davymaraj wrote:Maybe you can build a new lab for the school of you choice.
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:you all realize that the NAtional test for a standard ONE student is 75 minutes long per subject.
That's really stupid stress on a Seven year old child.
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sorry but I kinda subscribe to the whole Work yuh ass off, pass the test and get into a good school thing. Common Entrance is a good thing!
We all did it growing up and we didn't die from it. It's the way you separate the dotish from the hard working. And I'd prefer my children have hard working peers when at school.
I don't think I could stomach the idea of my 11 yr old daughter in a classroom shoulder to shoulder with guntas in training, if they decide to use zoning.
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sorry but I kinda subscribe to the whole Work yuh ass off, pass the test and get into a good school thing. Common Entrance is a good thing!
We all did it growing up and we didn't die from it. It's the way you separate the dotish from the hard working. And I'd prefer my children have hard working peers when at school.
I don't think I could stomach the idea of my 11 yr old daughter in a classroom shoulder to shoulder with guntas in training, if they decide to use zoning.
dougla_boy wrote:~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sorry but I kinda subscribe to the whole Work yuh ass off, pass the test and get into a good school thing. Common Entrance is a good thing!
sigh......yuh real backward inno......if u wah submit to that backward thinkin, bess u find a man an forget yuh education....cook an clean whole day, if yuh get licks say thanks.....or bess we all start back to mind bull an crops and them sheit......times change, is nuh time we move from that backward educations system we have?....everybody different........supposed the child a late bloomer?
Bizzare wrote:~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sorry but I kinda subscribe to the whole Work yuh ass off, pass the test and get into a good school thing. Common Entrance is a good thing!
Is not about removing the assessment. SEA is not the best way to assess a child's intelligence. Think about your extremely intelligent kid who has performed excellent throughout the years in primary school but failed to perform his/her best because of the stress factor, nervousness/anxiety or careless errors in the exam. You would be one of those parents consoling your child and talking about they cheat yuh child and looking to get a transfer cuz you don't want yuh kid mingling with guntas. A proper assessment would be one that reviews the child's performance throughout their years in primary school and most importantly their behavior and ability to learn!
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:dougla_boy wrote:~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sorry but I kinda subscribe to the whole Work yuh ass off, pass the test and get into a good school thing. Common Entrance is a good thing!
sigh......yuh real backward inno......if u wah submit to that backward thinkin, bess u find a man an forget yuh education....cook an clean whole day, if yuh get licks say thanks.....or bess we all start back to mind bull an crops and them sheit......times change, is nuh time we move from that backward educations system we have?....everybody different........supposed the child a late bloomer?
Late bloomers can bloom in whatever high school they did or did not pass for.
Call it backward thinking, I rather think of it as protecting my child.
Because I know for sure I'm a hardworking parent, with hard working children and I want the best for them. Not some mediocre, substandard level of education where they'll be distracted by the neighbourhood "Badboy" when they're trying to pay attention to their teachers.
dougla_boy wrote:teachers and parents tend to stress out the students to study for SEA, an not learn the work properly.....
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:drama, dancing and physical education should NEVER be allowed to add to the overall mark given to students when determing their Secondary school placement.
First choice schools are choices that are chosen primarily on Education, and not on the extra Extracurricular Activities determining their future, so why allow their entry to be given to kids who are not as brilliant in the classroom but may have physical skill?