3ne2nr fishermen

venomz

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby venomz » January 27th, 2014, 11:53 am

ryan99tt wrote:Venomz, thought was for weddin?

\

wedding? haha...u think i want headache or what?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 27th, 2014, 2:35 pm

Caught these yesterday...had real bait close to shore down mayaro...cavali pass close but didnt walk wit anchor lead to keep my baits out where they were...

Postby X_Factor » January 27th, 2014, 3:52 pm

anyone interested in some artificials?
mostly the RapX i bought last yr

they not getting salt enough, thought someone will put them to better use
pm if interested

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 27th, 2014, 4:45 pm

PM me the prices, sizes an colors...

Postby meccalli » January 27th, 2014, 7:04 pm

nice nurse shark, mayaro have rell plenty of those on the reefs.

reelman

Postby reelman » January 27th, 2014, 9:18 pm

Demon Perfect Circle Hook

39944-BN 10/0,9/0,8/0,7/0,6/0,5/0,4/0,3/0,2/0,1/0,1,2,3,4

Circle, point curved in, ringed,
black nickel.

New sizes 2012: 8/0, 9/0 & 10/0.

Since the launch of this hook just over a year ago it has become a favorite for a wide variety of anglers. From those chasing channel catfish in Oklahoma to those chasing Snook, Sailfish and Mahi in the southeastern USA, this hook just about does it all.

Now with the larger sizes being added it will become a go-to for those pitch-baiting sails and white marlin as well as for drifting large baits for Stripers in the Northeast. The possibilities are almost endless.

The 39944-BN Demon Perfect Circle hook is approved and endorsed by the Billfish Foundation as the hook's design makes for a very high jaw hooking percentage with the point angled in a 96 degrees. It's a great hook for those practicing C&R on a wide variety of species.
untitled.png
untitled.png (32.84 KiB) Viewed 3261 times

wraith

Postby wraith » January 28th, 2014, 4:46 pm

webcam of the SIBT billfish tournament in Grenada

http://cam1.sibt.modone.net/

https://www.facebook.com/BudgetMarineSIBT

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 29th, 2014, 12:24 am

Wat allyuh duz do with catfish wencaught

Postby meccalli » January 29th, 2014, 7:24 am

fishpie :), break the spines and off with the head and entrails.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 29th, 2014, 8:22 am

meccalli wrote:fishpie :), break the spines and off with the head and entrails.

fried catfish is really good too. but you have to skin and fillet it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 29th, 2014, 8:23 am

Once dey big enough...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2014, 10:02 am

anybody ever get stick with a catfish spine? :shock:

I had the experience recently, stick me just above my knee, bled like crazy. Would have been worse if I didn't have men around me who had a homemade remedy for the painful toxin.

Postby meccalli » January 29th, 2014, 10:26 am

Yeah, i never had that happen but seen alot of guys get sick and pain. When handling catfish, it have the depressing gillplates before the spines at the back end sides of the head, grab there and sink your fingers. Feels really firm and you have full control of the fish to break the spines. Most iffy time is when come in and thrashing, wait for them to settle(not long).

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 29th, 2014, 4:22 pm

Hyperion wrote:anybody ever get stick with a catfish spine? :shock:

I had the experience recently, stick me just above my knee, bled like crazy. Would have been worse if I didn't have men around me who had a homemade remedy for the painful toxin.

Was d remedy?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 29th, 2014, 4:52 pm

ryan99tt wrote:
Hyperion wrote:anybody ever get stick with a catfish spine? :shock:

Was d remedy?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 29th, 2014, 4:58 pm

meccalli wrote:Yeah, i never had that happen but seen alot of guys get sick and pain. When handling catfish, it have the depressing gillplates before the spines at the back end sides of the head, grab there and sink your fingers. Feels really firm and you have full control of the fish to break the spines. Most iffy time is when come in and thrashing, wait for them to settle(not long).

What I do is wait for them to stop thrashing around, then grip right close to the spines using my thumb and index to lock one spine and my middle finger to lock the other spine and the third is face away from the body. It has never failed as this keeps the spine up where u can see them and does not allow the fish to relax and then tense the spines again, this is when they dangerous. I have never been stuck thus far. Knock on wood.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 29th, 2014, 4:59 pm

Any of u guys ever cooked one of those brown eels. Hiw do u prep and cook.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2014, 6:01 pm

Boy the remedy was to squeeze out as much blood as possible, then douse it with rum.....then light a cigarette and keep dabbing it on the spot. It sound crazy but it worked, didn't have any of the debilitating pain associated with catfish spines, just some localized pain.

I got stuck in the palm of my hand with the spines from sapatey early last year, and that hurt like hell because I put ice, the pain travelled all the way up to my shoulder. I learned afterwards that hot water kills most toxins from sea creatures so that is why the cigarette worked.

I have a lil scar that feel like a corn though, a real hard lump, and it itched like crazy for about 2 weeks after. Trust me, I learn to hold catfish properly afterwards. Like Mecalli say, let them beat up themselves first before locking them down tight around them spines. And they taste good fried.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 29th, 2014, 6:38 pm

kevin5211 wrote:Any of u guys ever cooked one of those brown eels. Hiw do u prep and cook.

Skin it like you would a shark
wash, salt and blackpepper or some Tony's
deep fry

Postby meccalli » January 29th, 2014, 7:36 pm

i rell laugh the other day when we catch some sapate, father tell a fella who was by us fishing, don't handle the fish with your hand, stick it in the head and put in in he bucket. Man say nah, i accustomed. 2 mins after, guy clenching his hand and tryna hide it lol. Catfish spines serrated and full of bacteria on it, but yeah hot water kills alot of stinging bacteria.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 29th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Doh really hav priblems wit d catfish hook removal...usually just hold dem wit d fins between my fingers and remove hook unless dey swallow, need ah lil surgeory then...never get stuck wit sepate but ah couple times wit catfish wen i was younger...

i know of men eatin the green moray eels...they usually dry dem ah bit in the sun, skin dem, season wit salt an pepper an thrn roast or grill them...men say d brown one more fibrous....

Postby joker » January 30th, 2014, 5:34 am

Wtmc...eel :?

Btw big up ryan thanks for the blessings u gave to me.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 2nd, 2014, 6:24 pm

Made a tide in the yesterday. There was an oil sheen on the surface of the water outside of port-of-spain and also in channel between carrera and chaguaramas, and early in the morning the stink beetham smoke was very low over the gulf too. The fishing wasn't too hot, a couple of walliack and strawberry groupers in the first bocas, and a couple more walliack lower down in the gulf. Caught some cro-cro and catfish in a net we set. The breeze from the North was blowing hard through the first too, had some big swells out by the tooth.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 3rd, 2014, 8:43 am

Folks, where can I find fresh shrimp in the POS area this afternoon?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 3rd, 2014, 9:07 am

Some afternoons (mostly on Fridays I think) there is a guy just outside Long Circular Mall selling jumbo shrimp....but I'm guessing you dont want jumbo..

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 3rd, 2014, 1:04 pm

I never see shrimp selling in POS yet. Either munroe rd or felicity u might get that.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 3rd, 2014, 1:43 pm

Hmmm, have to make alternative plans then; I know of the LCM person but haven't seen him recently. Thanks folks....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 3rd, 2014, 10:05 pm

D gulf real hard these days...but we still hold ah nice tarpon bout 150...

Postby meccalli » February 3rd, 2014, 10:17 pm

lovely.

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2014, 5:57 am

I've bought from those guys before, it is hit and miss.

There are two vendors who are there occasionally,
one is the father(fat guy) and the other is the son who is a separate operation.

Once I got some nice looking fresh shrimp but when I reached home they had a funky smell. Took it back, he said nothing was wrong with his shrimp and that it was fresh.
But the water in cooler had the smell, he then admitted that the cooler had a crack in it and the water in the insulation was the cause of the funky smell but the shrimp were still fresh. Left the shrimp on the ground....

searchingone wrote:Some afternoons (mostly on Fridays I think) there is a guy just outside Long Circular Mall selling jumbo shrimp....but I'm guessing you dont want jumbo..