Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby sMASH » January 19th, 2014, 7:01 pm

I understand what they did with this latest revision. I think for the second revision here was a only about 4 breeds mentioned. On his thread self then I said I would bring in some dogo argentinos. Then in a subsequent revision hat breed was placed on the list.

What they did this time was to research the potentially dangerous dogs that could be brought here.

THe first time they broad brush everyhing. Second time they put a small list, supposedly of what they saw in movies. They actually put in some effort in it now.

THis goes to show that our law makers don't know about the responsibilities they are charged with when they are elected or if posted there.

Why can't we get professionals who are experts in heir fields to head a ministry or a project... Instead of a two bit lawyer ...

Our government is led by clueless laymen

Why can't fog lights be legalized
Last edited by sMASH on January 19th, 2014, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 19th, 2014, 7:06 pm

I wanna see what they will do when a "pot hound" maul someone

Postby sMASH » January 19th, 2014, 7:32 pm

According to the other iterations, if anydog commits the act that dog would be classed as dangerous and be dealt with accordingly. If they so deem a breed that was not dangerous they could place it on the list afterwards.

Also it said that if a dog was viewed to belong to any of the dangerous breeds then the onus is on the owner to prove otherwise or then take full precaution as if it was a dangerous breed dog.

Any class b breed can be bumped into class a if the minister feel ahow anytime. And if he regional corp. (or who ever registers your dogs class) feels ahow anytime and says your dog is class a , then YOU have to prove him wrong.

A class b dog that is a neuscance dog can be specifically classed as class a if deemed dangerous .

The bill requires that dogs to be insured individually . But the closest insurance there is for that is home insurance, which does not insure the dog, but considers the dog as sort of the house protection... Like burglar proof or a locking front gate.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 19th, 2014, 7:39 pm

funny thing is to my knowledge none of those dogs listed have ever been the result of a death in trinidad well at least not any time in this century..the latest maulings were done by a breed known as the american bully or "bully" which is basically a Frankenstein breed so what do these morons do?ban any dog pertaining to that breed

to make it simple its like saying your going to kill off all the Indians and Creole because dougla people are causing the most crime- its just a reference eh people dbu

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » January 20th, 2014, 1:44 pm

mine the bad ass dogs keep the bandits away if something were to happen to your homes or yourself due to crime would sorry ease your pain I don't think so, the AG an the rest of the gov't are safe they have bodyguards licened firearms how much government members were affected by crime would they accept sorry who will guard the guards what about the human terrier with the illegal guns

Postby 88sins » January 21st, 2014, 8:42 am

I jus waitin to see how they plan to motivate any insurer to provide coverage against a dog bitin somebody. afaik none of the big players entertaining that idea at all, they consider it too high risk.

Postby pete » January 21st, 2014, 8:58 am

I don't see why. Should be easy money. If not then they should just make it easier for people to form insurance companies. If I could get 1000 dogs insured at 1k each I wouldn't mind taking that risk that maybe every five years I might have to pay out 150k in damages.

Pretender

Postby Pretender » January 21st, 2014, 11:17 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ Boston Terrier and French Bulldog. Real dangerous dred. They cud almost qualify to be toy breeds. And where the hell you finding an Alano Espanol?

Pretender

Postby Pretender » January 21st, 2014, 11:20 pm

Whoever came up with that list like they just wikipedia "pitbull" and at the end of the article it say "you might also want to see......"

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » January 22nd, 2014, 10:06 am

aye aye hold up it says American pitbull terrier not Trinidad pitbull terrier I guess once the dog is born in trini its not American, haha

Postby 88sins » January 22nd, 2014, 12:44 pm

Pretender wrote:And where the hell you finding an Alano Espanol?

it have more than a few, jus none in t&t.

Postby sMASH » January 23rd, 2014, 8:57 am

pete wrote:I don't see why. Should be easy money. If not then they should just make it easier for people to form insurance companies. If I could get 1000 dogs insured at 1k each I wouldn't mind taking that risk that maybe every five years I might have to pay out 150k in damages.

Because of the stringent rules there would be very few attacks... You are correct it would be a cash cow.

Postby 88sins » January 23rd, 2014, 1:51 pm

you all keep forgetting that stringent rules only apply to humans that can read them, & have enough respect to obey them.

Good luck gettin a dog to read & comply with a insurance policy coverage guidelines.

Postby sMASH » January 23rd, 2014, 3:09 pm

If somebody badmind and report you. Or they just up and show up at your premises like mosquito people and jehoviah witness, and they see you have those animals... You're in for a world of hurt... Unless they like licensing and customs and you can settle things on the spot .

Postby Spitfir3 » January 23rd, 2014, 3:14 pm

88sins wrote:you all keep forgetting that stringent rules only apply to humans that can read them, & have enough respect to obey them.

Good luck gettin a dog to read & comply with a insurance policy coverage guidelines.

it would be easier to get a dog to understand and comply with the stipulations of the insurance than your average trini

Postby gt4tified » January 23rd, 2014, 6:24 pm

A neighbour of mine went and get a cane corso pup (9mths old). I advised her against it ever since I saw this amendment bill listing it, but she insist.

Their place isn't even secured (fenced)...they built a nice 'pretty' wooden kennel for the dog, but in a few months when that dog get more size and power, I want to see what she going to do. I saw her boyfriend who is about 5'8" with the dog in the road...and he already struggling for control.

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes in force August 1

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2014, 2:18 pm

turbosingh wrote:Buh all pits not dangerous my neighbour pit is 3yrs an it never bark yet,he does lick everybody who pass!

they call that "taste testing" :lol:

Postby gt4tified » February 1st, 2014, 1:09 am

Government says today that they coming to debate the Dog Control Amdt Bill in Parliament next Friday...Feb 07, 2014. Stay tuned!

Postby gt4tified » February 7th, 2014, 7:05 pm

Anybody else listening to the ta-ta that spewing from the AG's mouth right now on this??? Or am I alone watching Channel 11?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 7th, 2014, 7:12 pm

what they say?

Postby pioneer » February 7th, 2014, 7:35 pm

AG does talk sense at all?

I honestly think glenda moraine was smarter than him

Postby gt4tified » February 7th, 2014, 9:13 pm

Imbert just rip them apart....exposing all the flaws of the Bill. Ppl may not like him, but give Jack he jacket, Imbert is a boss of a debater.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 7th, 2014, 9:40 pm

What kinda lix he pelting? update please.

Postby gt4tified » February 8th, 2014, 7:23 am

DM16, you can follow via the parliament's Facebook page, which is what i do when I can't stand to watch them on tv...lol

www.facebook.com/ttparliament

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » February 13th, 2014, 9:38 am

Fix crime 1st! its only bandit afraid of dogs!! an thats why we have to have them,,,, or allow easier access to legal firearms, level the playing feild.

and since when is a cane corso a dangerous dog ( Google them ppl) big doesnt mean dangerous, ive had rotts that were angels n rotts that were rescued an because of ill treatment were way more dangerours , an as a child ive been bitten by a German shepard , but they not on list?? an more ppl im sure are inteimideated by a pack of pothounds so really whats the deal?

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » February 13th, 2014, 9:38 pm

that AG is a dangerous man hmm wonder if they should pass a bill for him

Postby gt4tified » February 14th, 2014, 12:57 am

Debate on the Bill is supposed to resume tomorrow.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 14th, 2014, 9:50 pm

So WTF really Happen?????

Postby gt4tified » February 15th, 2014, 2:59 pm

The Bill was passed with amendments in the HOR. When the AG got up to wind up, the opposition walked out of the Parliament Chamber.