Re: WTK How much ppl normally pay for braces

Postby Rooki3 » May 11th, 2012, 12:10 pm

i currently have

consultation -$300
records -$1500
banding -$18000

you hadda pay for the records & consultation upfront, also a $6000 downpayment on the banding, den $ 500 at each visit(monthly) until the total cost of banding is covered

my treatment is 18mnths banding
den 12mnth retainer

but you have to visit a dentist first, tell him or her you interested in orthodontics, den he'll do a referal letter to your orthodontist, dat saves the ortho alotta time, cause the denstist would have made sure you have no existing cavities!!

on anodda note, saw a woman wid a fcucked up mouth, told me her treatment costing her close to 40k :wow:

demented

Postby demented » May 11th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Consult = 250
Records = 1,800
Initial = 10,700
Balance = 18,000

Total = $30,750

plus pre dental works

Jahleel

Postby Jahleel » May 11th, 2012, 1:11 pm

30K you say there? damn! for braces? Bess I buy a car and full tank of gas and just drive to a place where everybody has a crooked smile... parliament anyone?

Postby Rooki3 » May 11th, 2012, 1:18 pm

different prices for different cases, its worth every damn cent if you ask me, orthodontics doesn't only align teeth, but it also proportions your face & d girls say d suck bress does be nice, if you ever do it, always remember, orthodontic wax is yur best fren :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 12th, 2012, 5:07 am

only once in my entire life I ever went to a dentist.....that was for a cleaning.....she told me that she has never, in all her practice, seen teeth in such healthy condition and so very well formed....felt embarrassed because she called all the other dentists to come have a look at my perfectly formed teeth! :lol:

true/not really cool story....

Postby shogun » May 12th, 2012, 7:50 am

Rooki3 wrote: remember, orthodontic wax is yur best fren :lol:

Ever lose/misplace it ? :lol: ...hated when that happened.

have man watchin' candle and wondering. :|

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 12th, 2012, 8:20 am

Damien wrote:I could get a wok for you to hoxs some coconut dong cedros to make up the paper by the time check meh

:D :D :D :D

neals

Postby neals » May 12th, 2012, 8:21 am

ismithx wrote:umm about 24K, doing it with Dr Gwen Chin Lee (i think that is her name) in Woodbrook, excellent service......

the frick boi, u cuda tell me uh know, mine coming up to 14k, that 10 k is a huge difference

neals

Postby neals » May 12th, 2012, 8:23 am

shogun wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Dr. Compton Bourne is the St Augustine Orthondontist. He's much cheaper than Lue Chee Lip.

Think he moved his office though.

no he didnt , still there, i almost finished by him

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 12th, 2012, 8:24 am

Trini Hookah wrote:OP:

Any grocery,

Little denture glue and,

Voila!

rofl

geodude

Postby geodude » May 12th, 2012, 11:52 am

surprised no one mentioned Dr Ghuran of Maraval, his practice is called Dental Solutions, he has a sweet female dentist working for him also, nice boobies to rest back on :)

Postby shogun » May 12th, 2012, 1:36 pm

neals wrote:
shogun wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Dr. Compton Bourne is the St Augustine Orthondontist. He's much cheaper than Lue Chee Lip.

Think he moved his office though.

no he didnt , still there, i almost finished by him

Oh. cool.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2012, 1:45 pm

it has been long considered one of the most overpaid jobs,
very little actual medical work done at medical rates
mind you they are doctors though

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/the-10 ... genumber=2

link

Postby link » May 12th, 2012, 10:32 pm

crazychinee wrote:
shogun wrote:
stev wrote:root canals were always expensive...and painful

NOTHING compared to wisdom tooth extraction...trust me.

Jahleel wrote:Scene. but now I wondering about the price he tell me for root canals. He tell me it was $5000 which I find real expensive for that

Sounds a lil much. Usually runs from $3500-$4000

Then you guys have been going to the wrong dentist. :lol: :lol: :lol: Neither root canals nor surgical extractions are painful procedures;unless your dentist doesn;t understand how to give proper anestheisa.

Anyway root canals can vary between 1500 and 5000 depending on the tooth, and the materials/equipment your dentist has invested in. Some dentists use old cheap techniques, and other faster more reliable ones.

Anyway;for the topic poster.
Expect braces to run you anywhere from $15,000 to $25,000 per arch. It;s largely depending on how bad things are, the movement needed and the appliance/appliances needed. Never look for the cheapest option. The more expensive orthodontists (at least in my experience) generally charge high because they seem to know what they are about and less likely to jam you more $$ if treatment takes longer.
Most will give you a payment plan, some will ask for lumpsums every few months.

Add in at least $2000 per year for regular dental checkups/cleanings and any other preliminary work you would need to do prior to starting the braces(fillings, extractions etc). Prelim work can run into 10,000+ depending.

Two Orthos I can personally recommend.
1) Trudee Ann Hoyte (POS)

2) Ashvin Sharma (CHAG)
Both are excellent.

In short; dont look for the cheapest orthodontist; all the budget ortho cases I've seen needed to be redone either due to relapse, or poor treatment planning to begin with. Patients are usually too exhausted after 2-4 years of braces to even get back into it and just settle.

reccommend 1000%.......his practice is 'Advance Orthodontics'...also on TODD St. SanFernando...
ask him how many botched jobs he fixed from harnarayn........I HAVE THAT FIRST HAND EXPERIENCE & still considering dragging his ar$e to court over it :fist:
Dr.Sharma saved the day (& mouth)...
completely professional & ensures you are shown & understand EVERYTHING that's going on....unlike 'another' ortho who barely spends FIVE MINUTES glancing at your mouth before he moves on to another chair...he's just operating a patient mill collecting $$$$
rgds

Postby Rooki3 » May 14th, 2012, 2:31 pm

^^ like TTASA?

Jahleel

Postby Jahleel » May 14th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Sharma is the one close to Chag health centre? By montrose junction there. I think I went there once

Postby Rooki3 » May 14th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Elias did my sis own, he real good i hear!!

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 14th, 2012, 5:40 pm

Jahleel wrote:Sharma is the one close to Chag health centre? By montrose junction there. I think I went there once

2 sharmas operate in Chag.
One is Pravin(general dentist) the other is Ashvin. Pravin Sharma's office is upstairs a supermarket, near to Shakeer plaza?

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » March 8th, 2014, 11:38 am

looking to get braces, i assume i would only need upper bracer, one of my front teeth crooked
my options thus far are: Dr Ashvin Sharma(653-1129) vs Dr Claude Harper(623-8353)
can anyone give me a approximate cost by both and/or any recommendations?

Postby X_Factor » March 8th, 2014, 12:11 pm

was suppose to do this 15yrs ago.....after the first visit and the kinda pain i went through
i didnt bother yes...since then dentists are my most feared place!!.....and i have to go tuesday!
been told by my present dentist that i am his worst patient ever!!

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 8th, 2014, 5:15 pm

It depends on what exactly needs to be done. I went to harnarayan on ana st woodbrook. mine was 14k but he said it was a simple case so dropped it to 10k, my sisters own cost abt 16k no discount. Very professional n nice ladeez. A few yrs after i got mine removed i went with sum1 cus they had an appt, an when he heard i was there he gave me a free checkup.

Postby j.o.e » March 8th, 2014, 7:20 pm

I would suggest harynayan based on my experience. Can't talk about anyone else. At that time I think it cost 14-16k if I remember correctly.