My First Generation RX7 Project

Bezman

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby Bezman » March 20th, 2014, 8:25 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395361221.220535.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395361274.700761.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395361325.335081.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395361361.834921.jpg

Fc 2nd gen 5 lug big brake swap. 11" x 1" rotors 4 piston calipers done

T3 camber plates, coilover kit and top hats should be here by next Monday

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395361521.303642.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395361535.101981.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » March 21st, 2014, 10:29 am

looking good, doing all the ground work for a serious power plant boi.....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 21st, 2014, 11:23 am

Oh yes and I got this!!

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395415030.711925.jpg

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 21st, 2014, 12:47 pm

Sweet....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 22nd, 2014, 5:12 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395522727.836890.jpg

No sticking.

DriveLine retailers

Postby DriveLine retailers » March 22nd, 2014, 6:44 pm

customizing mounts ?...how you installing?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 22nd, 2014, 7:12 pm

13b?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 22nd, 2014, 7:53 pm

Yup, 13b turbo, started it on the ground thanks to Jax and Gobin today, them men are wizards and the other guys who's names I can't remember... I'll be mounting using first gen gsl-le front cover and stock cross mount from a 84-84 rx7, also need 84-85 gsl-le oil pan and oil pickup.. Other parts needed are gearbox mount, fuel pump and check my drive shaft to see if it's the right one and length.

Other than that I on.. Removing all un needed parts tomorrow. Jax comic to wire up the car in a few weeks when engine install complete.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 23rd, 2014, 11:32 am

Good stuff Bez, after wedding I will be back at it hopefully on the R32.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 23rd, 2014, 6:57 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395615377.555139.jpg

Picked these up today. Surprised I found them locally. But I'm very close to installing and starting in a few weeks hopefully... Not driving. But atleast a huge part out of the way :D

Postby Ted_v2 » March 23rd, 2014, 9:53 pm

There's this guy in debe. That works on alot of rotarys. Many people go by him. He also keeps a few parts. It's worth checking out if you need some parts.

I went by him and damn almost 25 cars

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 24th, 2014, 1:01 pm

Thanks sound boy, he is indeed on the list of places to visit for parts!

Engine is going by Sean Ready in a couple weeks to get prepped to install, new oil pan, oil pickup and front cover install, remove all emissions stuff, and remove oil meter pump etc also getting him to flip the exhaust manifold so the turbo can clear the steering box... also going to ask him to inspect the engine and replace any seals that he sees may be replacing. VERY fair price was quoted and looking forward to sending it and more so getting it back and installing... wanna start this baby up for my birthday in a few weeks :D

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » March 24th, 2014, 1:33 pm

Trust me you won't regret having your engine rebuilt by Mr. Sean Ready... when my buddy's rx was building i had the opportunity to hang around and watch him work, very particular person and takes great pride in what he does...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 24th, 2014, 3:48 pm

have heard nothing but good things and as he owned the car before, I am hoping he pays special interest and attention :D

cant begin to tell allya how happy and excited I am to get this car started!!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 25th, 2014, 11:56 pm

Cleaned out the interior floor with a wire brush (lots of fluff from sound deadening) and used some rust remover on the surface rust and then sprayed all the clean spots and seams with rust repellant by rustoleum (just a temp preventative measure till paint)

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395805833.872079.jpg

All that brown stuff is the left over from the sound insulation that was glues down. Didn't take much pics after (too dark and moved onto engine bay) But will post a few tomorrow.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395805873.258582.jpg

Pulled the engine bay harness out this evening and cleaned the engine bay. I want to extend the harness and tuck it where possible. Just a few pics

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395805651.656233.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395805710.821677.jpg

Took apart the rear light and cleaned them, replacing all the bulbs etc. Painted the headlights buckets. Waiting for new headlights to arrive.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395806047.540694.jpg

Coming to come. Collecting some suspension parts this week so more install pics soon hopefully.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » March 27th, 2014, 1:05 pm

The body really looks to be in great shape, man.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 27th, 2014, 8:37 pm

Thanks for all the positive comments guys..

So today got the techno toy tuning camber plates and top hats.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395966495.549204.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395966986.598144.jpg

Waiting in new struts and the coilover sleeves.

Also got all the windscreen and trim clips, and poly tie rod bushings all from Black Dragon Motorsports. If you own a rx7 or 240zx that place is a lifesaver.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395966595.032436.jpg

You know you're a car guy (or getting old) when you have a room full of parts you forgot about :lol:

Found a bucket(ish) seat that bolts in, (kinda)

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395966690.146963.jpg

And found a whale tail :lol: that I totally forgot I bought about 10 years ago when I had my Silvia. I think it came off a 180sx. But it fits the first gen almost perfect :D

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395966864.712834.jpg

Also found lots of inter cooler pipes and a turbo xs blow off valve. I just laughed when I washed the wing off to test fit it and it slipped on.. Will get some better pix but no one was around then to take a pic then

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 27th, 2014, 11:12 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395976307.686713.jpg

Another angle of the ridiculous wing

moti

Postby moti » March 28th, 2014, 10:08 am

Once it looks good keep it, might actually "blend" in with the body kit.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 28th, 2014, 5:46 pm

Love it

Postby Razkal » March 29th, 2014, 2:23 pm

when this is done, I'm gonna drive my rx7 and be thinking about yours.
awesome build!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 29th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Thanks boy razkal!

But I dunno when that will be though haha

Started scrapping down the engine. Took off alternator, water pump, fan, air con compressor and power steering.. Just making it easier and cleaner for the engine prep and oil pan/front cover swap. I realized I need a new water pump, seals in the old one gone.. Need a new pressure sensor (mine is broken).

Can't decide if in going to take off the oil metering pump (oil squirters that live the engine via the intake), auxiliary air valve (opens 5/6th intake ports), air pump (emissions) and bypass air control valve (adjust idle for aircon). They don't sap much power but they make the engine look so clean when removed, but are sometimes a problem when removed with stock ecu. Engine starting to look something like a rota

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1396138434.936761.jpg

moti

Postby moti » March 29th, 2014, 8:57 pm

:skurred: Will this car have A/C ? :skurry:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 29th, 2014, 10:10 pm

Yes I would like to have air con. Car has factory air con and power steering installed.. I ideally want to run a gilmer belt and pully, but only the power steering can be run with that. So we'll see..

Ppl that remove the bac valve simply adjust the idle via the idle screw on the throttle body to ~1100rpm,so when ac is on it dips to about 800 at idle, some ppl don't have this problem at all and remove everything and thing work. It's very dependent in the condition of the engine and compression/blow by, and vacuum leaks.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 29th, 2014, 10:22 pm

What's the condition of the engine your installing?
All seals and stuff up to mark?
Or when it's running then you will do a rebuild?

moti

Postby moti » March 30th, 2014, 8:25 am

I have to run hot just to save some power on my little thing :oops:

Postby Razkal » March 30th, 2014, 1:39 pm

really nice progress so far man...love the pace!

i know you wanted original as possible, and already have your camber plates etc (for SA struts/coils) but did you consider doing an FC front subframe swap? seeing as its an FC motor you;re going with..

i have bits and bobs laying around from when i was all original gsl-se suspension, new energy stabilizer bar and tie rod bushings etc if you're interested. no use for them now as i'm all fc.

btw, mind sharing a link for lights? i wanna order a pair of taillight covers :)

Zorak

Postby Zorak » March 31st, 2014, 10:27 pm

Haha! Man, that wing just seems like divine intervention! So crazy that you just had it lying around. It's definitely gonna fit in with that beefy kit you have.
As the engine is already out, are you gonna be replacing the apex seals?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 31st, 2014, 11:19 pm

Hey Razkal, yes I did consider the FC subframe and rack etc but as mentioned earlier in the thread didn't want to drill the frame rails etc.

I have my front suspension pretty much figured out and am only missing a few pieces. Been speaking with TechnoToyTuning allot about some adjustable lower control arms that will work with my setup to allow more camber and castor. As per the bushing etc. I already beat ya to the punch ;) Thanks for the offer though :D

Zorak. No. that wing is a no... Pics make it look allot better than in reality. It's not a match. But a good inspiration to get the CORRECT wing ;)

Took the day off yesterday to go surfing in bago and today was back at it hard. Tore down the turbo/manifold, tested my ideas of flipping the manifold as to move the turbo further forward and clear the steering box and it's all great except for two turbo flange holes that need to be enlarged/elongated for it to bolt up. Small thing.

Turbo looked great though. No excessive oil for a rotary. Here it is on the engine still.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1396322332.503242.jpg

Amazing how much all that crap weighs. I'm thinking maybe 100lbs or more!!

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1396321656.051349.jpg

Also started labeling the entire harness and wires coming out the ECU. Found a wiring diagram for first gen to second gen so may be allot easier than I thought to wire up and then have an expert come check it for me and start the car.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1396321703.535361.jpg

Having all the factory service manuals and wiring diagrams makes this so much easier also. Have the fc wiring diagram open on my iPad and mazda wiring diagram in my binder next to me. Makes checking the wiring diagram I found online for accuracy a breeze.

Made allot of progress but was dark, left my phone upstairs to blank out the world and I was a filthy mess and didn't take any pics.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1396321864.384939.jpg

I have also had enough of the squatting, stooping and sitting on speaker boxes and old chairs etc. I'm buying an engine stand this week as I plan on taking the gearbox off the engine and don't want the dam thing rolling all over the place like a top :p

As per the apex seals. Some may notice that I have a ratchet on the front pully, I took out the plugs and turned over the engine a few times and checked the apex seals, pressed them and they all were moving and had spring in them, they look great, some carbon build up on the rotors, but gonna try the water steam trick courtesy pineapple racing (hook up gallon of water via vacuum lines while flooring it to keep it running) once the engine gets started, works amazeballz apparently to clean engines/rotors without damaging seals.

I also took off the exhaust manifold and turned the engine over for some time listening for galloping/missing and it sounded good. Will make a vid and upload as I want opinions. Also looked at the seals Better and didn't see any broken pieces nor scuffs on the rotors. (Phew, for now)

I must admit. Watching the engine like this I am very temped to get some 9.4:1 NA S5 rotors and go carbd. Ditch all that wiring and extra shiit and just do a nice clean simple engine. But as I have all this crap already and it looks great, let's give it a go!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 1st, 2014, 8:20 am

build coming along nicely, yuh starting to sound excited.....