Unlawfully Wrecked - and other POS Parking Woes!

Re: Unlawfully Wrecked - and other POS Parking Woes!

Postby tr1ad » May 23rd, 2014, 3:37 pm

Haven't heard of anything happening within the past year, and nothing has happened to any of my vehicles, crix uses Parkade as well and parks his evo and haven't heard him complain either

Postby SR » May 23rd, 2014, 4:33 pm

Rear view camera for the driver ....maybe

Observed a bmw gettig wrecked this afternoon bottom of abercromby st

Truck passes car and pulls to the side female office jumps out stops traffic and driver of the wrecker looked backwards reversed and locked the arms onto the front of the bmw and lifted within 30 seconds....all this time the officer chatting with a driver of another car which was blocking traffic from passing.. no attempt was made to find the driver of the bmw if close by

Meanwhile driver of wrecker jumps out puts in the rear wheel dollies and lifts the back of the car... female officer allows truck to come out into the middle of the rd jumps in and they gone...

I can guarantee no camera was being used

Bmw look for the wreck however normal ting with people going to customs

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » May 23rd, 2014, 8:52 pm

konartis wrote:you have to write to the transport commissioner indicating all that u said the the first post and any real evidence that you have that u were parked legally(video, pictures) etc

Please stop tlking chit ...the TC has nothing to do with wrecking nor does the licensing authority.....speaking what you dont know ....all wrecking is thanx to the ministry of national insecurity (TTPS)

Postby Country_Bookie » May 23rd, 2014, 10:41 pm

OP
Ever consider using the ferry?
The shuttle goes uptown.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2014, 10:47 pm

Wrecking cops are city cops though, pos city corp controls them
Not commissioner

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 11:13 pm

SR wrote:Rear view camera for the driver ....maybe

Observed a bmw gettig wrecked this afternoon bottom of abercromby st

Truck passes car and pulls to the side female office jumps out stops traffic and driver of the wrecker looked backwards reversed and locked the arms onto the front of the bmw and lifted within 30 seconds....all this time the officer chatting with a driver of another car which was blocking traffic from passing.. no attempt was made to find the driver of the bmw if close by

Meanwhile driver of wrecker jumps out puts in the rear wheel dollies and lifts the back of the car... female officer allows truck to come out into the middle of the rd jumps in and they gone...

I can guarantee no camera was being used

Bmw look for the wreck however normal ting with people going to customs

Not trying to fight you down or anything...
But there is in fact at least one camera that is used by the person controlling the arm.

Every crew that goes out to wreck had a certain number of people in the wrecker and each has a job to do, none just goes for a joy ride.

A while back, I was wrecked and I made a query to a senior officer concerning the validity of the wreck. He then instructed the same crew to take me back to the spot where I was wrecked to show me where I was wrong. I went back to the spot, in the wrecker with the same crew who wrecked me. On reaching the location, the officer then pulled his tape and took measurements etc to show me where I was wrong.
That trip was not wasted though, as the crew picked up a vehicle on their way back while I was in the back seat.
A guy holding a 'control panel' looked at a screen from a camera facing the vehicle to be wrecked. He then moved the arms accordingly to grab the vehicle in a couple of seconds.
The driver had nothing to do with the movement of the arms, he just reversed.
There are other persons than the driver and the officer in the wrecker, but due to the heavy tint, hardly anyone knows this.

That was the first time I was wrecked and I was wrong but didn't know it due to lack of 'boundary lines' etc.
The system is different now... more ignorant police employed... no queries considered!

Was just tryin to explain the camera ting though...

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 11:21 pm

pugboy wrote:Wrecking cops are city cops though, pos city corp controls them
Not commissioner

This is true. 'City Police' are responsible for wrecking but for certain parts only.
They all have jurisdictions to follow.
Uptown, (ie Duke Street and above), is the responsibility of the normal police.
Downtown (ie by DOMA and dem), is the City Police and the Mayor who responsible.
Not sure how the two sets of police differ, but one is under the instruction of the Mayor, the other is the TC. Both in the same category of dotish though...
Found that out while querying my unlawful wreck! (mine was under the TC)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 24th, 2014, 6:45 am

Transport Commish can only instruct Licensing and Traffic Wardens, NOT police

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2014, 7:18 am

Country_Bookie wrote:OP
Ever consider using the ferry?
The shuttle goes uptown.

this
even the ferry has paid parking for daily/weekly. So your car safe.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » May 24th, 2014, 8:01 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Transport Commish can only instruct Licensing and Traffic Wardens, NOT police

Not even traffic wardens cuz they are under ministry of works not transport.....only licensing officers fall under his jurisdiction

link

Re: WTK: What to do if you are unlawfully wrecked in POS?

Postby link » May 24th, 2014, 8:08 am

JF.K wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:You can leave your car impounded while you take advice from tuners.
Show them how much bad mind you have, and take them to court while the car is still impounded.

On my way to get it from the impound lot - which is located in sea lots!
But was wondering what action can be taken afterwards...

The reason why I am so frustrated is because this is the second time I was unlawfully wrecked within this month of May!
On both occasions I was parked Legally and within the specified lines, on the Legal side, etc.
The first time was just before a holiday and at that time I just couldn't deal with further lengthy stresses.
I had explained to the ignorant, wasteful police staff who was at the impound lot... from which nothing came out of other than me getting a higher blood pressure from the quarrel that it escalated to.

This time I am willing to go all the way with this one... since I (like many others), am a law-abiding, tax-paying citizen who always receive injustice from the people who supposed to maintain justice!

Best way is get the public support on this and protest about it. Parliament is good way to start even if ur a one man protester with a plackcard. Try the media.

go to city hall, make an official complaint, get a copy of the completed/stamped form, wite a letter of complaint atching pics, complaint form, other supporting docs, forward letter to Pos city corp, PCA, CoP, the media & your lawyer, get legal letter sent to city corp, Cop, Min legal affairs wherein u ask for a refund of the fine plus damages for pain/suffering.
above all....DOCUMENT & PUBLICISE...

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2014, 10:01 am

some are more courteous, I see a wpc offer a victim the option to sit in their car for the ride
but had to be in back seat.

as a resident of woodbrook I have no problem with wrecking as many really do parks like idiots
the real issue is that wreckers have gotten off on the wrong foot from inception due to the continued ignorant attitude of many of the cops involved.

Postby nervewrecker » May 24th, 2014, 10:55 am

I thought parkade is $600.00 / month?

Postby tr1ad » May 24th, 2014, 11:04 am

Good thing you don't think often

Postby nervewrecker » May 24th, 2014, 11:07 am

Clearly someone looking for extra $$$ because I asked to confirm what the sign says.

rambo88

Postby rambo88 » May 24th, 2014, 11:41 am

If was me I woulda pull a certified copy on d wrecker to get d owner address an kill he an he whole fuggin family because dey to outta timing. Fuh most ppl dat $500 is about half dey weekly pay. :twisted:

Postby rollingstock » May 24th, 2014, 11:43 am

Slartibartfast wrote:I hope you get somewhere with this. I saw them wreck a taxi from the taxi stand during peak hour. The sad part is the just pulled up and got out of his car a couple of minutes earlier. He obviously wasn't going to park up and stay there at 5pm when he know he have a sure trip to go down south and people lined up for taxis

It good. Those drivers park at the head of the line and coast on passengers waiting on young girls and liming. That's why cars behind full and leave.

This should happen more.

Infamous

Postby Infamous » May 24th, 2014, 12:38 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I hope you get somewhere with this. I saw them wreck a taxi from the taxi stand during peak hour. The sad part is the just pulled up and got out of his car a couple of minutes earlier. He obviously wasn't going to park up and stay there at 5pm when he know he have a sure trip to go down south and people lined up for taxis

It good. Those drivers park at the head of the line and coast on passengers waiting on young girls and liming. That's why cars behind full and leave.

This should happen more.

Quick question stock, are police officers who accompany the wreckers required to come out and do a search for the driver of vehicle about to be wrecked or are they doing that out of courtesy? Because on a number of occasions I've seen officers genuinely ask around for the driver and then other times they ain't even come out the truck.

Postby rollingstock » May 24th, 2014, 3:28 pm

By law they're supposed to make checks in the immediate area for the driver.
(at least I think so, traffic law ain't my thing)

Postby pete » May 24th, 2014, 4:21 pm

It will always be your word against the officer and you just can't win. They don't even put the location your car was found on the ticket. Just a generic "breach of traffic code"

Postby maj. tom » May 30th, 2014, 12:17 am

Mayor: I will end contracts of reckless PoS wrecker owners
By Michelle Loubon

Story Created: May 29, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT

Story Updated: May 29, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT

Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee has said he will be terminating the contracts of wrecker owners by Monday if they continue with reckless behaviour.
Both Tim Kee and Deputy Mayor Keron Valentine announced there will be “zero tolerance on illegal wrecking” during the Port of Spain Corporation statutory meeting at City Hall, Knox Street, Port of Spain, yesterday. Among those present were chief executive officer (CEO) Winnifred David.
Tim Kee told the Express: “I don’t bluff. I told them I will be terminating them by Monday. It is a hustle. There will be zero tolerance on wrecking service. It has been less than acceptable. Many people have experienced it. They have had some bad experiences.”
He added: A councillor had to drive his car in front of a wrecker to stop it. He turned the engine off until the wrecker put down the man’s car. I had a meeting with three of them.”
The mayor said: “We have gotten a constant barrage of complaints. My tolerance was exhausted. I had a meeting with the police and the wrecker operators. I told them there would be serious consequences like the termination.”
Tim Kee said: “I told the wrecker people nobody could instruct them to do wrong. I am holding them responsible, if there is a continuation, I will put an end to their contract.”
At yesterday’s meeting, Valentine said: “For some strange reason we have lost our way in this venture and the wrecker has been the talk of the town. They are a nuisance in the eyes of the average citizen.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mayor-I-will--end-contracts--of-reckless-PoS-wrecker-owners-261194161.html

Bigman talk eh Mr. Mayor?

ah lovin this story though :lol: :lol:
viewtopic.php?p=3685012#p3685012

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » May 30th, 2014, 3:41 am

rollingstock wrote:By law they're supposed to make checks in the immediate area for the driver.
(at least I think so, traffic law ain't my thing)

The law States that the officer "may"seek out the driver. That word "may" is what allows them to just pick you up and go.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » May 30th, 2014, 6:51 am

Trinidad Express May 30th.

Mayor: I will end contracts of reckless PoS wrecker owners
By Michelle Loubon
Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee has said he will be terminating the contracts of wrecker owners by Monday if they continue with reckless behaviour.
Both Tim Kee and Deputy Mayor Keron Valentine announced there will be “zero tolerance on illegal wrecking” during the Port of Spain Corporation statutory meeting at City Hall, Knox Street, Port of Spain, yesterday. Among those present were chief executive officer (CEO) Winnifred David.
Tim Kee told the Express: “I don’t bluff. I told them I will be terminating them by Monday. It is a hustle. There will be zero tolerance on wrecking service. It has been less than acceptable. Many people have experienced it. They have had some bad experiences.”
He added: A councillor had to drive his car in front of a wrecker to stop it. He turned the engine off until the wrecker put down the man’s car. I had a meeting with three of them.”
The mayor said: “We have gotten a constant barrage of complaints. My tolerance was exhausted. I had a meeting with the police and the wrecker operators. I told them there would be serious consequences like the termination.”
Tim Kee said: “I told the wrecker people nobody could instruct them to do wrong. I am holding them responsible, if there is a continuation, I will put an end to their contract.”
At yesterday’s meeting, Valentine said: “For some strange reason we have lost our way in this venture and the wrecker has been the talk of the town. They are a nuisance in the eyes of the average citizen.”

Postby pete » May 30th, 2014, 7:36 am

I know we wrote the mayor a letter when they wrecked one of our trucks while loading but unattended for a few minutes. I guess he gets lots of similar letters esp. from DOMA.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 30th, 2014, 8:05 am

I park in Parkade for years now @ $500 a month. There's ALWAYS space and I've never had any incidents, I park on 1st/2nd/3rd floor. I rather pay that $500 for a designated park in the shade, with security keeping an eye on things, than leave my car in the sun on a congested street next to continuous traffic. It's a no brainer.

OP, you're acting like you never knew parking and wrecking was a problem in POS. You need to protect your vehicle by spending a bit extra. If you can't or don't want to, well then maybe you shouldn't drive in POS, maybe you should travel or take the water taxi.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » May 30th, 2014, 2:41 pm

I was speaking to a business owner on Charlotte Street, she and her husband have basically wound up operations. Wrecking of vehicles along with crime etc has killed business.

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2014, 3:33 pm

Hyperion wrote:I was speaking to a business owner on Charlotte Street, she and her husband have basically wound up operations. Wrecking of vehicles along with crime etc has killed business.

I don't understand how the wrecking killed it?

Charlotte st is congested with people parked unlawfully. A delivery truck actually park on the road a time to drop off stuff because both sides have cars parked.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 30th, 2014, 3:44 pm

Hyperion wrote:I was speaking to a business owner on Charlotte Street, she and her husband have basically wound up operations. Wrecking of vehicles along with crime etc has killed business.

I don't understand how the wrecking killed it?

Charlotte st is congested with people parked unlawfully. A delivery truck actually park on the road a time to drop off stuff because both sides have cars parked.

More than likely crime and street vending because I don't see the logic in wrecking being a major factor in a Charlotte St business' failure. How difficult is it to park, offload and go.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 1st, 2014, 5:13 am

Anyone notice the wrecker takes the day off on Wednesday .

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 5th, 2014, 12:30 am

maj. tom wrote:Mayor: I will end contracts of reckless PoS wrecker owners
By Michelle Loubon

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mayor-I-will--end-contracts--of-reckless-PoS-wrecker-owners-261194161.html

Who wanted pictures for proof.... See proof right here!
So many others abused by the unlawful wrecking!