3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

grimer

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby grimer » April 16th, 2014, 8:38 am

DSC_0136.jpg

Club : Aria (POS)
Nikon d200, 35 f1.8g, iso 400, shutter speed 1/20.

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 8:52 am

searchingone wrote:Fellas, what is a good beginner dslr camera that takes good all round photos? One that takes good portraits, landscapes, macros, action, etc.
Is the Canon t5i good or are there better? Please post your suggestions. Thanks

iPhone is pretty good and my primary camera for artistic shots. I only use my DSLR system for paid shoots. Go mirror less if you want something as a starter. DSLR's days are numbered and may eventually be phased out. Nikon J series are good. Samsung and sony has a good lineup as well (in mirrorless).

The t5i is excellent if you insist on wasting money.

Postby MG Man » April 16th, 2014, 9:03 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1397653397.666495.jpg

iPhone ting

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 9:04 am

iPhone ting

Is it ironic that it is slightly out of focus?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » April 16th, 2014, 9:05 am

RBphoto wrote:
searchingone wrote:Fellas, what is a good beginner dslr camera that takes good all round photos? One that takes good portraits, landscapes, macros, action, etc.

iPhone is pretty good and my primary camera for artistic shots. I only use my DSLR system for paid shoots. Go mirror less if you want something as a starter. DSLR's days are numbered and may eventually be phased out. Nikon J series are good. Samsung and sony has a good lineup as well (in mirrorless).

The t5i is excellent if you insist on wasting money.

wow I did not see that coming.
I'll check out the mirrorless ones thanks for that tip. Already I see that they are cheaper.

With regards to the t5i, I just realised it is the exact same camera as the t4i, just for more money.

I have some convincing to do...

Postby Trini Hookah » April 16th, 2014, 9:27 am

With that wide range it won't be the body that counts, but rather the glass.

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 10:11 am

In my experience in buying DSLR bodies, go with the latest model. The t4i is great, and the t5i is a good iteration, but you will feel like you missed the boat when the t6i comes out.

All in all, don't waste any money on a compact. They are history.

Do you really need a camera though? Here is what I do with my iPhone

http://instagram.com/instantheathen

searchingone

Postby searchingone » April 16th, 2014, 10:11 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

With that wide range it won't be the body that counts, but rather the glass.

yuh mean the lens right? :oops:

If so, yeah I know each lens has its specialty.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 16th, 2014, 10:13 am

searchingone wrote:
RBphoto wrote:The t5i is excellent if you insist on wasting money.

With regards to the t5i, I just realised it is the exact same camera as the t4i, just for more money.

Where ollour seeing that price though?

Yeah the t5i and t4i is 99% similar, so I was thinking of getting the t4i and saving some money but when I checked the prices, the t5i was cheaper that the t4i at that time.

Currently amazon has the t5i (body only) for $600-$750 and the t4i (body only) for $650-$972 depending on the merchant.

Postby MG Man » April 16th, 2014, 10:13 am

RBphoto wrote:

iPhone ting

Is it ironic that it is slightly out of focus?

was trying to get the S in focus with the rest slightly out of focus...any suggestions
What I did was tap the screen on the S...

Postby MG Man » April 16th, 2014, 10:14 am

This is the first one I tried

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1397657649.315469.jpg

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 10:16 am

http://www.sansmirror.com/newsviews/

The definitive source for mirror less cameras.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 16th, 2014, 10:16 am

RBphoto wrote:In my experience in buying DSLR bodies, go with the latest model. The t4i is great, and the t5i is a good iteration, but you will feel like you missed the boat when the t6i comes out.

I bought:
What I can AFFORD
Which happened to be older tech
And was available NOW

Couldn't be happier.

Don't get caught up entirely in gear, learn HOW to take good pictures and get your hands on a decent editing software.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » April 16th, 2014, 10:18 am

RBphoto wrote:In my experience in buying DSLR bodies, go with the latest model. The t4i is great, and the t5i is a good iteration, but you will feel like you missed the boat when the t6i comes out.

hoss, WOW! I need to experiment with my phone a bit more.

But sorry, that won't convince my wife. She insists that she NEEDS it.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 16th, 2014, 10:19 am

Go directly to Canon website, they often have specials.

Failing that check Adorama, B&H, Cameta and the usual camera vendors.

I originally was getting a T4i direct from Canon last year as they have deals as the year nears its end but ended up buying a Nikon with ultra low shutter count with backpack and basic lens for under $400.

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2014, 10:36 am

grimer wrote:
DSC_0136.jpg

Club : Aria (POS)
Nikon d200, 35 f1.8g, iso 400, shutter speed 1/20.

Nice. Here's some stuff from that moon the other night.

ImageDSC_7832 copy by meccalli, on Flickr

ImageDSC_7877 copy by meccalli, on Flickr

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 10:37 am

Conrad wrote:

I bought:
What I can AFFORD
Which happened to be older tech
And was available NOW

Couldn't be happier.

Don't get caught up entirely in gear, learn HOW to take good pictures and get your hands on a decent editing software.

I agree up to a point. All of my lenses and bodies are used gear that pros upgraded from. Lenses never go out of date and neither do flashes. However, Bodies have about a 5 year lifecycle and do show significant improvement with each iteration. My D90 is a great camera, but the current D7000 which I could have opted for at the time will run circles around it. That said, I am advocating the guy buy an iPhone and forget this DSLR nonsense for now.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » April 16th, 2014, 11:23 am

Very nice meccalli.

My moon looks like the star in your second shot lol!
*watches kit lens suspiciously*

searchingone

Postby searchingone » April 16th, 2014, 11:37 am

The plan would be to eventually do paid shoots so a camera is needed.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 16th, 2014, 11:56 am

Get a t3i with the 18-135mm lens and the canon 50mm f1.8....also wrt a flash get an ex430...Nice solid setup. Forget the t4i etc....they're all the same 18mp sensor. As you're now starting out save money until u understand what you would need to improve.

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 12:06 pm

MG Man wrote:This is the first one I tried

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1397657649.315469.jpg

People notice when things closer to the camera are out of focus. It is kinda like reading left to right for us. So when your brain sees something that is supposed to be nearer out of focus, and something in the background out of focus, it gets unsettled. Why not shoot from the other side so the S is closer to the camera. At the end of the day it is still a picture of a ford sooooo....... :lol:

You can also use a flashlight to get highlights.

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2014, 12:18 pm

Oh, shiny surfaces look better if they are reflecting something interesting. Holding a white piece of paper just outside the shot would make the letters stand out in brilliant white.

(It go sparkle)

Postby DVSTT » April 16th, 2014, 9:02 pm

ImageHippo by DHARIN, on Flickr

Imagekookaburra by DHARIN, on Flickr

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » April 16th, 2014, 9:08 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1397696882.239580.jpg

From ttundra's MOR drag racing event last sunday...these two bikes just stood out...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 19th, 2014, 10:40 am

I have a question about ttl vs manual flash. I am looking to upgrade from my canon 270 ex. I am not a professional and I am on a budget, I am contemplating buying a Yongnuo 560 manual flash. How difficult is it to shoot in manual mode full time? Or should I defer my purchase until a later date until I can buy something like a canon 430 ex or yongnuo 568?

Postby meccalli » April 19th, 2014, 10:49 am

Manual is the only way to go, learn and practice with it, you won't regret it. http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 19th, 2014, 11:38 am

I'd save the extra for the canon not just for the auto features but the quality is a lot better and after sale support.

Postby DVSTT » April 19th, 2014, 11:08 pm

All my flashes are yongnuo and I never had any problems with any of them, 2 years and counting.

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2014, 12:08 am

i've heard of more problems with canon and nikon flashes than lp's, yngnuos and vivitars.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 20th, 2014, 10:32 am

I have Canon , Nissin and a few Vivitars for my Canon Cameras all good .