Re: Draughting and AutoCAD

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2012, 1:48 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
AYE_SOLDIER wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Solidworks ftw

|

on a side note do they offer this course in trini?

Solidworks and CAD are used for completely different fields, Solidworks is more for FEA and CFD analysis and modelling, whereas CAD more along the lines of architecture etc.

Totally right.

And AYE_SOLDIER I honestly dunno bro.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 4th, 2014, 8:48 am

i have a vacancy for an auto cad tech... email me aaron@adontt.com

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 4th, 2014, 3:05 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Image

way to go sleeper dude, here hole dat, 5 ton mushroom anchor, I would ah show you fabrication drawings too buh ah kinda modest an ting.

I spent 3 years in sando tech, did draughting and civil engineering, I have my Diplomas too. 12 years in industry so far.

You have plenty ting to learn douglah dude, all d bess.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » February 5th, 2014, 5:54 am

lost to all, wah program yuh use to do that 3d model man

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 5th, 2014, 7:07 am

Anyone here uses cad on a Mac?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 5th, 2014, 8:08 am

lalloboy101 wrote:lost to all, wah program yuh use to do that 3d model man

straightup autocad bro.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » February 5th, 2014, 8:31 am

nice man, anywhere hiring cad techs man?....worley, woodgroup or fluor. Heard these guys do that modelling stuff there

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » February 5th, 2014, 8:32 am

PapaC wrote:Anyone here uses cad on a Mac?

Papa...wah vibes bro?...how tings in PPGPL dey man

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 5th, 2014, 11:20 am

lalloboy101 wrote:nice man, anywhere hiring cad techs man?....worley, woodgroup or fluor. Heard these guys do that modelling stuff there

nah boy, not right now dredd, ask d cad monkey for ah bligh. :lol:

1.6 TURBO

Postby 1.6 TURBO » February 8th, 2014, 10:50 am

Dougla_boy, i recommend CAD Engineering & Support. Owner name is Rajesh Boodoo. He is located in Marabella 290-0304 or 377-2467. He teaches the AutoCAD course. He also has a business that employs students if you prove good at picking up the course. Besides AutoCAD he teaches other stuff like CADWorx, Caesar, Revit etc. If you are really interested in draughting you have many years ahead before you can become any good. Many people do AutoCAD courses and believe they can draw...believe me they can't. I have interviewed many persons for positions in CAD but most fail in basic knowledge of draughting. Draughting is an art... albeit a dying one. I started draughting in1994 and still jump in now and then to help my team when necessary...its a great feeling when you love it. Anyway give me a call at 767-8919...i could advise you better. Or by the way don't try to get into it for the money...you will only get that in the oil/gas industry...not Architecture...well at least in Trinidad and if you want to do oil and gas well its a whole different ballgame. Hope this helps...

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » February 10th, 2014, 7:20 am

Well said there Dillon, cant put it any better than that.........take it from this guys folks, he really knows his stuff.......Hoss, ABT hiring again orr?

1.6 TURBO

Postby 1.6 TURBO » February 10th, 2014, 8:48 am

Nah, not many projects right now...no real work in country...except for up-stream stuff in gas...offshore really. Doing some small work for our favorite client...lol

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » February 10th, 2014, 8:51 am

One would have thought with the recent award of your "favorite client" to another EPCM contractor, all work should go to them.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » June 10th, 2014, 2:32 pm

Can any users here explain the difference between a CAD Tech & a Designer, reason being a couple places I checked not hiring CADdies but Designers....anyone?
Last edited by lalloboy101 on June 10th, 2014, 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby dougla_boy » June 10th, 2014, 2:43 pm

*awaits info*

GRIM

Postby GRIM » June 10th, 2014, 3:05 pm

maybe they want people who have some qualifications in architectural/civil design.
I think it more comes down to how many years experience you have.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » June 10th, 2014, 4:59 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:Can any users here explain the difference between a CAD Tech & a Designer, reason being a couple places I checked not hiring CADdies but Designers....anyone?

CAD Tech : People who only did Auto CAD "meaning they did a course or training on learning to use the Auto Cad program (6 weeks - 3 month course)"

Designers : People who did Drafting and Design "in this course Auto Cad is just part of the syllabus, the course is mainly about construction materials and construction methods, design skills Architectural and Mechanical, Prepare working drawings "plans" and Detail Drawings ( 2year or more course)

Or a Civil or Mechanical Engineers with Design and CAD skills "Solid Works or Auto CAD"

I guess the people you checked were looking for some one who have some background in designing or have designing skills not just some one who can draw using Auto CAD...........

I did Drafting and design "advance diploma level" btw
Last edited by COROLLA KID on June 10th, 2014, 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 10th, 2014, 5:32 pm

Also going to depend heavily on where you working, or the field of work you in. In the end all that really matters is if the money running.
For that matter you can throw in draughtsman as a job title and they can all compare on some level.

chris600

Postby chris600 » June 11th, 2014, 7:59 am

1.6 TURBO wrote:Dougla_boy, i recommend CAD Engineering & Support. Owner name is Rajesh Boodoo. He is located in Marabella 290-0304 or 377-2467. He teaches the AutoCAD course. He also has a business that employs students if you prove good at picking up the course. Besides AutoCAD he teaches other stuff like CADWorx, Caesar, Revit etc. If you are really interested in draughting you have many years ahead before you can become any good. Many people do AutoCAD courses and believe they can draw...believe me they can't. I have interviewed many persons for positions in CAD but most fail in basic knowledge of draughting. Draughting is an art... albeit a dying one. I started draughting in1994 and still jump in now and then to help my team when necessary...its a great feeling when you love it. Anyway give me a call at 767-8919...i could advise you better. Or by the way don't try to get into it for the money...you will only get that in the oil/gas industry...not Architecture...well at least in Trinidad and if you want to do oil and gas well its a whole different ballgame. Hope this helps...

^ be VERY careful there,i would recommend sticking to recognized institutions that have real teachers. and are acknowledged by all of the international companies that they claim to be supported by/affiliated with.
ie SBCS ,Central Technologies, also make sure the school not just giving some bs contact hours certificate ect,

My 2 cents: CAD jobs only pay good in the energy industry,having bounced around several small private architectural/structural companies,then gone industrial i know.

Autocad alone is just a tool, any dog&cat could have Lv3 , draughting on the other hand is the knowledge & skill behind presenting the info in a easily understandable format for different disciplines civil,structural,architectural,piping whatever.
if you're really interested in this field do a drafting course first then worry about autocad

pm if you need any additional advice