Unlawfully Wrecked - and other POS Parking Woes!

JF.K

Unlawfully Wrecked - and other POS Parking Woes!

Postby JF.K » May 22nd, 2014, 2:18 pm

Within recent times, one of the authorities decided to put yellow lines on the corners of every street in POS. These lines, as stated by the Police, are supposed to (properly) guide citizens as to how far they should park from the corner. These yellow lines are even further away from the corner than the original "white block line" that used to guide motorists previously.

I was parked in one of the POS streets:
* On the correct, legally allowed parking side of the road
* Signs presently exist stating the legal authorization to park
* No time limit for parking was stated in any of these signs
* Car was not close to or blocking any driveway
* Car was within the new "yellow lines", and therefore legally far enough from the corner

But the car was still wrecked!
Even though a number of other cars are presently parked on the opposite illegal side of the road!

Is there anyone out there who have been in a similar situation and took it further?
Is there anything a taxpaying citizen of this godforsaken country can do about something like this?
Can anyone advise me as to what action I can take?
Last edited by JF.K on May 23rd, 2014, 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: WTK: What to do if you are unlawfully wrecked in POS?

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2014, 2:21 pm

Video footage may help if you have access

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 22nd, 2014, 2:22 pm

Launch a Commission of Enquiry

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 22nd, 2014, 2:32 pm

zoom rader wrote:Video footage may help if you have access

Have pics of the car in its parked position showing that it is clearly within the lines etc.
But what will that do? And who am I supposed to show it to?
Is there a body or authority that complaints like this can be investigated/dealt with?

**always takes pics of park since I know that taxpayers are the real victims of everything**

Postby BrotherHood » May 22nd, 2014, 2:33 pm

You and a wrecker man or police man fall out recently?

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2014, 2:33 pm

what proof you have that you were parked legally though? besides your word

perhaps if you can get camera footage from a nearby business that shows you were illegally wrecked it might help

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » May 22nd, 2014, 2:34 pm

You can leave your car impounded while you take advice from tuners.
Show them how much bad mind you have, and take them to court while the car is still impounded.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 22nd, 2014, 2:40 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:what proof you have that you were parked legally though? besides your word

perhaps if you can get camera footage from a nearby business that shows you were illegally wrecked it might help

JF.K wrote:Have pics of the car in its parked position showing that it is clearly within the lines etc.

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2014, 2:43 pm

JF.K wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:what proof you have that you were parked legally though? besides your word

JF.K wrote:Have pics of the car in its parked position showing that it is clearly within the lines etc.

See a lawyer bro, let him advise you. Don't go with any pipper lawyer that plee bargins. Be prepared to spend big bucks.

You case will help the rest of us in future

Postby pete » May 22nd, 2014, 2:46 pm

Only a matter of time before they do this. Really all you can do is pay the fine and write a letter to the mayor. Or take our your frustration by throwing some vagrant crap at the wrecker next time you see it.

daryl0510

Postby daryl0510 » May 22nd, 2014, 2:47 pm

shotta 20 wrote:You can leave your car impounded while you take advice from tuners.
Show them how much bad mind you have, and take them to court while the car is still impounded.

:lol: good advise!

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 22nd, 2014, 2:49 pm

shotta 20 wrote:You can leave your car impounded while you take advice from tuners.

On my way to get it from the impound lot - which is located in sea lots!
But was wondering what action can be taken afterwards...

The reason why I am so frustrated is because this is the second time I was unlawfully wrecked within this month of May!
On both occasions I was parked Legally and within the specified lines, on the Legal side, etc.
The first time was just before a holiday and at that time I just couldn't deal with further lengthy stresses.
I had explained to the ignorant, wasteful police staff who was at the impound lot... from which nothing came out of other than me getting a higher blood pressure from the quarrel that it escalated to.

This time I am willing to go all the way with this one... since I (like many others), am a law-abiding, tax-paying citizen who always receive injustice from the people who supposed to maintain justice!

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2014, 2:50 pm

I suspect soon they going bring residential permit parking where you pay a yearly fee to the city to park in front your own home. Trinis have it easy in uk you have to pay to park outside your own home.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 22nd, 2014, 2:56 pm

zoom rader wrote:I suspect soon they going bring residential permit parking where you pay a yearly fee to the city to park in front your own home. Trinis have it easy in uk you have to pay to park outside your own home.

Sacrificing my sleep by reaching in POS at 5am for a 8am job is more than enough payment for a park!
In order to get one of these "Legal Parks" you have to reach in POS while the street lights are still on!
On top of that... I'm coming from south, so just imagine what time I have to wake up everyday.

And it's not like I don't want to pay for a carpark... it simply Does Not have any!
Already walked the lengths and breadths of Uptown POS looking for a park only to hear the personnel say "FULL!"
Imagine, these "Full Carparks" are charging $400-$600.... and they're FULL!

Trini's have it easy you say.... To me is the (taxpaying) Trini's who have the hard time, while criminals, illegal immigrants, "money holders", politicians, etc are those who live carefree and worryfree!
Last edited by JF.K on May 22nd, 2014, 3:30 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2014, 3:05 pm

I hope you get somewhere with this. I saw them wreck a taxi from the taxi stand during peak hour. The sad part is the just pulled up and got out of his car a couple of minutes earlier. He obviously wasn't going to park up and stay there at 5pm when he know he have a sure trip to go down south and people lined up for taxis

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » May 22nd, 2014, 3:24 pm

Was he at the head of the stand? cuz its illegal to leave ur car unattended at the head of a taxi stand. Should have given him a ticket tho

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2014, 3:42 pm

Well in this stand the cars at the back of the line fill up and leave first and the line of cars reverses to fill up the spot. So he was last in line to get passengers but it would look like he was at the front of the line if someone was walking through town for the first time in their life. Also s couple taxis left so there was a space behind his car that a taxi coming to the stand could have used to join the line.

In the end, the wrecker caused a bigger disruption to traffic and taxi drivers that that car.

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2014, 3:48 pm

JF.K wrote:

On my way to get it from the impound lot - which is located in sea lots!
But was wondering what action can be taken afterwards...

The reason why I am so frustrated is because this is the second time I was unlawfully wrecked within this month of May!
On both occasions I was parked Legally and within the specified lines, on the Legal side, etc.
The first time was just before a holiday and at that time I just couldn't deal with further lengthy stresses.
I had explained to the ignorant, wasteful police staff who was at the impound lot... from which nothing came out of other than me getting a higher blood pressure from the quarrel that it escalated to.

This time I am willing to go all the way with this one... since I (like many others), am a law-abiding, tax-paying citizen who always receive injustice from the people who supposed to maintain justice!

Best way is get the public support on this and protest about it. Parliament is good way to start even if ur a one man protester with a plackcard. Try the media.

Postby bluesteel29 » May 22nd, 2014, 3:58 pm

yeah dan dis month dem gettin orn terrible in tong...muzzy dah blazin sun fryin dey brain cells

Postby Spitfir3 » May 22nd, 2014, 4:58 pm

park illegally problem solved srs

i mean if you say the wrecker ignoring everyone who parked on the illegal side and just wrecking you the only person who parks properly apparently then work to suit

Postby wagonrunner » May 22nd, 2014, 5:05 pm

my suggestion would be send your email with your particulars and take it from there.
publicaffairs@ttps.gov.tt; info@pca.org.tt;

Postby Ted_v2 » May 22nd, 2014, 5:07 pm

POS always have a shitty parking system unless you have parking provided by your work.

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2014, 5:11 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:POS always have a shitty parking system unless you have parking provided by your work.

Not affected, motorbike for it especially in POS

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2014, 5:16 pm

So where d pics?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 22nd, 2014, 5:23 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:POS always have a shitty parking system unless you have parking provided by your work.

Not affected, motorbike for it especially in POS

watertaxi ftw.

aint make no sense for me to drive quite from south to POS to get wrecked

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » May 22nd, 2014, 6:11 pm

Puncture wrecker man tyre (preferably more than one) then proceed to ask nonchalantly "eh wrecker man, Yuh wah meh call ah wrecker for Yuh awa?"

Postby nervewrecker » May 22nd, 2014, 6:37 pm

JF.K wrote:
zoom rader wrote:I suspect soon they going bring residential permit parking where you pay a yearly fee to the city to park in front your own home. Trinis have it easy in uk you have to pay to park outside your own home.

Sacrificing my sleep by reaching in POS at 5am for a 8am job is more than enough payment for a park!
In order to get one of these "Legal Parks" you have to reach in POS while the street lights are still on!
On top of that... I'm coming from south, so just imagine what time I have to wake up everyday.

And it's not like I don't want to pay for a carpark... it simply Does Not have any!
Already walked the lengths and breadths of Uptown POS looking for a park only to hear the personnel say "FULL!"
Imagine, these "Full Carparks" are charging $400-$600.... and they're FULL!

Trini's have it easy you say.... To me is the (taxpaying) Trini's who have the hard time, while criminals, illegal immigrants, "money holders", politicians, etc are those who live carefree and worryfree!

Awoah, which vehicle is yours fadda?

PCW 11 does drive like a boss eh.

Postby SR » May 22nd, 2014, 6:40 pm

wrecking in pos is a big racket.................. see who owns the wreckers and who is giving the contracts

there is a quota to be made

trinimotors

Postby trinimotors » May 22nd, 2014, 8:06 pm

Most of the wreckers are outfitted with cameras on board, Each report are investigated. Everyone claims they are wrongfully wrecked, its human nature to do so. 500 dollars is not easy to pay. But i have some information that could mash up the wrecking actually i have alot of information with facts.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2014, 8:34 pm

trinimotors wrote:Most of the wreckers are outfitted with cameras on board, Each report are investigated. Everyone claims they are wrongfully wrecked, its human nature to do so. 500 dollars is not easy to pay. But i have some information that could mash up the wrecking actually i have alot of information with facts.