For the rotary-heads...R26B

Postby Razkal » May 16th, 2005, 11:35 am

The R26B four rotor engine
The R26B four rotor engine was developed for Mazda's racing program in 1990.
It was an all new design derived from the 13J engine (specifically the 13J-MM).
The LeMan's specification engine produces 700bhp@9000rpm, 607Nm/448ftlb@6500rpm, and engine capacity is 654cc x 4 rotors=2616cc
The Mazda LeMans 787B racer powered by this engine won LeMans in 1991, the making both the first Japanese manufacturer and the first non-piston engine to win.
Acceleration of the 787B is impressive, as it weighs 800kg, giving it a power to weight ratio of 1.2kg/bhp (2.6lb/bhp).
As a comparison consider the following: Ferrari F40 2.6kg/bhp (5.7lb/bhp), Porsche 911 turbo 4.5kg/bhp (9.9lb/bhp)
This will allow a 0-100m (328ft) sprint in ~2.5 seconds, and a 1/4 mile with a terminal speed of 250km/h (155mph) - somewhere around 9 seconds!
(actually maybe about 10 or 11, as the car is not set up for drag racing)

Unfortunately the rotary was banned from European racing by FISA in 1992.

To a certain extent the USA's IMSA GTP series is very similar to LeMans style racing and the RX-792P carried the rotary flag for a while.
The R26B used in this car was down a little in power and torque, 650bhp@8500rpm, 570Nm/420ftlb@6500rpm

Mazda R26B Specifications
Layout: 4-rotor, in-line
Displacement: 654 cc x 4-rotor
Compression ratio: 10:1
Induction system: Telescopic intake manifold system
Horsepower: 690 bhp @ 9000 rpm
Torque: 448 lb-ft @ 6500 rpm
Weight: 180 kgs.

check this page for more info on 4 rotor engines and information on the 13J real cool stuff! http://cp_www.tripod.com/rotary/pg03.htm
8) zoom-zoom beyotches![/b]

demented

Postby demented » May 16th, 2005, 12:50 pm

ROTARY RULES........:wink:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » May 16th, 2005, 1:01 pm

I have a question here, often I read in articles mention that the 13b is actually 2.6 litres, not 1.3, could someone explain to me where this might come from, what is it in a 13b that could be worked out as being 2.6, cause it means some ppl somewhere think this 4 rotor is a 5.2L

Postby Razkal » May 16th, 2005, 1:06 pm

^ok well mazda engineers back in de day observed the rotary engine had or seemed to closely follow a 2-stroke combustion cycle, they played on this fact and using 2-stroke calculations the displacement worked out to 1308cc for a 13B engine (654cc x 2 rotors), however using 4-stroke calcultions that displacement is doubled and the result is, well 2616cc (1308cc x 2 rotors). the engines' displacements are registered and generally accepted (with mild conflict from some) using the 2-stroke calculations tho, i believe in england however FD3S RX7s are registered as 2.6L cars...

furness

Postby furness » May 16th, 2005, 1:13 pm

Razkal,all that rotary talk.Ah hope when yuh UNCLE pass on the first gen yuh would put ina rotary and set a blaze to that shitty RB20 :roll:

R-XTREME

Postby R-XTREME » May 16th, 2005, 2:32 pm

Razkal,all that rotary talk.Ah hope when yuh UNCLE pass on the first gen yuh would put ina rotary and set a blaze to that shitty RB20

LOL- yuh bad :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » May 16th, 2005, 2:59 pm

Unfortunately the rotary was banned from European racing by FISA in 1992

stupes

furness

Postby furness » May 16th, 2005, 4:06 pm

lol :lol:

Postby Razkal » May 19th, 2005, 2:19 pm

^i love rotaries but my RB20-ET (notice is single cam...) would spin circles around ur torque-defficient wankel :roll:........ay of ah all kix i owe u a race between 2nrs eh 8)
saw the car man....heard the mods u wanna do-----> :shock: dat rex will move jed :!: i busted the LSD we bought from yuh paddna :mrgreen:

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 19th, 2005, 4:56 pm

ok so i guess i'll never b able 2 see a 4rotor eng?
wha kinda car did this come in? and does it hav ne around?
and cuz it was banned, wha would b the approx time on a 1/4 mile?
sry 4 all d ques... buh this sheit iz d BOMB

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » May 20th, 2005, 9:54 am

Nice info dey meng. AH was thinking a 3 rotor project but now ah hadda contact dem companies :)

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » May 20th, 2005, 9:58 am

R26B was only made for the 787B race car.. damn I want one.

I read somewhere that after the winning the 24hrs, they pulled apart the engine to see the wear and tear and there was barely any when compared to the piston engines. Seals and housing were barely worn... damn N/A rotaries rule

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » May 20th, 2005, 10:06 am

^^ dais what i thinking self. But when yuh hadda get a 3rtr it comes boosted and real men dis get bashed fuh wanting to NA it. personally i am truly impressed with NA 2rtr performance AND i think i would be satisfied with NA 4rtr performance but depending on possibility and financial limits i might have to settle with a NA or boosted 3rtr.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » May 20th, 2005, 10:11 am

Razkal wrote:^ok well mazda engineers back in de day observed the rotary engine had or seemed to closely follow a 2-stroke combustion cycle, they played on this fact and using 2-stroke calculations the displacement worked out to 1308cc for a 13B engine (654cc x 2 rotors), however using 4-stroke calcultions that displacement is doubled and the result is, well 2616cc (1308cc x 2 rotors). the engines' displacements are registered and generally accepted (with mild conflict from some) using the 2-stroke calculations tho, i believe in england however FD3S RX7s are registered as 2.6L cars...

do you know that actual details of the measurement though? I for one always wanted to know. If you measure the volume of the combustion chamber what do you get?

Postby Razkal » May 22nd, 2005, 5:08 pm

^i have no idea how de fakk yuh does measure de volume of the combustion chamber in a rotary dude...it so weird shape :?
EvoDraZ, the rotary engine is modular in nature i.e. it can be 'stacked' together like blocks...the 4rotor engine Scoot made for their FD3S rx7 is esentially a pair of 13B-REW engines naturally aspirated and stuck together...the only problem with doing this really is the eccentric shaft is weak, if u can machine an entire new eccentric shaft or have money to pay RE: Amemiya or Scoot or mazdaspeed to make one then u fix like crix :lol: ...so its quite possible to make a 6rotor engine (V12 equivalent) eccentric shaft permitting :twisted:

Jimbo, check the page link on the post i made man..they haev some more links to an R26B for sale :shock: ..doh even ask price....
other cool engines to google: 13G race engine, 20B, 13J..expensive like a testicle transplant but friggin quick and reliable.