

sean

Postby sean » May 10th, 2014, 9:09 am

TriP

Postby TriP » May 10th, 2014, 12:21 pm

SR wrote:Swizzle stick is the best

you cant go wrong with that !!

Postby meccalli » May 10th, 2014, 12:34 pm

Taro/dasheen leaves, ochro, baking powder for the oxalate in the taro and coconut milk.

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » May 10th, 2014, 9:57 pm

hey i have heard from the men,can you girls help me lol

Postby eliteauto » May 11th, 2014, 9:49 am

urabus is female, there's prob one other feuner who might help but she's decommissioned at the moment, on tuner don't hold your breath

www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=162126

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 11th, 2014, 11:59 am

sharkmouth wrote:hey i have heard from the men,can you girls help me lol

Well you play brave and don't take advice :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » May 12th, 2014, 6:43 am

sharkmouth wrote:hey i have heard from the men,can you girls help me lol

Postby dougla_boy » May 12th, 2014, 7:10 am

go try that sweet potato and carrot scene........go let u know how it cut

pluggie

Postby pluggie » May 12th, 2014, 10:34 am

1/2 carrot, grated
1 sweet potato grated

Bess recipe B !!! The sweet potato adds a very nice flavor and texture to the mix ...

snatman

Postby snatman » May 12th, 2014, 3:08 pm

hmm sweet potato in callalloo, sounding good!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2014, 11:24 am

my method:

ingredients:
* 1 bundle dasheen bush (properly cleaned)
* 10-12 ochroes
* 4-5 pimentoes
* 1 coconut
* seasoning both blended and raw
* hot pepper
* garlic,onions
* pieces of pumkin

method: coconut is grated and blended to get the milk...Milk is placed into pot after which the bush and other ingredients(sliced and cut) are placed into pot and left to cook
Use of swizzle stick to "bring down everything "...add salt accordingly.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 1st, 2014, 1:14 pm

Ya'll need to drop some pigtail or crab in them calalloos tho

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2014, 1:26 pm

crab is a must...just have the veggie edition nuh.

Postby shogun » June 1st, 2014, 2:24 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Ya'll need to drop some pigtail or crab in them calalloos tho

:!:

Dish not complete without those nuh.