Tablets for New Tertiary Students

sonygoup

Tablets for New Tertiary Students

Postby sonygoup » May 27th, 2014, 7:18 pm

Just hear em say the want to 'propose' tablets for new tertiary students My view another pointless PP idea

What allur think?

Re: Tablets for New Tertiary Students

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 27th, 2014, 7:36 pm

Pre-election wheels getting the ol grease, I see

sadcakes

Postby sadcakes » May 27th, 2014, 7:46 pm

pointless in deed just will encourage more misuse with these young adults

Daran

Postby Daran » May 27th, 2014, 7:59 pm

Backward minds won't understand, but in all seriousness this has come about because of the path to digital ebooks and class notes that remain in accessible to some poorer students.

You'll soon hear about subsidized or free low speed broadband for all students.

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2014, 8:09 pm

They will find a way to misuse these.

But a tab is a must. Saves real load and paper.

Wish I had my nexus 7 from day one. :(

Postby shogun » May 27th, 2014, 8:12 pm

nervewrecker wrote:a tab is a must. Saves real load and paper.

Postby K74T » May 27th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Yeah, gidem panadol and whatnot.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 27th, 2014, 8:27 pm

Tablets? Like morning after pills...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 27th, 2014, 8:34 pm

How convenient..........

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 27th, 2014, 8:35 pm

if they get these tablets, Facebook will be Bombarded with ridiculous selfies now.......... kamla please don't do this

Postby Trini Hookah » May 27th, 2014, 8:37 pm

Cheaper than laptops, would like to hear more on it.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 27th, 2014, 8:44 pm

Daran wrote:Backward minds won't understand, but in all seriousness this has come about because of the path to digital ebooks and class notes that remain in accessible to some poorer students.

Dont see how it backward to disagree with thief head for vote..You really thing they doing this for the people and not to benefit themselves in the later run?

And bro I dont have a problem with the government give these devices but my hole thing is look at the timing AND why did tertiary students TABLET?! Laptops are better suited for a tertiary student than high school student that just gonna destroy em.
In the beginning they should have given it to Tertiary students and highschool student should of get em for at least form 4 because that Is the time in high school where you actually do school or even just have a proper computer lab for student to use

End of the day tablets for Tertiary students is a waste because think about this! If the devices aren't 'flagship' devices they are gonna be outdated in 6 months -1 years tops, battery life goes faster than a laptop. And Im doing my final year right now and honestly never used a laptop to read no ebook and all that drama!

Main point being they need to relook the whole giving out of any electronic device!!!!

sadcakes

Postby sadcakes » May 27th, 2014, 8:47 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:if they get these tablets, Facebook will be Bombarded with ridiculous selfies now.......... kamla please don't do this

instagram twitter and what not also

sadcakes

Postby sadcakes » May 27th, 2014, 8:50 pm

sonygoup wrote:
Daran wrote:Backward minds won't understand, but in all seriousness this has come about because of the path to digital ebooks and class notes that remain in accessible to some poorer students.

Dont see how it backward to disagree with thief head for vote..You really thing they doing this for the people and not to benefit themselves in the later run?

And bro I dont have a problem with the government give these devices but my hole thing is look at the timing AND why did tertiary students TABLET?! Laptops are better suited for a tertiary student than high school student that just gonna destroy em.
In the beginning they should have given it to Tertiary students and highschool student should of get em for at least form 4 because that Is the time in high school where you actually do school or even just have a proper computer lab for student to use

End of the day tablets for Tertiary students is a waste because think about this! If the devices aren't 'flagship' devices they are gonna be outdated in 6 months -1 years tops, battery life goes faster than a laptop. And Im doing my final year right now and honestly never used a laptop to read no ebook and all that drama!

Main point being they need to relook the whole giving out of any electronic device!!!!

agreed at this though

Postby javishm » May 27th, 2014, 8:50 pm

is best they jus give them morning after and hotel rooms instead

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 27th, 2014, 9:30 pm

sonygoup wrote:

quoted for truth!

Postby M_2NR » May 27th, 2014, 11:20 pm

sonygoup wrote:And Im doing my final year right now and honestly never used a laptop to read no ebook and all that drama!

HAHAHAHAHAHA. right. ok. may be not your degree pal.
*paging pioneer*

Hookah... tell this man bout m17a and 2230 nah. :lol:
man nearva hear bou reading ebork on laptorp.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 27th, 2014, 11:30 pm

M_2NR wrote:
sonygoup wrote:And Im doing my final year right now and honestly never used a laptop to read no ebook and all that drama!

*paging pioneer*

bigman I can't tell you the last time I had an actual, physical handout/assignment.

Again, it's a convenience to the students, I just hope this time they use the apps in class and not to play Fruit Ninja :|

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2014, 11:33 pm

Stoopid waste of money

Stop giving Form 1s laptops too ugh

Postby Trini Hookah » May 28th, 2014, 12:11 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Stoopid waste of money

Stop giving Form 1s laptops too ugh

Forever salty Gracie, coasin cuz e get blank a laptop.

Postby M_2NR » May 28th, 2014, 12:23 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

*paging pioneer*

bigman I can't tell you the last time I had an actual, physical handout/assignment.

Again, it's a convenience to the students, I just hope this time they use the apps in class and not to play Fruit Ninja :|

or worse...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 28th, 2014, 12:36 am

I support the distribution of morning after tablets for these reckless teenagers....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 28th, 2014, 12:37 am

Steups

Them chirren does hardly even use the laptops. I used to see them mostly playing game on it during break and lunch time. Some does be watching blues and all. The government just wasting money on it...now they coming to waste more on this stupid idea

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 28th, 2014, 12:40 am

plus laptops were given out with the intention to use in schools....

but...they are encouraged not to bring them to schools as they play video games and watch porn on it whole day......

Postby S_2NR » May 28th, 2014, 1:53 am

sonygoup wrote:

lemme guess... soc sci? humanities? :roll:

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 28th, 2014, 1:55 am

Lmaoo s2nr cah believe u put me down for such a sheit degree hoss :( :crying:

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 2:03 am

eh?

I does know UTT well... most students bring dey personal laptop or tablet to study..makes sense, ent? And upfront ent much for a student (most of whom still live at home, UWI has dorms but for CARICOM nationals bar TandT and people living in Tobago or Icacos or Mayaro...)

But then why have a uni tablet and a personal laptop? and for what? tablets' value is Web browsing and e-mail, like a real big smartphone....I don't know any major mobile OS that has a Microsoft Office capable app... functionality can't be the same as ah IBM clone/Mac laptop or desktop even. so den what de point, if all what yuh could do on a tablet is make notes, not write a Word doc, make a spreadsheet, make a Powerpoint, do graphic design, etc.

and if dey does surf porn, well once yuh 18 youse an adult....the restrictions have to be looser than for lil schoolchirren...

Just another gimmick to get votes from UNC...but I doh expect better from KRowley if he wins next year.

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 2:14 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Cheaper than laptops, would like to hear more on it.

Depends on the specs.... a laptop just to docs/MS Office cost about $USD 200-300/$1800 TTD, not different to a mid-range or even top line tablet...

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 28th, 2014, 2:24 am

desifemlove wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Cheaper than laptops, would like to hear more on it.

Depends on the specs.... a laptop just to docs/MS Office cost about $USD 200-300/$1800 TTD, not different to a mid-range or even top line tablet...

Where PP gettin them for that price bro :lol:
And just buying a tablet is pointless to as a tablet is 10x easier to be destroyed than a laptop anyday! They gonna give out cases for em to or and to think the men who doing the feasibility study probably liking the self now when the hear this lol

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » May 28th, 2014, 2:38 am

There's an Indian company that has produced/is in the process of producing a tablet for I believe $100US I've played with a prototype and it's very good for basic functions as may be required in this case I can't remember the name now though starts with an A me thinks