idlemind

Re: Kia Cerato vs Mazda 3

Postby idlemind » March 16th, 2014, 12:57 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:It's usually 15-21% oh well...low hp cars beat up

Does the cerato allow you to disable traction control? For the dyno that is.

Also the cerato is using a cvt?

Yup you can disable traction control. All except the ABS will turn off. I dynoed at just around 98whp by Audi in January with my 2014 Cerato.

6fwd auto tranny with paddle shifters. Non CVT!

OP check the Kia cerato thread in the Other section. I did a write up on the car from an owner's perspective.

Postby pioneer » March 16th, 2014, 1:03 pm

Here I thought people bought econobox to go to work and grocery etc while spending little on gas and consumables.

Didn't realise it had so much fyaaz deliberation involved.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 16th, 2014, 1:12 pm

pioneer wrote:Here I thought people bought econobox to go to work and grocery etc while spending little on gas and consumables.

Didn't realise it had so much fyaaz deliberation involved.

Your troll standards real dropping. I used to look forward to your posts. What happened?

Postby pioneer » March 16th, 2014, 1:20 pm

Was posting from maracas sorry, made it in record time too.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 16th, 2014, 1:37 pm

So wait...the 2014 Mazda 3 doing what 70-75whp???

Really?!
Welcome to 1999.

Advent

Postby Advent » March 16th, 2014, 2:05 pm

will keep my sr20 :lol:

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 16th, 2014, 2:59 pm

Yeah, what is the whp of Mazda3?

I don't need sports car performance , just need to know that the Mazda 3 isn't a lemon on the highway. I realised it's using the old 1.6 liter engine and not any of the newer Sky active ones.

Postby S_2NR » March 16th, 2014, 6:07 pm

I would get neither because southern sales.

Postby pioneer » March 16th, 2014, 7:08 pm

LOL@ "lemon on the highway"

Plenty gee ITT

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 16th, 2014, 7:14 pm

S_2NR wrote:I would get neither because southern sales.

*bongce*

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 17th, 2014, 6:13 pm

Test drove mazda 3, very nice drive and suspension. Feels like a class above the segment.

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2014, 6:20 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Saw a new model cerato do less than 95whp on the dyno

Which makes sense yeah?

Yup that's normal drive train loss. No way it can put more than 100hp to the wheels

you cannot be serious. My dead horse car is a factory 117 at the flywheel (factory figure) and turned 94 on the dyne......I test drove a Cerato this weekend and was shocked at how dreadfully terrible the acceleration was :-/ On paper, 0-60 in 11.3 or thereabouts? My 1974 MG with 90 asthmatic horses did it in 12.5, so a second up from a deadass old car? Bleh
Right now, the choice is between the new Corolla and the Focus...I love the dash on the corolla, but people nowadays seem to love busy sculpted angles and odd centre consoles, so I can see why some folks think it's plain. The focus is smaller inside, but oh my the handling!

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2014, 6:27 pm

So when gon be de cerato/elantra/Mazda3 jags?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 17th, 2014, 6:57 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Saw a new model cerato do less than 95whp on the dyno

Which makes sense yeah?

Yup that's normal drive train loss. No way it can put more than 100hp to the wheels

you cannot be serious. My dead horse car is a factory 117 at the flywheel (factory figure) and turned 94 on the dyne......I test drove a Cerato this weekend and was shocked at how dreadfully terrible the acceleration was :-/ On paper, 0-60 in 11.3 or thereabouts? My 1974 MG with 90 asthmatic horses did it in 12.5, so a second up from a deadass old car? Bleh
Right now, the choice is between the new Corolla and the Focus...I love the dash on the corolla, but people nowadays seem to love busy sculpted angles and odd centre consoles, so I can see why some folks think it's plain. The focus is smaller inside, but oh my the handling!

dude the sales man prob told them that.....that normal....guess when my stock sti did 270 guess it supposed to be putting out 350 at the fly...

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2014, 7:02 pm

Ah man tell me when he use de cerato paddle shifters e does jive more faster

And does "answer back"

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 17th, 2014, 7:10 pm

pioneer wrote:Ah man tell me when he use de cerato paddle shifters e does jive more faster

And does "answer back"

Like you still in Maracas.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 17th, 2014, 7:17 pm

mankind is ah #$%@

Postby sliderz1 » March 17th, 2014, 7:45 pm

cerato iymc

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » March 17th, 2014, 7:53 pm

pioneer wrote:Ah man tell me when he use de cerato paddle shifters e does jive more faster

And does "answer back"

LOL :lol:

Postby j.o.e » March 17th, 2014, 9:11 pm

I dunno why yall think I'm impressed with the Koreans performance. I know they're slow.

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2014, 9:11 pm

So what do people do with their cerato/elantra after 5+ years?

Park it hard?

Postby j.o.e » March 17th, 2014, 9:16 pm

pioneer wrote:So what do people do with their cerato/elantra after 5+ years?

Park it hard?

No one's figured that out yet. Before when you had a Korean car you just discard it after 4 yrs.... anyone still has their old model accent, elantra, pride?

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2014, 9:24 pm

De few remaining hyundai from de late 90's on de road powered by SR20 now.

Not even sure if it still have ah kia from that era.

Men like to gamble wid dey morney oui, in the name of gee.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 17th, 2014, 9:44 pm

Only kia gud for after 5yrs is to use asa chicken coup bcuz its better than d resale you will get for it. Its a cheap knock off of real cars. Alot of ppl who buy these cars are only attracted by the shape n 'features' they hav. The ride and comfort of these cars are poor imho. U hav to force yourself to get a comfort spot in the seats n the suspension is too stiff. Ill buy a ke70 rolla over any of those new kia's....

Postby cinco » March 17th, 2014, 9:47 pm

Iz dis 2014?

Postby javishm » March 17th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Lmfao

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2014, 11:12 pm

SS start bringin parts for dem pre-2008 kia as yet?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 18th, 2014, 1:04 am

my 11year old 323 which advertised 105hp in 2003 dyno'd 94whp last month. 11 years on and still holding the ponies in. The Cerato wont be on the road for half as long and probably wont be making any korean pony power, chances are it will have a nissan engine in there after 3 years.

Postby pioneer » March 18th, 2014, 7:03 pm

So men doh care bout resale value but runnin dong cheap showroom price?

Word.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 18th, 2014, 10:03 pm

Anyone know what engine the Mazda 3 comes with?

The model sold by SSSL comes with a 1.6L engine, not the new Skyactive models. The only information I can find about any Mazda 1.6L 105hp engine online seems to indicate that this is an old ZM engine (used in the 1998-2002 Familia). Surely this can't be right? wtf

I was almost decided on M3 over the Kia until this...