Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby janfar » January 28th, 2014, 11:24 pm

Its what happened during the shootout.

Postby shogun » January 28th, 2014, 11:29 pm

bluefete wrote:Maybe it would have been too expensive to burn down the factory.

:cry: :cry: Wonder who tipped them off?

Last edited by shogun on January 28th, 2014, 11:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 28th, 2014, 11:31 pm

janfar wrote:Its what happened during the shootout.

Enlighten me as to what was happening please, as I was trying to run to the front of the building while the galvanize was being torn open behind me and may have missed it.

Postby rfari » January 29th, 2014, 6:18 am

Something eh songin right with the story nuh
JUICE ATTACK
Story Updated: Jan 28, 2014
Armed intruders yesterday climbed the roof
of the Trinidad Juice Company’s Co-operative
Citrus Growers Association compound in
Laventille and fired shots at security guards
for several minutes before police and
soldiers forced them to run away.
The attack followed a break-in at the
company’s Eastern Main Road facility and
warehouse on Monday night when thieves
broke in and stole canned juice and bottled
soft drinks valued at $20,000.
The juice company is a subsidiary of
Otaheite-based SM Jaleel and Co Ltd, which
has caught the country’s attention since
United States authorities announced on
December 20, a drug bust of more than 700
lbs of cocaine, with a street value of $644
million, packed in cans with Trinidad Juice
labels on them and which passed through
the Port of Port of Spain, on the way to
Norfolk, Virginia, USA.
The Trinidad Juice Company was incorporated
in 2008 and manufactures the brand Trinidad
Juices.
Trinidad Juices has been manufactured by
the Co-operative Citrus Growers’ Asso-
ciation (CGA) of Trinidad and Tobago at
Eastern Main Road, Laventille, since 1931,
according to SM Jaleel.
In a statement posted yesterday on its
website, SM Jaleel said armed men on the
roof of the Trinidad Juice Company on the
Eastern Main Road “fired at security officers
guarding the building, at around 1 p.m”
yesterday.
Security officers from the Allied Security firm
“took cover while the bandits fired
sporadically for about five minutes,” SM
Jaleel stated.
Police were contacted and the Inter-Agency
Task Force (IATF) responded within five
minutes, the company said, adding: “When
the 12 police officers and eight soldiers
arrived on the scene, the gunmen fled into
the surroun-
ding hillside.”
SM Jaleel thanked the IATF for its rapid
response and “quickly ending what was a
tense and extremely frightening situation”.
The company said it wanted to make clear
“the property was not raided by the police as
is being inaccurately reported”.
It said any further information on the matter
should be sought from the Police Service.
The Express and TV6 News have reported
exclusively that a number of robberies have
taken place at the compound for more than
two years.
Bandits struck again on Monday night at the
Citrus Growers compound, targeting more
juice cans.
A senior investigator informed the Express
and TV6 News that raw materials checker
Christian David from SM Jaleel left several
cases of juice and soft drinks on wooden
crates in an open storage area and left the
compound at 5 p.m. on Monday.
David returned close to 5.30 a.m. yesterday
and found 100 cases of grapefruit juice, 70
cases of orange juice and 13 cases of Chubby
soft drink missing.
The bandits, according to police, gained
access to the compound by climbing onto the
low roof at the back of the building.
Police said some of the juice cases the
bandits were not able to carry were found
on the roof.
President of the Co-operative Citrus Growers
Association Felix Clarke, who spoke with the
Express last night, said: “It’s been a
perennial problem for many years of regular
break-ins. People from the area come onto
the compound and steal whatever product,
the juice and the sugar, that we use to mix
the juices.”
The thefts are taking a toll on Citrus
Growers, Clarke said.
He suggested law enforcement agencies
needed to set up patrols in and around the
area to deter bandits.
United States Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) investigators have
initiated a transatlantic investigation into the
December 20 canned cocaine drug bust.
But while US law enforcement authorities
work hand in hand with local agencies to
collect data and statements from people in
this country for their investigation, the place
where the stolen juice cans might have
originated continues to be a target.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/JUI ... lmob=y&c=n

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 29th, 2014, 6:25 am

Just a quick fyi, the compound has always been broken into and always shot at over the years. Most area the galvanize resembles a strainer. Its only now that its making headlines.

Postby rfari » January 29th, 2014, 6:35 am

Toyopet wrote:Just a quick fyi, the compound has always been broken into and always shot at over the years. Most area the galvanize resembles a strainer. Its only now that its making headlines.

The news article is accurate?

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2014, 6:36 am

Toyopet wrote:Just a quick fyi, the compound has always been broken into and always shot at over the years. Most area the galvanize resembles a strainer. Its only now that its making headlines.

so hear this na

you saying for years now, SM Jaleels products have always been stolen and they don't talk about it?
Why should the public trust products from that company if the safety of it is compromised?Since such large amounts are stolen and its a "normal occurrence and can't be stopped due to the large warehouse"
Then SM Jaleel cannot secure their items and malicious people/terrorists/any crazy ex worker can obtain a large amount of their products, mix in some lanate/arsenic/rat poison and distribute to groceries/parlours/whatever

That's what yuh really saying right?
That's your defense? That SM Jaleel simply cannot secure their products?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 29th, 2014, 7:41 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

so hear this na

you saying for years now, SM Jaleels products have always been stolen and they don't talk about it?
Why should the public trust products from that company if the safety of it is compromised?Since such large amounts are stolen and its a "normal occurrence and can't be stopped due to the large warehouse"
Then SM Jaleel cannot secure their items and malicious people/terrorists/any crazy ex worker can obtain a large amount of their products, mix in some lanate/arsenic/rat poison and distribute to groceries/parlours/whatever

That's what yuh really saying right?
That's your defense? That SM Jaleel simply cannot secure their products?

Exactly- for years the company cannot afford to erect an electric fence? how about a full camera system?

More and more that company is becoming suspect.................

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 29th, 2014, 7:48 am

Question, Why would someone try to rob SM Jaleel knowing fully well there's a Police Patrol stationed across the road?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 29th, 2014, 8:05 am

So you company being robbes serveral times in 2 year, plus shoot outs and yet you still haven't secured your compound. What about employees, you didn't see the need to protect them. What if someone were to gain access and posion your stock killing hundreds that consumed them.

SM Jaleel, is looking not to innocent now I can't wait to hear the excuse this time.

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » January 29th, 2014, 8:28 am

ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".
- All break-ins are reported (check Besson Street Police Staion).
- Because of the location of that plant i.e. the roof ends where the hills begin it is easy for trespassers. Also because of the location it easy/easier to conduct sales/deliveries in the northern areas, hence the reason for not closing location.
- As per industrial espionage it can happen to any manufacturer. Do you think burglary does not happen at ABIL's factories or ANSA factories?

RIPEBREDFRUIT
- We had many meetings with our lawyers and state defence, we cannot erect electric fences even with proper signage.
- Cameras in the laventille area are operational in the plant, but once we start repairing or placing on the perimeter it gets shoot down. If there's any one on tuner from the area they can tell you, to do such perimeter works SMJ usually employs armed guards and IATF along with helicopter coverage.

snypaz , the police from "across the street" usually only respond when SMJ calls, I have never seen them there without notifiction.

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » January 29th, 2014, 8:32 am

src1983, we cannot shoot to kill. Since we have taken over the plant, security is constantly a factor. We have moved all office staff, we have also moved delivery but as mentioned before its all about location.

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2014, 8:41 am

R!CH!E wrote:ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".

- As per industrial espionage it can happen to any manufacturer. Do you think burglary does not happen at ABIL's factories or ANSA factories?

ABEL and ANSA factories do not supply food/beverage items for the public to consume last time I checked.
Correct me if I'm wrong though.

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » January 29th, 2014, 8:46 am

OK??????

ANSA=Carib
ABIL= Charles Candy, Sunshine snacks, etc etc

shiva_0001

Postby shiva_0001 » January 29th, 2014, 8:48 am

Nuevo Laredo appearance
In 2005 on a Saturday evening, Guzmán reportedly strolled into a restaurant in Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, with several of his bodyguards. After he took his seat, his henchmen locked the doors of the restaurant, collected the cell phones of approximately 30 diners and instructed them to not be alarmed.[28] The gangsters then ate their meal and left – paying for everyone else in the restaurant.[29]
Culiacán appearance
Later that year, Guzmán was reportedly seen in Culiacán, Sinaloa, repeating the same exploit at a restaurant.[30] According to a witness, in November 2005 Guzmán entered the restaurant in Culiacán with 15 of his bodyguards, all of them carrying AK-47s.[31] The restaurant was known as "Las Palmas", a lime-green eatery with an ersatz tile roof on a busy street.[32] A man in the restaurant told those present the following:
"Gentlemen, please. Give me a moment of your time. A man is going to come in, the boss. We will ask you to remain in your seats; the doors will be closed and nobody is allowed to leave. You will also not be allowed to use your cellulars. Do not worry; if you do everything that is asked of you, nothing will happen. Continue eating and don't ask for your check. The boss will pay. Thank you."[31]
The diners reportedly sat still and frightened, as El Chapo walked in through the front door of the restaurant. He walked among the tables, greeting each person there. "Hello, nice to meet you. How are you? I'm Joaquín Guzmán Loera. A pleasure. At your service," he said to all of the diners, as he shook their hands.[31]
El Chapo then walked to a private salon inside the restaurant, where he ate the house specialties of "beef and fist-size shrimp." After a couple of hours, the meal ended and Guzmán departed; his gunmen left moments later.[31] Los Angeles Times reported on this same incident in an article published on November 3, 2008.[32] The newspaper, however, noted that whether any of these reported exploits actually happened is irrelevant, because these stories of Guzmán's elusiveness have created a mythology around his image, where he's claimed to be "everywhere, and nowhere" at the same time.[32]
Other appearances
According to Milenio news, witnesses have claimed to have seen Guzmán Loera in a restaurant in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo; visiting a beach in San Blas, Nayarit; visiting a house he allegedly owns in San Pancho, Guanajuato; hiding in the mountains of Durango; eating at a restaurant and paying for customers in Ciudad Juárez; in his hideout in Michoacán; traveling through Monterrey; and attending the party of a famous businessman in Torreón.[33]

just read this on wiki

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2014, 9:01 am

R!CH!E wrote:OK??????

ANSA=Carib

or hor. okay my bad.

So your defense is that it happens to other factories as well?
The danger that Trinidad's citizens can be poisoned/killed due to the large amount of items stolen from your warehouse that can potentially be sabotaged is something that can't be helped due to the "bess location" of the warehouse?

Well when you put it that way, that your location and profits are more important than the health and well being of Trinidad & Tobago's citizens as well as wherever you export to.
Ok.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2014, 9:04 am

rfari wrote:

The news article is accurate?

Some tuners believe every word spanning out of trini media

napster16

Postby napster16 » January 29th, 2014, 9:07 am

R!CH!E wrote:ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".
- All break-ins are reported (check Besson Street Police Staion).
- Because of the location of that plant i.e. the roof ends where the hills begin it is easy for trespassers. Also because of the location it easy/easier to conduct sales/deliveries in the northern areas, hence the reason for not closing location.

RIPEBREDFRUIT
- We had many meetings with our lawyers and state defence, we cannot erect electric fences even with proper signage.
- Cameras in the laventille area are operational in the plant, but once we start repairing or placing on the perimeter it gets shoot down. If there's any one on tuner from the area they can tell you, to do such perimeter works SMJ usually employs armed guards and IATF along with helicopter coverage.

snypaz , the police from "across the street" usually only respond when SMJ calls, I have never seen them there without notifiction.

Just like your story.... :roll:

Postby rfari » January 29th, 2014, 9:16 am

What has me confused is that there is a theft problem at the location yet stock was left in an 'open storage area' by the an employee?:-?

And sporadic fire from gunmen? What they came for?

R!CH!E

Postby R!CH!E » January 29th, 2014, 9:19 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
R!CH!E wrote:OK??????

ANSA=Carib

or hor. okay my bad.

So your defense is that it happens to other factories as well?
The danger that Trinidad's citizens can be poisoned/killed due to the large amount of items stolen from your warehouse that can potentially be sabotaged is something that can't be helped due to the "bess location" of the warehouse?

Well when you put it that way, that your location and profits are more important than the health and well being of Trinidad & Tobago's citizens as well as wherever you export to.
Ok.

It's not my defence just factual, and based on your coments all the factories along the Eastern Main Road should close down!

SORRY if I sound rude, but I've been working in the manufacturing industry for over 17 years and it employs the second largest workforce in the country. We have to support our local manufacturers or become like Jamaica.

BTW:
Consumers need to know what the're buying and from whom. Check for tampered products i.e. if seal is broken dont consume, check for expiry dates, check for manufacture codes and also if tampered.

If any of above report to TTBS and the manufacturer.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 29th, 2014, 9:20 am

rfari wrote:What has me confused is that there is a theft problem at the location yet stock was left in an 'open storage area' by the an employee?:-?

And sporadic fire from gunmen? What they came for?

^^Don't forget for 5 whole minutes! :roll:

Postby S_2NR » January 29th, 2014, 9:23 am

Can someone post a list of all smj product so I can avoid them?
Thanks

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 29th, 2014, 9:28 am

Chubby
Viva
Busta
Oasis water
Trinidad juice
Cole cold

May have some more I forgot

Postby S_2NR » January 29th, 2014, 9:30 am

Fruta too ent?
I like fruta but what are the alternatives? Don't want to drink something that could have been tampered with

Xplode

Postby Xplode » January 29th, 2014, 9:32 am

caribbean kool
cran-water
american classic cola

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 29th, 2014, 9:59 am

Bull-Chit....nobody can climb through a roof and steal OVER $20,000 worth of soft drink in cases without A VEHICLE. It is physically impossible and I am not going to see common sense go extinct on these forums :?

Postby RASC » January 29th, 2014, 10:02 am

SMJ just looking more and more shady as the days go by.

From the comical tv/radio ads to now this...

Where does it end with this company?

Postby nemisis » January 29th, 2014, 10:27 am

Crackpot wrote:Bull-Chit....nobody can climb through a roof and steal OVER $20,000 worth of soft drink in cases without A VEHICLE. It is physically impossible and I am not going to see common sense go extinct on these forums :?
lol hoss you stay there and feel that impossible. I have heard first hand stories from guards that worked there and It happens to the point at a time there were goods left to be stolen

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 29th, 2014, 10:30 am

Truth be told, its been a while I have been hearing about thefts at SMJ from persons who work there. Its a regular occurrence. That being said, the kind of money that they make, coupled with rising losses from theft for legitimate business the question must be asked why something more wasn't done to stop these thefts. With everything else that's happening/coming to light now its food for thought at the very minimum.

My 2c.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 29th, 2014, 10:34 am

I don't know exactly why they chose to shoot up the place in like that but I can only assume it was because less than ten minutes before, we moved some of the bags of sugar that were left on the roof from the previous night's Robbery, off the roof. Idk of they were marking it to come back for it.

As for those of you who are suggesting boycotting smj products because of this, why don't you just check the seals on the drinks before you consume. We have salesmen and delivery trucks that sell and deliver the products to the supermarkets, wholesale stores and parlors and eateries. The establishments that do not get from a delivery truck will most likely buy them from a grocery or wholesale store.

Ccga was bought a few years ago by smj and they employ over 100 workers. Closing down the location was a very real consideration and almost happened recently but a quick alternative could not be found. A decision like that would also affect the lives off the 100+ families of workers.

I'm also in a wait and see mode. I'm not just saying this as an employee of smj, but we need to support our local businesses. We've passed five audits last year carried out by US food and drug, which means the US trusts us enough to continue supporting us, why can't trinis