Golf - how to start to learn?

Postby desifemlove » March 20th, 2014, 12:19 am

What it cost to join the Maraval golf club?

roadhog

Re: Golf - how to start to learn?

Postby roadhog » March 20th, 2014, 12:22 am

Your looking at about 12-15 k I believe. It could be more. Plus buying clubs or renting them every time

Postby desifemlove » March 20th, 2014, 12:23 am

ok. i forgot dais Trincity and Chaguaramas. what prices/fees like dey?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 20th, 2014, 3:22 am

Which part of 12-15k + buyin/renting equip u dint unnastand

Play football, much cheaper...n den when u become a millionaire, u can have sunday brunch in moka

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 20th, 2014, 6:24 am

Chaguramas is 35 for driving range and 95 for a rounds

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 20th, 2014, 6:27 am

I will find out cost to rent clubs next time I go. It's a nice game

Postby Redman » March 20th, 2014, 9:11 am

I spent 1 hr on a field with my father knocking the balls around.

Ended when I pelt away the blasted club-frustrated as fcuk.
He couldnt stop laughing.

Its a great game but frustrating as all hell.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2014, 9:21 am

Here's how not to learn:
Your mother's broom handle and a round stone.

You might have to pay for someone's window.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 20th, 2014, 9:33 am

^ I use to do that as a child.. lol..

Postby desifemlove » March 20th, 2014, 10:05 am

EXODUS wrote:Which part of 12-15k + buyin/renting equip u dint unnastand

Play football, much cheaper...n den when u become a millionaire, u can have sunday brunch in moka

12K everywhere? but no, golf clubs' prices ent vary, ent?

Postby nemisis » March 20th, 2014, 10:11 am

^^^ 12k being low 13k being high ie they vary between those two figures he quoted was his meaning....they also have a written assessment on language and etiquette to ensure the game remains a gentleman escape.....

Postby pete » March 20th, 2014, 10:20 am

How 12k for a set of golf clubs?

It's under 200US for a set and it only weighs about 25lbs.. so 300US if you fly it in. 10% duty and 15% VAT so maximum for a cheap set of clubs would be 2500 if you go real cheap maybe under 2000.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 20th, 2014, 10:58 am

Golf clubs 12000 for beginner lol
3000 and u get a fine set callaway
N u good
I got a Medicus driver also to practice my swing.
There is a guy in chaguramas , reallll good amazing u could go up an ask for lessons
I will ask name n contact next I go up

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395327317.371950.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395327317.371950.jpg (19.45 KiB) Viewed 3938 times

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 20th, 2014, 1:14 pm

Moka approx 12k annually
Chaguaramas 1800k annually
Trincity 7000k annually

As a beginner buying new clubs should not be your focus. At trincity the range is lit and open until 9:30pm daily. You can rent a club for $20...a bucket of balls is $30 then you can hit to your hearts content.. after that if you think you can handle the game seek lessons from any of the teaching Pros available, the clerks at the counter can book lessons for you.

Lessons are 250/hr ...its a lovely game...greatest game invented and it will teach you more about yourself in the process.

Postby janfar » March 20th, 2014, 1:27 pm

pete wrote:How 12k for a set of golf clubs?

It's under 200US for a set and it only weighs about 25lbs.. so 300US if you fly it in. 10% duty and 15% VAT so maximum for a cheap set of clubs would be 2500 if you go real cheap maybe under 2000.

Where you getting this from? I paid 175usd for my 'on sale' Ping driver.

I have a net at home to practice. Best thing to do. Never joined a range yet though.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 20th, 2014, 1:35 pm

I bought my titleist AP2 for $3100tt inclusive of Skybox fees.

a golf shoe can cost you anywhere from 50 -200usd all brands Nike Addidas Puma FootJoy etc.

i am sure OP has Polos or button ups as we call it in Trinidad....Dockers long or short or even dress pants

Golf bag about 120USD

Your only recurring expenditure would be Golf balls and Gloves...but more so balls, you will lose alot lol!

Postby pete » March 20th, 2014, 3:18 pm

janfar wrote:
pete wrote:How 12k for a set of golf clubs?

Where you getting this from? I paid 175usd for my 'on sale' Ping driver.

I have a net at home to practice. Best thing to do. Never joined a range yet though.

You bought an expensive driver like that to learn to play with?

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_ ... golf+clubs

Postby desifemlove » March 20th, 2014, 4:00 pm

hmmm.. cyah afford maraval (yet lol.) but will look into Trincity.

Postby janfar » March 20th, 2014, 4:02 pm

Its was the cheapest one in the store. I didnt have much time to wait on a delivery.

Good info though for when im ready for my set.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 20th, 2014, 4:03 pm

The membership in Maraval is very clique-ish...you will be better off with any other of the clubs

There is also point-a-pierre ..brechin castle and usine st. Madeline

cerebral_assassin

Postby cerebral_assassin » March 20th, 2014, 8:22 pm

I play at Brechin Castle most evenings because its nearby for me, and Millenium on weekends. Brechin Castle is a good place to start.

Good 9 hole course with back tees that plays to a full 18 hole course, the length is about 6800 yards, so its challenging.

The membership is $1200 to join, covers the year.

Send me a pm if you want a membership form.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 21st, 2014, 5:09 am

If you need to ask the price to play golf, you can't afford it.

Postby j.o.e » March 21st, 2014, 5:48 am

Anyone knows if the tennis courts at Brechin Castle are still maintained?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 21st, 2014, 7:57 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:If you need to ask the price to play golf, you can't afford it.

Oh really?...that's a very uneducated statement. The game is no longer an Elitist sport. People from all walks of our society plays the game today.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » March 21st, 2014, 9:36 pm

Chaguaramas is great for you to start.
there are clinics for three stages; beginners, intermediate & advance.
clinic prices average $700 beg,- $1500 through to advance. I believe its about six or eight sessions for each clinic on Sundays.

you can get a used set of good clubs & bag for about $1500-$2000 depending on golfers upgrading.
used clubs are the way to go. As a beginner you're gonna dig up some dirt. upgrade when you can handle the swings. (lemme know if you need a set, if any is available i can link you)
i believe a clinic started a couple weeks ago though.

golf is not cheap, but every one has to maintain their vice.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 30th, 2014, 7:29 pm

recently started playing as well...where exactly is the brechin castle course? i work at couva dhf so i imagine it isnt too far away...

Postby De Dragon » May 30th, 2014, 9:25 pm

worksux101 wrote:recently started playing as well...where exactly is the brechin castle course? i work at couva dhf so i imagine it isnt too far away...

Rivulet Road.

Postby shogun » May 30th, 2014, 9:35 pm

Redman wrote:I spent 1 hr on a field with my father knocking the balls around.

Ended when I pelt away the blasted club-frustrated as fcuk.
He couldnt stop laughing.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 30th, 2014, 11:09 pm

Moka approx 12k annually
Chaguaramas 1800k annually
Trincity 7000k annually

dais 1.8 million and 7 million you sayin dey?

nickh

Postby nickh » June 3rd, 2014, 5:50 pm

I really wanted to learn so I started by reading up www.ultimategolfzone.com to get a basic rundown of everything. A lot of good resources and info. I can still hardly play though hahaha