T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

shade360

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby shade360 » April 1st, 2014, 1:49 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
shade360 wrote:So went to check out one of the South New Cars Dealers on Sat. Saw a Nissan Navara Sports Edition covered with every imaginable piece of decoration you can have. Guy said around about 260-265k for it stock "no deco" and "manual". Leaning towards that purchase.

What do you guys think price-wise?
Apart from the facelift and minor changes to the interior, any thing different re: suspension, engine?

We discussed this a little earlier in the thread here is a link to the discussion in the Trucks and Pickup Forum viewtopic.php?f=41&t=515114&hilit=rampersad+m.+rampersad

Currently a Sport Version is in my stable and there's a difference from the local. People argue when I tell them it is in no way luxurious but what do you expect most folks think when you fork out X amount of cash its a luxury vehicle not a workhorse. :?

Thanks kg494EJ-1,
I exercised due diligence researching this Sport Version and it's reassuring to get it first hand from an actual owner. The more direct throttle response and difference in ride feel are all noted as well in the reviews.

Good stuff! This settles it for me on which way to go.
Thanks 8-) :D

shade360

Postby shade360 » April 1st, 2014, 7:27 pm

kg494EJ-1, a quick one.
Are there storage compartments under the back seat of the Sport Version?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » April 1st, 2014, 8:16 pm

shade360 wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:
shade360 wrote:So went to check out one of the South New Cars Dealers on Sat. Saw a Nissan Navara Sports Edition covered with every imaginable piece of decoration you can have. Guy said around about 260-265k for it stock "no deco" and "manual". Leaning towards that purchase.

What do you guys think price-wise?
Apart from the facelift and minor changes to the interior, any thing different re: suspension, engine?

We discussed this a little earlier in the thread here is a link to the discussion in the Trucks and Pickup Forum viewtopic.php?f=41&t=515114&hilit=rampersad+m.+rampersad

Currently a Sport Version is in my stable and there's a difference from the local. People argue when I tell them it is in no way luxurious but what do you expect most folks think when you fork out X amount of cash its a luxury vehicle not a workhorse. :?

Thanks kg494EJ-1,
I exercised due diligence researching this Sport Version and it's reassuring to get it first hand from an actual owner. The more direct throttle response and difference in ride feel are all noted as well in the reviews.

Good stuff! This settles it for me on which way to go.
Thanks 8-) :D

No problem shade360, that's what we are here for to share experiences and knowledge.
As for the storage compartments I'm not sure I'll check but I don't recall seeing any access I just use the back of the seat and my storage container in the tray.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » April 1st, 2014, 8:25 pm

Just checked mine there is no handle to the base of my rear bench for the seat to fold up, so no storage below, but it is in the manual as a option for certain trims.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » April 2nd, 2014, 5:05 am

jhonnieblue wrote:An efficient gas car price for price is a better buy than a diesel. . Esp the diesel trucks..I have a nav. . But looking back at it. . It was a waste to buy such a vehicle new much less fir comfort etc.
Yes diesel is cheaper at the pump..but the diff in cost between a gas vs diesel would mean the ROI could never be achieved
Diesel only seems cheaper. .. do the math and u will see is better to get a fuel efficient car or even suv

It depends. Bought a (apparently gently) used 4*4 frontier fully loaded for under $100 grand in 2012. Only thing other than normal maintenance I've had to do was change turbo, about $2500tt installed. Saved a heap, didn't have to take a loan and have a very reliable vehicle. Is not even close to luxurious and ah eh pumping in the latest model but I d'oh care bout that at all. Reliability is #1. At this rate I'm confident my roil will be positive by the time I decide to sell, which would be when I could get a used Navara for the same price.

As a side, anyone willing to speculate when that might be?

mammoo

Postby mammoo » April 2nd, 2014, 4:45 pm

drchaos wrote:The amarok in all the reviews appears to be the best driving dynamics on the road. Since alot of people don't even use these vehicle for work or off road I think it should do well. It supposed to have a a 2.0 but its a bi turbo set up.

Yes the Amarok will be coming with the 2.0 Twin Turbo Diesel

mammoo

Postby mammoo » April 2nd, 2014, 5:02 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Those jettas will never sell well here either. Maybe 5,6 but that's it.

I disagree with you here...we've already got purchase orders from 2 companies to supply 40 Units total.

Then there are some companies that offer Vehicle packages in that price band....already generating a lot of interest here as well.

Then of course the price is so competitive with the regular Corollas, Elantras and Mazda 3....a test drive to someone who's more inclined to Safety, Road Handling and sufficient features...will sure have them sporting the VW Badge soon

Not to mention the Rental and Leasing companies who's eagerly waiting.

5 or 6 A day u mean? Lol! Bring em on bro

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 2nd, 2014, 5:05 pm

mammoo wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Those jettas will never sell well here either. Maybe 5,6 but that's it.

I disagree with you here...we've already got purchase orders from 2 companies to supply 40 Units total.

Then there are some companies that offer Vehicle packages in that price band....already generating a lot of interest here as well.

Then of course the price is so competitive with the regular Corollas, Elantras and Mazda 3....a test drive to someone who's more inclined to Safety, Road Handling and sufficient features...will sure have them sporting the VW Badge soon

Not to mention the Rental and Leasing companies who's eagerly waiting.

5 or 6 A day u mean? Lol! Bring em on bro

I was being sarcastic :p

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 2nd, 2014, 6:34 pm

Man really missed that

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 3rd, 2014, 10:52 am

Honda has a special!
Saw on the papers Civic starting at 219,500. Thats a good 20K of the original price.

Soca Warrior

Postby Soca Warrior » April 3rd, 2014, 11:53 am

Good Day Fokes

Looking at the 4x4 automatic navara fabric interior and the 4x4 2.5 fabric interior Hilux anyone has an input which is better ?

With more or less which taking more "licks" and well when it comes to service as horror stories have been heard about both nml and tttl

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 3rd, 2014, 1:25 pm

Looking to call down a Jaguar F-Type by end of d year please god. Anyone know d price?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 3rd, 2014, 1:47 pm

Jaguar F Type?
Does it have a tray in the back and a diesel engine?

If not then wrong forum boss ... Try the euro section!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 3rd, 2014, 2:18 pm

^I sense misplaced sarcasm.

This is the Car Park last I checked...

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » April 3rd, 2014, 5:07 pm

And last I checked it was the New car Prices thread also...and the f-type is very new in my estimation...ergo the question is quite valid...when did the forum become about diesel pickups exclusively?? :shock: :shock:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 3rd, 2014, 5:19 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Looking to call down a Jaguar F-Type by end of d year please god. Anyone know d price?

And I was thinking today why someone haven't brought in one of these gorgeous machines. Instead, two wraiths. Pah.

Seriously though, you're considering? MVT will be a mofo. Even for the smaller 3.0 engine. And the cheapest I've seen were almost new, mileage under 10k for around 50k quid. So with taxes etc, in thinking closer to 750k TT or sorts.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 3rd, 2014, 5:24 pm

"End of year please god" is chuna speak for in my dreams :lol:

I would like to get an xf or maybe an xe though depending on how that turns out but either is years away for me.

I'm surprised I haven't seen any xfr locally though considering all the craze with performance euros these days.

scotty_buttons

NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » April 3rd, 2014, 6:00 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:"End of year please god" is chuna speak for in my dreams :lol:

I would like to get an xf or maybe an xe though depending on how that turns out but either is years away for me.

I'm surprised I haven't seen any xfr locally though considering all the craze with performance euros these days.

:lol: I hear yuh

Probably no one likes Jags that much here.
The XF used ain't that bad you know. Priced a used, new model 2.2d for around 250k but not sure how importing diesel vehicles go and how well the diesel Jags fare with our quality diesel.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 3rd, 2014, 6:04 pm

I never check out diesels as I don't believe one can bring in used diesels or something like that.

If you do find a way to get one know that ultra low sulphur diesel will be on the local market by next year and it will be as good if not better than what is available abroad.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 3rd, 2014, 7:10 pm

Soca Warrior wrote:Good Day Fokes

Looking at the 4x4 automatic navara fabric interior and the 4x4 2.5 fabric interior Hilux anyone has an input which is better ?

With more or less which taking more "licks" and well when it comes to service as horror stories have been heard about both nml and tttl

Lux
2.5 Deadhorse of an engine with no intercooler from the firm
Stiffer Ride (than the Nav)
Hard engaging 4wd (the gears usually grate as you attempt to engage it)
Better looking imho
More ground Clearance
Cheap a$$ 15" Bridgestone Tyres (These tyres are the worst...i will repeat ...THE WORST)
Probably more reliable without modifications
No AT Oil Cooler (Radiator Pass Through only)
Less Load Carrying capacity

Nav
Lots of Power for the same displacement (Reliability probably suffers a bit because of the copious amounts of torque this engine produces; thinking about driveline shock from that so called donkey kick that happens at just around 2300RPM, though i am unsure about how the auto handles it)
Softer ride (than the lux)
Easier engaging 4wd (electronic selector)
Less ground Clearance
Looks are dated (its been around for quite a while and not much if any has changed for all those years)
Good 16" Yokohama AT tyres
Have to do more modifications or more maintenance for known issues with vehicle (e.g. EGR block off plate or regular cleaning, Intake Hose Collapse on boost, etc)
External AT fluid cooler (This is probably how they help the trans to handle all that torque)
More Load Carrying capacity

I say have a drive in both, it helps...but if the auto Nav didn't have this $40000 chasm between it and its manual brother I would have choosen the Nav but $40000 for a transmission....wow

If was Manual my choice would be Nav

Not sure about how the vans taking licks...anyone working WASA/Petrotrin/NGC

Someone from NGC once told me that the 2006 Model Lux use to soak up their driving (edit. read abuse) better than the other Vans they drove at the time but that was some years ago and those were Manual; not sure about the automatic.

As for service....TTTL and Massy/Masterserv have they work cut out for them
Hope I have Helped somehow
Have a good day

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 3rd, 2014, 7:51 pm

Mazda beat back all ask jusamco, coosals, market vendors and undertakers.

Oh I think masterserv close down

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 3rd, 2014, 8:40 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:"End of year please god" is chuna speak for in my dreams :lol:

The XF used ain't that bad you know. Priced a used, new model 2.2d for around 250k but not sure how importing diesel vehicles go and how well the diesel Jags fare with our quality diesel.

Can't bring used diesel cars. But good news! I hear they'll be bringing those new soon.

Bunny : Saw one of the first gen XF-R's around POS. Been there quite a while. None very new though. I'm also hoping to see/hear one pass me one day though.
Can't believe the F-type isn't here either. I think trinis just don't like convertibles.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 3rd, 2014, 9:13 pm

acesinghit wrote:Mazda beat back all ask jusamco, coosals, market vendors and undertakers.

Oh I think masterserv close down

The 12v might be the most accepting of our diesel (are there any automatics)

I think I still saw the Masterserv sign up...but they are like the service centre for Neal and Massy now (in South anyways).

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 4th, 2014, 12:44 am

We finally getting low sulphur diesel?
My petrotrin peeps have been saying this for over 2 years now. Still waiting ...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 4th, 2014, 1:18 am

Well considering the plant is almost complete you won't have to wait too much longer.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » April 4th, 2014, 6:04 am

I won't hold my breath for that low sulphur diesel. Promises, promises. Maybe after election next year.

Soca Warrior

Postby Soca Warrior » April 4th, 2014, 6:18 am

kamakazi wrote:
Soca Warrior wrote:Good Day Fokes

Lux
2.5 Deadhorse of an engine with no intercooler from the firm
Stiffer Ride (than the Nav)
Hard engaging 4wd (the gears usually grate as you attempt to engage it)
Better looking imho
More ground Clearance
Cheap a$$ 15" Bridgestone Tyres (These tyres are the worst...i will repeat ...THE WORST)
Probably more reliable without modifications
No AT Oil Cooler (Radiator Pass Through only)
Less Load Carrying capacity

Nav
Lots of Power for the same displacement (Reliability probably suffers a bit because of the copious amounts of torque this engine produces; thinking about driveline shock from that so called donkey kick that happens at just around 2300RPM, though i am unsure about how the auto handles it)
Softer ride (than the lux)
Easier engaging 4wd (electronic selector)
Less ground Clearance
Looks are dated (its been around for quite a while and not much if any has changed for all those years)
Good 16" Yokohama AT tyres
Have to do more modifications or more maintenance for known issues with vehicle (e.g. EGR block off plate or regular cleaning, Intake Hose Collapse on boost, etc)
External AT fluid cooler (This is probably how they help the trans to handle all that torque)
More Load Carrying capacity

I say have a drive in both, it helps...but if the auto Nav didn't have this $40000 chasm between it and its manual brother I would have choosen the Nav but $40000 for a transmission....wow

If was Manual my choice would be Nav

Not sure about how the vans taking licks...anyone working WASA/Petrotrin/NGC

Someone from NGC once told me that the 2006 Model Lux use to soak up their driving (edit. read abuse) better than the other Vans they drove at the time but that was some years ago and those were Manual; not sure about the automatic.

As for service....TTTL and Massy/Masterserv have they work cut out for them
Hope I have Helped somehow
Have a good day

Thanks much for the info. Waiting to see if anyone working wasa or petro to weigh in cause its not much difference in price.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 4th, 2014, 6:39 am

dogichi wrote:I won't hold my breath for that low sulphur diesel. Promises, promises. Maybe after election next year.

Well considering I drive past the plant on a morning and told you next year I don't know why you still saying promises lol.

Ting coming Doh worry. You could special order yuh new turbo diesel euro that uber efficient in a timing too.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » April 4th, 2014, 9:15 am

nemesis wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

Can't bring used diesel cars. But good news! I hear they'll be bringing those new soon.

Bunny : Saw one of the first gen XF-R's around POS. Been there quite a while. None very new though. I'm also hoping to see/hear one pass me one day though.
Can't believe the F-type isn't here either. I think trinis just don't like convertibles.

From general observation its rare you see a jag here compared to their german brethren, im assuming its something with reliability/maintenance perhaps? cause looks wise i think jags always trump the germans and japs imo...especially this new generation...the sports cars i guess may just not be practical but otherwise i dont find jags that popular here in general...

dogichi

Postby dogichi » April 4th, 2014, 2:06 pm

Maybe the price of the jags here might be the issue....men rather spend their money on Audi, BMW and Mercedes and higher end Porsche and Rover.