Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 15th, 2014, 10:23 pm

Guys,

Got a neighbour with a fierce looking rott.....although the neighbour has a secure yard.....he often lets the dog out for it to do its numbers etc....there is no telling when it could be roaming the street.....

Once another neighbour jumped in front my car aand begged me for a lift out the street cause he was scared to pass since the dog was out the yard......

the owner of the dog was spoken too...but he still lets the dog out.....whats my next step?

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 15th, 2014, 10:35 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Guys,

Got a neighbour with a fierce looking rott.....although the neighbour has a secure yard.....he often lets the dog out for it to do its numbers etc....there is no telling when it could be roaming the street.....

Once another neighbour jumped in front my car aand begged me for a lift out the street cause he was scared to pass since the dog was out the yard......

the owner of the dog was spoken too...but he still lets the dog out.....whats my next step?

Call police an say the man is not securing his dog properly ensure that you say there are small children in the neighborhood.....The rott most likely won't attack a person if left unprovoked, but if a next dog is in the vicinity he/she might become aggressive.......

Postby Spitfir3 » February 16th, 2014, 5:40 pm

is the place fenced? because i see no problem with the dog being released now and then can't have it chained all the time just because it "looks fierce" like most rotts do...now if yuh saying he releasing the dog with his gate wide open etc etc then i could understand

Postby 88sins » February 16th, 2014, 6:58 pm

If the dog is loose on his property & has no means of escaping said property & his property remains secured, better to leave the animal & its owner alone.

If it's on the public sidewalk/road, talk to the owner & call the police.

Approach the situation carefully. If you have no valid reason or proof to accuse the man, that would only make for unnecessary problems.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 17th, 2014, 7:16 am

Where is this latest amendment?
i am looking on the parliament website and i can't seem to find it.
It has been fun reading the comments on the bill though,
i think it's safe to say they have lost alot of peoples votes for next year due to this.
A silver lining for all those it affects is that the PNM also see that it is a very badly thought out bill,
i hope once they come back into power they will look to fix this bill along with all the other mistakes of this government.

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » February 17th, 2014, 2:25 pm

when the almighty father were sharing sense the AG ran an hide they can't even pass a death penalty law people provoke dogs dogs don't provoke people idiot

Postby 88sins » February 17th, 2014, 3:14 pm

I still trying to figure out why this idiot is still the AG of this country.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 17th, 2014, 8:25 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:is the place fenced? because i see no problem with the dog being released now and then can't have it chained all the time just because it "looks fierce" like most rotts do...now if yuh saying he releasing the dog with his gate wide open etc etc then i could understand

yes he opens his gate and lets the dog out on the road to roam around and to take a walk......

Postby gt4tified » February 17th, 2014, 8:50 pm

jm3 wrote:Where is this latest amendment?
i am looking on the parliament website and i can't seem to find it.

http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/b2014h01g.pdf

The Bill was apparently amended in the House, but they haven't posted it up yet. Maybe by tomorrow?

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2014, 11:05 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Vet ... s=og.likes

THE Veterinary Association of Trinidad and Tobago has backed statements by Opposition MP Terrence Deyalsingh that animal doctors should not be expected to judge the genetic ‘breed’ of a dog by regular examination, as is stated in the amended Dangerous Dogs Bill.
The Bill was being debated in Parliament, Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, last Friday when Deyalsingh, quoting animal behaviourist Kristel-Marie Ramnath, was verbally attacked by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan.
Deyalsingh later objected to remarks by Ramlogan about a relationship between himself (Deyalsingh) and Ramnath.
Head of the Vet Association, Dr. Curtis Padilla, said yesterday Ramnath’s stance is being supported, as vets should not be expected to pronounce on the genetic make-up of a dog to determine whether it is considered a ‘dangerous dog’ according to the Bill.
“We have consulted with peers as far as in Australia and they are not obligated to do that,” Padilla said in a telephone interview.
He said such a verdict should not be done without deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) testing.
The AG’s comments that vets have been given some “concessions” in the new Bill refers to “small things”, Padilla said. While the veterinary community was grateful for the removal of a proposed $50,000 fine for any vet found to have certified a dangerous dog, Padilla said vets did not ask to be made the authority on certification in the first place.
“There was merit in Deyalsingh’s statement,” Padilla said.
He said local vets have continued to oppose the breed-specific nature of the Act and that in spite of extensive consultation—hard won after the initially-proposed Bill caused an uproar—the current incarnation still ignores much of the recommendations made by animal welfare persons and vets.
The 2013 Bill sought to regulate how certain breeds were kept.
Listed as “Class A”, four breeds were specified—the Japanese Tosa, the Pitbull Terrier, the Fila Brasileiro and the Dogo Argentino.
The 2014 Bill proposes 16 breeds to be regulated, inclusive of the initial four.
Padilla said it was hugely disappointing the new Bill sticks to a breed-specific principle and not responsible ownership.
“If the Office of the Attorney General were to consider, sincerely, many of the proposals that our Association and many of the stakeholders have proffered to him, he would have an excellent canine control law,” Padilla said.
“There is a lot of good in the Bill, true, but it can be a lot better.”
Padilla said one of the biggest challenges that will face the Bill is implementation, as calls for the setting up of a well-outfitted “canine authority” appear to have so far been ignored.
He said vets and other animal welfare groups and citizens were at this time trying to pool their resources to come up with empirical data on the local population, inclusive of how many dogs have been abandoned since the Bill began its journey.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 18th, 2014, 5:09 am

Occifer : eh dais a pitbull in your yard dey?

Me: nah is a mongrel, prove me wrong pls.

The end.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 18th, 2014, 11:00 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:Occifer : eh dais a pitbull in your yard dey?

Me: nah is a mongrel, prove me wrong pls.

The end.

Same here was speaking to my vet and she stated if that's the case she could categorise my dogs as TT Chiwawas :lol: :lol: :lol: New breed in the place :mrgreen:

But seriously what is getting to me is the bill is basically as mentioned before a cut and paste of International laws that are now being pulled example just last week in the US five more states have revoked breed specific legislation but here in sweet old TT as usual, we are late and behind. These foreign bodies are now stating breed specific was the wrong way to go and are adjusting to suit and instead of our law makers opening their eyes and doing some good old research and innovating they just hold on to old pieces of international legislation for a quick cut and paste.

Anywho when is Jamboree?? Life sweet in TnT

Postby Spitfir3 » February 18th, 2014, 11:15 am

anyone who owns a pure bred pitbull terrier should be safe then since to the average trini if i doesn't look like Image
it ain't a pitbull

also AG is one c0rnt when ah tell yuh then again them so have more security than they know what to do with not to mention who needs pets when you #boutdatballerlife
Last edited by Spitfir3 on February 18th, 2014, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tool-band

Postby tool-band » February 18th, 2014, 1:13 pm

english bulldog, french bulldog, boston terrier

are now class A dogs ...lulz

Postby 88sins » February 18th, 2014, 2:26 pm

I glad i hav a class A dog.

Not so glad to have a no class jackass for an AG tho

Postby toyolink » February 18th, 2014, 2:29 pm

This is going to be a complete nightmare to implement and enforce.
In reality many of the conditionalities placed on owners are just not available and the infrastructure to police same will take many years to establish.
What is obvious, is a very weak group of technocrats were given responsibility for crafting this legislative solution and whoever is at the helm seems to be unable to exercise critical thinking.
.....Again nothing new here in the way things are done!

Postby pioneer » February 18th, 2014, 6:34 pm

AG legal advisers too busy suckin penor below his desk.

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2014, 7:10 pm

Postby 88sins » February 28th, 2014, 7:32 pm

nice specimen as far as looks go.

not trained worth a damn if I were to judge by that pic tho.

but whatever

Postby Spitfir3 » February 28th, 2014, 7:48 pm

2nd timein a week i seeing a rottweiler walking a busy pavement both looked like they have owners....these cows just looking to give pets a bad name luckily the dogs looked pretty docile

bir123

Postby bir123 » March 9th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Guys is a stanffordshire terrier a class a dog or class b dog
Thanks

Postby gt4tified » March 11th, 2014, 4:43 pm

bir123 wrote:Guys is a stanffordshire terrier a class a dog or class b dog
Thanks

Class B.

bir123

Postby bir123 » March 11th, 2014, 4:46 pm

Thanks do you guys know any place in tnt that sells them

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 12th, 2014, 2:14 am

bir123 wrote:Thanks do you guys know any place in tnt that sells them

There are some part staffies around as my female accidentally got pregnant a few years ago i believe she is now a great grandmother,
she had puppies with a 7 month old rottweiler sheppard mix :roll: .
my dogs are spayed and neutered though unfortunately so no puppies from them.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 18th, 2014, 4:14 pm

Debate is going on now... Usual heart and sob story's of attacks not even by pitbulls. Thankfully My Vet is speaking today so there is hope for some decent debate... minus the PP propaganda.

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » March 18th, 2014, 7:07 pm

how much of you all standing up for your dogs

Postby pioneer » March 18th, 2014, 7:09 pm

I really lol'ed @UNC sheep bunnin in de hotsun holding placards to bannish these "beasts".

Wonder how much anand pay dem?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 18th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Same facking thing I was thinking. All the placards had the same handwriting. This government is such a farce. AG more concerned about arousing people's emotions than stating the facts. We have asked for meetings with him, we have sent recommendations to him through that worthless Prakash, we even drafted a bill for him I believe. And this goat facker stands up there and said dog lovers only care about their animals. How can any body in their right mind support such a worthless piece of sheit

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 18th, 2014, 9:24 pm

The BUGWAAANAAA said he has no problem banning pitbulls. Where else in the world has banning a dog bred brought down attacks? No where. And his equally uninformed cohorts sit there and watch this mockery of parliament. How, how can a dangerous dog list contain toy breeds and breeds that may only exist in one household. While blatantly left out the Rottweiler and Doberman. This is such a cut and fackin paste bill eh its not funny.

Postby gt4tified » March 18th, 2014, 10:05 pm

^^^ The list was amended in the HOR, just to clear up any prevailing misconceptions. It's being debated in the Senate still (right now).