CORPORAL PUNISHMENT IN SCHOOLS

TURBO PEOPLE

Re: CORPORAL PUNISHMENT IN SCHOOLS

Postby TURBO PEOPLE » March 18th, 2014, 10:47 am

couple of good points... no little child back answering or playing man for me... cut arssss

javishm wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Yes it should be reintroduced!- it worked in our days. kept us in check and it can do the same still.

i remember the days when i use to get cut arse in school....it worked for me

X_Factor wrote:back then it wasnt the corporal punishment that did the trick really, it was the fear of getting it and the teacher/principal/parent all of them would be on your case if you did something wrong

now...the teachers cant do one thing without fear of suspension/ job loss
and MOST parents are so caught up in their own lives they use technology as the parent and most of the time again, its not monitored

i know of kids who actually talk with the accent of characters on television
Average wrote:
ADONI wrote:When corporal punishment was removed, the idiots didn't think to have it replaced with a substitute. They could have introduced something like after school detention.

Not a bad idea...but with the looseness of both teachers and students right now, that woulda have dem schoolgirls bennin real toe-tee after hours.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 18th, 2014, 1:37 pm

watch that video again of the YOUNG school girls fighting and cursing an officer, and you still think we do not need proper punishment in schools?

Turbostarr

Postby Turbostarr » March 18th, 2014, 2:09 pm

Ah remember a couple years aback meeting an old primary school principal of mine. So i went up to him and said Sir remember me..ah get licks from you twice. His casual response was an yuh ent dead yet! I ent dead yet and much better off for it.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2014, 2:30 pm

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=562910

This is 100 reasons why they should bring back licks in school!!!

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » March 18th, 2014, 2:37 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:watch that video again of the YOUNG school girls fighting and cursing an officer, and you still think we do not need proper punishment in schools?

what about punishment at the home (i.e for parents) or ppl who makin chiren.

Big difference from back then where parents and discipline came hand in hand this discipline was understood. Now, wow you go beat or punish children who come from stupid parents?

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2014, 2:40 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:watch that video again of the YOUNG school girls fighting and cursing an officer, and you still think we do not need proper punishment in schools?

what about punishment at the home (i.e for parents) or ppl who makin chiren.

Big difference from back then where parents and discipline came hand in hand this discipline was understood. Now, wow you go beat or punish children who come from stupid parents?

Someone has to straighten them out!!

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » March 18th, 2014, 2:42 pm

bluefete wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=562910

bluey, is the children fault they were taught that or the dumrents (dumb parents) who didn't show them better? Behind most delinquent/bad behave/guntress/"bad" injun ect. children is a stupider adult (there are some exceptions)!!

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2014, 2:55 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:

bluey, is the children fault they were taught that or the dumrents (dumb parents) who didn't show them better? Behind most delinquent/bad behave/guntress/"bad" injun ect. children is a stupider adult (there are some exceptions)!!

True that. However, when the parents fail, the whole society fails. I have parted fights among school children in the street. I get real cuss for doing it.

But our society is worse off when ADULTS turn away from being peacemakers.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » March 18th, 2014, 3:12 pm

bluefete wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

True that. However, when the parents fail, the whole society fails. I have parted fights among school children in the street. I get real cuss for doing it.

But our society is worse off when ADULTS turn away from being peacemakers.

Lol, being a peacemaker is a difficult task, especially when ignorance is king!!
Parents get defensive towards the child, as they know if the situation is probed it will fall on their lap. So what they do, get on ignorant and be left alone(the system allos it).......systems and measures need to be put in place to deal with the delinquent home. But, that will be opening a different can of worms.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 18th, 2014, 6:42 pm

In some cases the teachers does get trigger happy and beat children for no valid reason.... so what do you suggest then? the principal beat the teachers?

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2014, 9:07 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:In some cases the teachers does get trigger happy and beat children for no valid reason.... so what do you suggest then? the principal beat the teachers?

frustrated with home life & cyah do nuttn about it, so they go to work & take it out on the children.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 19th, 2014, 9:36 am

My 10 step corporal punishment program

1. Bring back Corporal punishment

2. Make it so that only deans and principals could actually perform the act (still chance to abuse the children but the chance is greatly reduced IMO) Parents are allowed to appeal the punishment to the school supervisor. If the dean was proven to have followed the rules then the issue gets thrown out.

3. Have standard punishments (starting a fight = 3 lashes, starting an unfair fight = 10 lashes to the instigator and 5 lashes to the accomplices + suspension)

4. Suspension (Tier the suspension. 1st offence 1 week, 2nd, 2 weeks, 3rd One month, 4th Expulsion)

5. During suspension (The child must attend a meeting with the school counsellar or equivelant. They must be in uniform when they come to see the counsellar and must leave as soon as the meeting is over)

6. Ending suspension (make it mandatory for children involved in the offence to write separates appologies to all parties involved and then read those letter to the parties that were offended)

7. Expulsion (After the 4th suspensable (not really a word) offence the child would be up for expulsion subject to the discretion of the Principal.

8. Standardise what constitutes an offence and organise the offences in differing degrees of severity (class 1... class 2 etc., and give each class its standard suspension/expulsion rate. Lashes standardised by actual offence and not by class)

9. Make it mandatory for parents to sign an agreement to these terms and conditions. If they refuse then they are free to find a school without these terms and conditions.

10. Promote Home schooling. Make these condition mandatory in all public schools. Those parents that can't get their kids into private school can look at home schooling as an alternative. Make the home schooling process as easy and painless for the parents as possible.

A lot of these ideas are just being repeated from other tuners in this thread so feel free to add to it.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 19th, 2014, 10:28 am

I agree with what that guy said about the two models used. I just think corporal punishment should be added to the disciplinary model. And by standardising everything and making the rules public, you take out a lot of personal involvement in the corporal punishment.

Like he said, teachers are constantly "addressing simultaneously a myriad of issues". The ratio of teachers to students are about 20 to 1 in the school. The teacher cannot be expected to teach and still be able to deal with all of the students problems. They should strive to but there needs to be a quick fix alternative. I think that the positives will greatly outweigh the negatives

Sabriel wrote:• Corporal punishment teaches students that hitting is an acceptable way to solve problems, it teaches that it is acceptable for bigger people to hit smaller people, invariably giving rise to bullying;

Nope they getting beat for that to. Plus the dean would just be following the rules (that the student would have been aware of before he committed the offence)

Sabriel wrote:• Corporal punishment sends confusing messages about the teacher's attitude towards the child. Repeated punishment reinforces the feeling that the students are bad and this can have lifelong negative impact on their self-esteem;

Again, standardising the punishments and educating the children about them would mitigate this. Regular teachers do no beating and the punishment is clearly outlined as a response for the offence. No personal involvement there.

Sabriel wrote:• Teachers who seek to use corporal punishment routinely may fail to develop alternative strategies to discipline their students;

Again standardisation is key. Not all offences are liable for corporal punishment. And the corporal punishment must always be accompanied by counselling. It should be standardised to be used as a last line of defense or for punishment of serious offences

Sabriel wrote:• Corporal punishment tends to promote anger in both the student and teacher. Even if it seems to work in reducing misbehaviour, victims of corporal punishment tend to feel overpowered and humiliated, which over time can lead to resentment and anger towards the teacher or all teachers;

Standardising mean the teacher can't tell the dean to just beat the child for no reason. With even the number and placement of the lashes equalised, it allows logic to enter the judgment. This could help take the animosity out of the whole affair

Sabriel wrote:• Corporal punishment can escalate into greater abuse. If teachers use spanking for minor infractions, more serious misbehaviour can lead to more serious physical responses e.g. cuffing, throwing of missiles.

Obviously there will be rules for teachers as well to prevent this escalation. This would be easier to enforce if the teachers know that the proper procedures are in place to deal with this sort of thing

TL:DR Everyone only talking about Corporal punishment Vs. No Corporal Punishment like those are the only two options. I think it's sad that 15 years after the abolishment and nobody considered a third alternative.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » March 19th, 2014, 11:39 am

The Gunta Mealtime Prayer:

Bless up oh lord and these thy guns which we are about to fire on the Beetham Guntas from Smith And Wesson - Yah Man!