STREETWISE FINALS 2013

wickedbreed

STREETWISE FINALS 2013

Postby wickedbreed » November 11th, 2013, 11:05 am

Good morning tuners...

Streetwise 2013 Finals was ok despite the early rains that may have kept a lot of people from the arena. There were a lot of new faces to the show as well as a lot of loyal competitors and supporters. The venue itself was a bit waterlogged but that didn't dampen the spirits of any, I mean honestly it could have been worse, it could've been in samaar's mud, lol. But all in all, the show was ok, wasn't spectacular, but ok........

HOWEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The judging was totally poor (Keep in mind I was not by the arena for all categories, but just for my competition-Single 12, and while waiting to speak to the judges i witnessed single 15 and again when my krew Audio Ripple competed in ultimate with the Ghost Rider panel van)

WHAT I WANT!!!!!!!!!!
I want to go to whatever training sessions or conferences or whatever promoters send their judges to, so that they can "study" every single song possible that a sound car might play in the arena as this was the basis on which I lost....read below

REASON??????
after 'losing' my category I spoke to the judges who awarded the white wagon victory, and they said "Your mid range was the loudest and cleanest in the arena for both songs. The cleanest of your mids was amazing. Your bassline was also on point and the loudest in the arena,"
BUT!?! why did not win judged??? (as anyone would ask after hearing this comment from a judge?)
AND I QUOTE AGAIN "your song selection was poor as the songs you chose had both high and low notes, and although my high bass was PERFECT(as he said numerous times before) my lowers notes weren't "audible" :S" which i guess is an ok answer IF THERE WAS A MACHINE SHOWING FREQUENCIES PLAYING OR AN RTA METER AS NO HUMAN EAR CAN DISTINGUISH PROPER FREQUENCIES AND THEIR LEVELS.
MY POINT... the name of the competition is LOUDEST single 12, not best all round playing all frequencies single 12. And as the judges clearly stated, together with the crowd (which I lost, because they counted how many hands were up in the air and not the noise made by my crowd, even though they called for my crowd 5 times and I had the biggest crowd for my category) I should have won that competition easily. this sentiments was also expressed by the police in the arena, who clearly stated the judges does not know what they are doing...

THE GHOST RIDER 6 18's

After I was cheated in single 12 my team gathered back heart to take our ultimate vehicle into the arena, our ghost rider 6 18 panel van (with the same crowd as mentioned above) and won nothing. No other vehicle was as clean or as loud or had the bassline as the ghost rider (who played both high and low tones off bass).

REASON QUOTED FROM THE JUDGES...
"When we stood infront the ghost rider we could not judge it because it was too loud and was sounding distorted from infront the van."
I DARE ANYONE TO GO DIRECTLY IN FRONT (right under the mids boxes) OF ATOMIC BOMB OR PREDATOR AND TRY TO JUDGE FOR A CLEAN MIDS!!!!! these level of vehicles cannot be judged from directly under the mids, but from a little distance at least 3 meters from the vehicle, because any closer than that, the music is not what will be distorting, but your eardrums flapping.

On leaving the arena I must make mention of Jugglers (the Black Stream) who met us just outside the arena. They were not vex that they lost competing with us. The were beyond, and I must stress BEYOND angry that WE lost. Yes you read that correctly, another crew who competed against us was beyond angry that we lost. The owner (guessing here as he was by the driver seat) of the stream said "it was impossible to stand in front the ghost rider, let alone judge it, I am shocked you all lost and it had no way any vehicle in the arena could have came close to how the ghost rider played" (I deleted all the expletives lol)

All in all the judging was poor, Streetwise clearly had already air marked their winners before hand and as much as I commend the judges for speaking with me during their busy night I do have a couple of things to say to the promoter....

IF YOU INTEND ON HAVING THIS POOR JUDGING IN A SHOW, ENSURE YOUR JUDGES DO NOT SPEAK WITH COMPETITORS PERIOD ESPECIALLY WHO SHOULD HAVE WON BUT LOST TO THE VEHICLES THAT YOU AIR MARKED TO WIN. ALSO YOU SHOULD CHANGE THE CATEGORY NAMES FROM LOUDEST TO BEST ALL ROUND SINGLE DOUBLE 10,12,15 ETC AS CLEARLY WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS NOT JUST THE LOUDEST BUT A BASS THAT IS PLAYING BOTH HIGH AND LOW NOTES. ALSO I BEG OF YOU TO PUBLICIZE WHERE AND WHEN TRAINING SESSIONS ARE BEING HELD TO TRAIN YOUR JUDGES ON EVERY NOTE OF BASS TO LOOK FOR IN EVERY SONG THAT MAY POSSIBLY BE PLAYED IN THE ARENA AS THIS WILL HELP YOUR COMPETITORS KNOW WHAT YOUR JUDGES ARE LOOKING FOR. I ALSO SUGGEST THAT IF YOU ARE GOING DOWN THIS ROAD OF JUDGING DIFFERENT NOTES OF BASS, THEN YOU PURCHASE A METER WHICH READS DIFFERENT BASS FREQUENCIES AS WE ALL KNOW ON LISTENING TO A BASSLINE WE CANNOT TELL EXACTLY WHAT FREQUENCY IS PLAYING. ALTHOUGH FOR YOU, YOUR SHOW MAY HAVE BEEN A SUCCESS BECAUSE YOUR WALLET IS A LITTLE MORE HEAVIER, YOU HAVE ALSO SUCCEEDED IN LOSING A FEW COMPETITORS THAT MAY NEVER ATTEND YOUR SHOW AGAIN. YOU MAY SAY ITS NOTHING NOW, BUT BY TURNING AWAY ONE CREW MAYBE AT A TIME YOU ARE KILLING THE MUSIC INDUSTRY AS A MAN WILL NOW RATHER GO A BEACH THAN PAY MONEY TO LOSE IN YOUR SHOWS AND AS A RESULT MEN WILL SLOW DOWN IN BUILDING COMPETITION VEHICLES AND BUILD JUST STREET.

Honestly, is it so hard to just be fair in this sport that we all love?

ps. Crowd pleaser is decided by the amount of noise created by supporters upon being prompted for their vehicle, and not the amount of supporters or hands in the air....refer to cars hows of old example zachs or the ones in mobs2 as people may jump and shout without raising their hand...it is not primary school to as the crowd to uniformly raise their hands.

I await the response from any Streetwise committee member or a contact directly to me or my Audio Ripple crew leader. I believe the promoter knows how to get in contact with him.

shaker

Re: STREETWISE FINALS 2013

Postby shaker » November 11th, 2013, 10:41 pm

now don,t get me wrong eh , i heard yuh vehicle .... firstly u lost at iasca ... den mk finals and now streetwise ...... dais 3 different set of judges ...... basically wat i tink u are sayin is dat all 3 sets cheated u .... correct me if i,m wrong but somn not readin rite dey .... tink about it .... i am in no way affeliated wit streetwise and this is my opinion .... your vehicle was definately the loudest there , but d wagon dat won was d cleaniest and i am in full support of the decision .... i had a competin vehicle which was d loudest in d category also and i lost ..... but loud doh mean win ..... i hav some more work to do and it will be dun .... as for d 6 18 van .... i kno upgrades were made an d van improved alot from d last i heard ..... but i was way off at d back of allyuh crowd ..... d 1st song was good , 2nd song wasn,t .... and 3rd u played a dub plate .... d 6 15 vehicle dat won was on point for all 3 songs ... so i tink instead of sayin u get cheat check back an see where u went wrong ....

powerbass12

Postby powerbass12 » November 11th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Dbu ah man from baseline audio suppose to play in amateur 10 but the judges said he can't an put him in professional 12 an he came 3 rd !

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » November 12th, 2013, 6:54 am

Can we see your score sheet

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 8:16 am

shaker wrote:now don,t get me wrong eh , i heard yuh vehicle .... firstly u lost at iasca ... den mk finals and now streetwise ...... dais 3 different set of judges ...... basically wat i tink u are sayin is dat all 3 sets cheated u .... correct me if i,m wrong but somn not readin rite dey .... tink about it .... i am in no way affeliated wit streetwise and this is my opinion .... your vehicle was definately the loudest there , but d wagon dat won was d cleaniest and i am in full support of the decision .... i had a competin vehicle which was d loudest in d category also and i lost ..... but loud doh mean win ..... i hav some more work to do and it will be dun .... as for d 6 18 van .... i kno upgrades were made an d van improved alot from d last i heard ..... but i was way off at d back of allyuh crowd ..... d 1st song was good , 2nd song wasn,t .... and 3rd u played a dub plate .... d 6 15 vehicle dat won was on point for all 3 songs ... so i tink instead of sayin u get cheat check back an see where u went wrong ....

Ok so I understand what you are saying about the 3 show thing, but consider this...

In IASCA after all the scores were tallied, I won by one point. Shameer and audo ripple fell out a while ago because of some personal reasons, and shameer said he didnt want any audio ripple vehicle winning (INFO WORD FOR WORD FROM A SOURCE THAT IS NOT SO RELIABLE BUT I DO HAVE THE SHEET TO PROVE WHERE MARKS WERE TAKEN OFF WHICH WAS WHY THEY TOOK SOO LONG TO ANNOUNCE THE WINNERS IN THAT SHOW), so the judges scratched out 2 marks from my sheet and I lost by 1 mark. I have the photo of that score sheet to prove my point, will try to upload it later.

Between IASCA and mk finals my car was redone bass mids everything. I changed krews before the IASCA show, but went with the same system re tuned to show them how the same system would have performed. On that night only 3 of my 6 10"s were playing. For mk finals everything was in a gear and I believe I stood with the best in the arena with my new team.

In Mk finals one judge gave me almost the highest marks (I think I missed the highest mark by 1 point) and the other judge gave me almost the lowest mark overall (think I missed the lowest mark by 3 points). This is also the judge that gave me a 2/10 for my bassline. How can 1 judge give me such high marks and the other such low? Were they listening to different vehicles? And you heard my car, so I doubt you would have rated my bassline as 2/10 (correct me if I am wrong). I also have my scoresheet, as well as the master scoresheet for this show will try to upload it later.

What I have found out yesterday is that because of past happenings, promoters are not really fond of my krew or krew leader in particular. We were not really an innocent peace keeping krew, but men have changed and men matured, so I think we should not be judged on our past.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 8:19 am

caliph tec wrote:Can we see your score sheet

Didnt get one from Streetwise, but ill have my mk finals and Iasca one up by tom morning. Have them home on my laptop.

You will also clearly see where the marks were scratched off in IASCA and the vast difference in markings between both judges in mk finals.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 8:23 am

wickedbreed wrote:
shaker wrote:now don,t get me wrong eh , i heard yuh vehicle .... firstly u lost at iasca ... den mk finals and now streetwise ...... dais 3 different set of judges ...... basically wat i tink u are sayin is dat all 3 sets cheated u .... correct me if i,m wrong but somn not readin rite dey .... tink about it .... i am in no way affeliated wit streetwise and this is my opinion .... your vehicle was definately the loudest there , but d wagon dat won was d cleaniest and i am in full support of the decision .... i had a competin vehicle which was d loudest in d category also and i lost ..... but loud doh mean win ..... i hav some more work to do and it will be dun .... as for d 6 18 van .... i kno upgrades were made an d van improved alot from d last i heard ..... but i was way off at d back of allyuh crowd ..... d 1st song was good , 2nd song wasn,t .... and 3rd u played a dub plate .... d 6 15 vehicle dat won was on point for all 3 songs ... so i tink instead of sayin u get cheat check back an see where u went wrong ....

Ok so I understand what you are saying about the 3 show thing, but consider this...

In IASCA after all the scores were tallied, I won by one point. Shameer and audo ripple fell out a while ago because of some personal reasons, and shameer said he didnt want any audio ripple vehicle winning (INFO WORD FOR WORD FROM A SOURCE THAT IS NOT SO RELIABLE BUT I DO HAVE THE SHEET TO PROVE WHERE MARKS WERE TAKEN OFF WHICH WAS WHY THEY TOOK SOO LONG TO ANNOUNCE THE WINNERS IN THAT SHOW), so the judges scratched out 2 marks from my sheet and I lost by 1 mark. I have the photo of that score sheet to prove my point, will try to upload it later.

Between IASCA and mk finals my car was redone bass mids everything. I changed krews before the IASCA show, but went with the same system re tuned to show them how the same system would have performed. On that night only 3 of my 6 10"s were playing. For mk finals everything was in a gear and I believe I stood with the best in the arena with my new team.

In Mk finals one judge gave me almost the highest marks (I think I missed the highest mark by 1 point) and the other judge gave me almost the lowest mark overall (think I missed the lowest mark by 3 points). This is also the judge that gave me a 2/10 for my bassline. How can 1 judge give me such high marks and the other such low? Were they listening to different vehicles? And you heard my car, so I doubt you would have rated my bassline as 2/10 (correct me if I am wrong). I also have my scoresheet, as well as the master scoresheet for this show will try to upload it later.

What I have found out yesterday is that because of past happenings, promoters are not really fond of my krew or krew leader in particular. We were not really an innocent peace keeping krew, but men have changed and men matured, so I think we should not be judged on our past.

Btw streetwise judges said........"you have the loudest and cleanest mids....as well as the loudest bassline in the arena for both songs..."

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 12th, 2013, 11:47 am

Look at this, the guy toting feeling after a carshow yes.No one here can answer your questions any differently from what you may have already heard.

If you did not win, check back with your installer, have a discussion and see what can be done.

If after " improvements " have been made and you're still in the same position , please feel free to look at other options to enjoy yourself. (I recommend Caura and White Oak based on your post)

shaker

Postby shaker » November 12th, 2013, 12:48 pm

1st of all .... shameer doesn,t over see the soundoff comps in iasca shows ..... i do dat ..... and wat u said is utter sheit .... your score sheet wasn,t d only 1 dat was scratched ... there was about 3 .... mistakes are made .... kustom kreations blue lancer won and bla red wagon came 2nd ... and as i told u .... u are louder but not cleaner .... so please re check yuh system and try again .... u told me u not comin back to my shows .... no cene ... dunno wat u doin bout d other shows u lost in .... there are 2 shows comin up ... try yuh hand an see wat happens ...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 12th, 2013, 1:13 pm

So the first thing competitors look to do after a show in which they competed and did not win is blame the JUDGES.....

Trinis need to learn that the common practice of "my system sounding bessss" does not always win a competition....

In trini 'Sound Off Competitions" aka "gallery competitions", what the judges look for is simply "an amplified, tonal, well balanced identical reproduction of the original recording"

do that and c what happens....

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 1:29 pm

shaker wrote:1st of all .... shameer doesn,t over see the soundoff comps in iasca shows ..... i do dat ..... and wat u said is utter sheit .... your score sheet wasn,t d only 1 dat was scratched ... there was about 3 .... mistakes are made .... kustom kreations blue lancer won and bla red wagon came 2nd ... and as i told u .... u are louder but not cleaner .... so please re check yuh system and try again .... u told me u not comin back to my shows .... no cene ... dunno wat u doin bout d other shows u lost in .... there are 2 shows comin up ... try yuh hand an see wat happens ...

I did say the source wasnt all that trustworthy, and I not argueing your show faraz, because as I said in your show i played with only 3 10's. I appreciate the fact you saying I'm louder, but I think Im clean also, and the streetwise judges also think so. I am trying my hand in the extreme show.

Guys dont get me wrong I am not bashing. My major point was trying to understand how and what the judges looking for in the bassline aspect of the judging.

Faraz if u have the mesg I sent when I said Im not going to your show again, read it. I didnt say it was only for the music arena, it was because of what went on in the show before that. I did mention I have been supporting your shows since I started in show years ago as well.

Christian if u was dere in streetwise you would have understood. In faraz and mk show i still went up against tough opposition in bassline, shay........ but this show, thses men didnt match, in my point of view. READ fellas.... I want to kno how they judging bassline. At least faraz using a meter, well did start to. And Faraz in mk show you cannot honestly say my bassline was a 2/10

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 1:33 pm

ray786 wrote:So the first thing competitors look to do after a show in which they competed and did not win is blame the JUDGES.....

Trinis need to learn that the common practice of "my system sounding bessss" does not always win a competition....

In trini 'Sound Off Competitions" aka "gallery competitions", what the judges look for is simply "an amplified, tonal, well balanced identical reproduction of the original recording"

Yes Ray after our convo yesterday I will try that. The purpose of this post was not to bash but to try and understand where we as a krew went wrong and for me to express my concerns.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 1:40 pm

southside connections wrote:Look at this, the guy toting feeling after a carshow yes.No one here can answer your questions any differently from what you may have already heard.

If you did not win, check back with your installer, have a discussion and see what can be done.

If after " improvements " have been made and you're still in the same position , please feel free to look at other options to enjoy yourself. (I recommend Caura and White Oak based on your post)

Chris its not toting its trying to understand and get the points of view from others to see where we as a krew went wrong and where we can improve. It is to also let promoters know our concerns. What i was saying abt the beach ting.....when the younger people seeing how some men who accustomed to competing getting 'cheated' what is there to convince them to come show? i kno men with 6 -15's built for beach...Dude dont be disrespectful, I wasnt, and this feedback is what I was hoping for... I especially appreciate hearing from Faraz and Ray, both men I have alot of respect for.

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » November 12th, 2013, 1:40 pm

ray786 wrote:So the first thing competitors look to do after a show in which they competed and did not win is blame the JUDGES.....

well said

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 1:45 pm

PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT BASHING THE JUDGES THEMSELVES. THE JUDGES HAD NOTHING NEGATIVE TO SAY ABOUT MY CAR, STARTING FROM CASPER IN FARAZ SHOW, RAY IN MK AND THE JUDGE FROM STREETWISE. IN FARAZ SHOW CASPER TOLD ME I WAS REAL REAL CLOSE, AND THAT WAS WITH HALF MY MIDS, IN MK FINALS RAY AND I HAD A CONVERSATION WHICH I WILL NOT DIVULGE DETAILS BUT I UNDERSTAND, AND IT STREETWISE THE JUDGES WERE HIGH IN PRAISE FOR MY CAR. THE POINT OF IT ALL IS UNDERSTAND WHAT EXACTLY THE JUDGES ARE LOOKING FOR AND THANKS TO RAY I HAVE A BETTER IDEA. I WILL BE THERE IN EXTREME HOPING FOR A DIFFERENCE.

casper

Postby casper » November 12th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Pal...I'm one of the judges for 100% IASCA shows and I apologize if I make mistakes while a song being played by u and other competitors while y'all playing and decide to change my mind on a score I have at first... I'm not perfect and neither is ur music system or anyone else's as a matter of fact...sometimes a system's mids sounds good at the start of the song and I give them a score, then when the bass hits some of the cars mids start to distort a bit etc so I change my mind on the score I originally have and scratch it and put something more deserving ...

Music is dynamic...judges are subject to that...can't go around bashing judges and making false acquisitions jus cuz u can't take a loss like a big man...

Btw u weren't anywhere close to placing 1st in the last Iasca show I heard ur system due to imbalance of ur heavy category system...so I dunno where u get this "I lost by 1 point" philosophy from...

Ur open vehicle mids is amazingly loud but the bass lacking real bad...I barely heard any bass from that vehicle and most of ur points u lossed from me was on bass and balance

Please do ur home work and stop pointing fingers...if every show u go and lose u decide to boycott then I guess u jus gonna be left with a vehicle u spent hundreds of thousands on and can't compete cuz in ur mind the whole world against u...the world is a nice place bro ...it not that bad...stop being hard on ureself and enjoy the sport and stop complaining so much

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 2:30 pm

casper wrote:Pal...I'm one of the judges for 100% IASCA shows and I apologize if I make mistakes while a song being played by u and other competitors while y'all playing and decide to change my mind on a score I have at first... I'm not perfect and neither is ur music system or anyone else's as a matter of fact...sometimes a system's mids sounds good at the start of the song and I give them a score, then when the bass hits some of the cars mids start to distort a bit etc so I change my mind on the score I originally have and scratch it and put something more deserving ...

Music is dynamic...judges are subject to that...can't go around bashing judges and making false acquisitions jus cuz u can't take a loss like a big man...

Btw u weren't anywhere close to placing 1st in the last Iasca show I heard ur system due to imbalance of ur heavy category system...so I dunno where u get this "I lost by 1 point" philosophy from...

Ur open vehicle mids is amazingly loud but the bass lacking real bad...I barely heard any bass from that vehicle and most of ur points u lossed from me was on bass and balance

Please do ur home work and stop pointing fingers...if every show u go and lose u decide to boycott then I guess u jus gonna be left with a vehicle u spent hundreds of thousands on and can't compete cuz in ur mind the whole world against u...the world is a nice place bro ...it not that bad...stop being hard on ureself and enjoy the sport and stop complaining so much

Casper read my post and my comments again. I am talking about my car in the comments. And since the panel van was in IASCA the last time, it has been changed from 4 to 6 18's. You told me that my car black b14 i lost by one point....

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 2:43 pm

casper wrote:Pal...I'm one of the judges for 100% IASCA shows and I apologize if I make mistakes while a song being played by u and other competitors while y'all playing and decide to change my mind on a score I have at first... I'm not perfect and neither is ur music system or anyone else's as a matter of fact...sometimes a system's mids sounds good at the start of the song and I give them a score, then when the bass hits some of the cars mids start to distort a bit etc so I change my mind on the score I originally have and scratch it and put something more deserving ...

Casper Im not bashing the judges, please see comment ur name included where i made that in particular clear as well as the purpose for the post. The reason I didnt go to faraz last show was not because of the competition u judged, it was something that had happen the show before.

BTW dude this is kid....the panel van is not mines but belongs to the krew im in. it was upgraded since the last iasca show. with the points thing and me being close to the other competitors Im talking about my car wicked breed the black b14, and btw my car was also revamped since that show everyting changed bass mids heights, everything.

casper

Postby casper » November 12th, 2013, 3:06 pm

Oh ok...well yea d black b14 sounded good

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » November 12th, 2013, 3:18 pm

casper wrote:Oh ok...well yea d black b14 sounded good

Thanks man. appreciate the compliment, and compared to that show, it is alot louder cleaner and generally better now as everything was redone since I changed crews and joined audio ripple. I may be there in Faraz next show.

shaker

Postby shaker » November 28th, 2013, 10:52 am

did u compete on sunday ..... and if so what were the results ????

Nathan

Postby Nathan » February 28th, 2014, 4:02 pm

Everyone is entitiled to their opinion, judging was Fair in my eyes with respect to single 12" Atomic Wagon bass was slightly louder than the bass of my vehicle and my midrange was by far the loudest and of great quality, but lost due to current problems, i got 2nd place Judged at that show and the last show i entered before that got 2nd judged in IASCA.. i personally heard your vehicle, dont quote me i think was a reall sweet b14 you had with airbrushes. there are many upcoming shows this year with many different promoters... i look foward to competing against you in single 12"... DONT TOAT AFTER A LOSS PAL... talk to the judges about ways on improving your system and rebuild for the next show