CTSCBCS (CTS College) vs SBCS

Re: CTSCBCS (CTS College) vs SBCS

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2013, 10:07 pm

I know free lancing is a great option for SBCs UOGW but what's the market like locally for that kind of Job?

I have often been told it reaches as far as database development hence why SAM London met degree is generally considered enough

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » November 9th, 2013, 10:54 pm

Fellas i going cts n is no problems ...yes ravi is a fag...but the exams arent open book who tell u tthat lie
If u dont mine payin for ur degree ur good to goo
And i never hear bout ppl gettin problems to get a job with tthe UH degree is jus that is faster n more learnin in short time period

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 9:13 am

on another note since this thread is now relevant to me.

Is there local institutions that allows you to enter a final year to earn a Computing Degree or related field with a NCC advanced diploma?

Such as UTT or UWI?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 31st, 2014, 9:17 am

CTS uses the University of Hertfordshire.
They accepts the NCC advanced diploma in computers to enter their BSc. program.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 31st, 2014, 9:54 am

Yea they accept it for the final year but it has been raised to 28k while Sbcs is 13k

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 10:20 am

^ yeah I not paying $28k.

I am fine with SBCS 13k actually I am fine with SAM $10k LOL

But UTT or UWI would have been more or less free.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 31st, 2014, 10:29 am

Yea the free but it wont be a year! So is up too u

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 11:00 am

I am concerned with SBCS fee of $3500 for books which they say are compulsory.

Why aren't we allowed to source our books online for much cheaper prices? I know there isn't any democracy in a private business but considering the government is paying for GATE, the students should have some form of freedom in matters like this.

I was told you would not be allowed entry into SBCS if you do not purchase the books directly from them. This seems absurd if you ask me. Wondering if anyone with prior experience can clarify this.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 31st, 2014, 11:53 am

Yea SBCS is a trouble school if u dont obey the crappy rules the would try on u bro
They got my padna kick out of GATE!! If u dont like voicing your own opinion that school is great!

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » January 31st, 2014, 11:55 am

Now you know why a lot of ppl don't go sbcs. Their fees are higher and they're very tight fisted when it comes to money. So you may end up paying more in the long run. Also, in the last ranking the UoH ranked higher than UoGW. You should do more research before you choose.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 1:19 pm

yeah this far SAM seem like best bet. UOH is out of the question especially now with what they are charging. $28k is ridiculous.

SAM is the best bet right now. Lets be real for a sec, in IT what really matters is experience, few really care about which Uni you get a degree from.

UWI would be great and all but I highly doubt they offer anything like this. I think everything there requires A levels and would require me to start over and at 28 years old thats out of the question.

So yeah SAM London Met it is.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 31st, 2014, 1:27 pm

triniguy24 wrote:I'm considering doing a BSc in Computer Science or BSc in CIS and I wanna know you guys views on both schools. Anyone attended either school (or know anyone who attended), which do you think is better? I hear to stay clear of SAM so yeah.

Why to stay away from SAM?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 31st, 2014, 1:28 pm

I have attended both SAM and CTSCBCS and my experience at CTS was far better than at SAM.

However, if you are looking at finances and don't mind the less than less than less than less than average customer service (to put it nicely), then by all means complete it at SAM.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 1:42 pm

I agree SAM has 0 customer service and this is the same for anywhere that is cheap.
Just look at Government schools for example.

However there is a golden saying "its not up to the school but up to the individual"
It does not matter what school you go do, if you want to succeed then you will.

What I am considering is not about SAM but about London Met.
This course was called Computing and Information Systems.

Now its called Business Computing this is either good or bad? who knows
To my knowledge, many people who succeed as Oracle Database Administrators in the US and Canada are ones who posses Advanced Business Degrees such as MBAs etc. It seems to me that London Met actually has a good degree considering what they portray as possible job opportunities.

Best of all SAM say the books eh matter. They don't care what I buy to learn as long as they get their $10k. I like them for that.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 31st, 2014, 2:52 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:yeah this far SAM seem like best bet. UOH is out of the question especially now with what they are charging. $28k is ridiculous.

SAM is the best bet right now. Lets be real for a sec, in IT what really matters is experience, few really care about which Uni you get a degree from.

UWI would be great and all but I highly doubt they offer anything like this. I think everything there requires A levels and would require me to start over and at 28 years old thats out of the question.

So yeah SAM London Met it is.

Another year of Amelia? Yuh brave...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 3:35 pm

^ LOL AHAHAHA

Boy me and she could never get along. I used to real bad talk the woman.

But in the end I real kiss arse and she help me out a lot. I serious here if it wasn't for Amelia I would never have passed practical project.

The thing is if she see you trying hard she would help you no matter what it takes.
I know all too well about the attitude etc but I owe she a big thanks for helping me after the crap I did and came back years later to finish it.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 31st, 2014, 4:43 pm

Boy it had real bacchanal with she and some of us last year. They had to get another lecturer.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 8:44 pm

What I Want to know is if you go for a Job will an employer consider someone with the Greenwich BSc over the London Met?

And in terms of the curriculum are they much different? I see SAM one is heavy on Business and Database. But then again IT degrees are considered more Business than anything since this field is not Computer Science or Engineering.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 31st, 2014, 9:22 pm

HR manager's favour London over Greenwich...well my mom and sister do any way
I guess there personal experience over the years with ppl having those degrees being inexperienced
Thats why I jus doing that UH piece by piece even tho its 28k it worth every penny in the long run

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 31st, 2014, 9:52 pm

Degrees just open the doors, son.
Certs might land you that interview.

It's fine you got those things, but what can you DO? What will set you apart from the x00000 graduates with UH/UL/UG/UWI/UTT/UMars degrees?
How will hiring you bring benefit to the company that you're interviewing for?
Soft skills are very underrated, but highly valued depending on the organization.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 31st, 2014, 9:54 pm

btw, UTT+UH+UWI Grad checking in, I've seen em all.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » January 31st, 2014, 10:01 pm

True certs could help that why i always tell me to aleast have 2 ccna network + or at least a+ because it slow becoming a essential for employers to ask for
And after the first degree u must do a next one so a good foundation is always needed still!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2014, 10:40 pm

ok thanks for the advice guys.

I have decided to go with London Met at SAM because VexXx Dogg is 100% correct. Employers down here don't seem to care much which uni you got a degree from. Experience seems to be far more valued.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 12th, 2014, 1:11 pm

For those who are still interested I just contacted SBCS out of curiosity to and it just so happens the Greenwich fees for Computing has been raised by a huge amount.

Beginning of last year it was 1200 pounds and $3500 for books
This year its now 1600 pounds and $5000 for books LOL. Administrative fees has been raised by $400

Offcourse as always just like SAM all fees in pounds are made out to SBCS and not the University. So basically they paying on our behalf? so how do we know if these institutions are paying this full amount?

Offcourse CTS SBCSTSVCTSBCSTS fees even way higher its something like 2400 pounds LOL

So is SAM it is since they are still only 990 pounds.

This here is a good lesson of why to study hard in high school so you can gain entry into UWI or UTT
A levels Maths is key in those places.