Get your Toll monies ready0-Lady young Rd Toll

pluggie

Re: Get your Toll monies ready

Postby pluggie » January 22nd, 2014, 1:44 am

Some people so dotesh they will rather spend $40.00 in petrol driving through back roads rather than pay a $10 toll :)

Tolls are actually a good thing, not only will it encourage people not to take certain roads unnecessarily but it they can use that money to fix those roads properly... I hope the idiots don't bring out a toll and charge ah friggin $1 only ... but then again Trinidadians gets everything for freee

if they decide to go with an actual toll booth rather than an e-tag for e-tolling then I can just imagine the epic stories sufferers gonna give these toll gate personnel :lol: :lol: :lol: 1) mam i ent got no morney, I ent get pay yet
2) bredren why i must pay , is riggghtt they ah goooin
3) mam i ent have no change and I ent want to break meh $100

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 22nd, 2014, 8:18 am

Jeez....what next.

Postby tr1ad » January 22nd, 2014, 8:33 am

hi sweet angel

Postby Dizzy28 » January 22nd, 2014, 9:12 am

I'll pay for an easier entry into PoS once it is not exorbitant. However in turning off the CRH to go towards the LYR one encounters a substantial wait by the Barataria roundabout till crossing the bus route and EMR. This difficult access to the LYR may negate the benefits of using it.

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » January 22nd, 2014, 4:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:wouldn't mind

they should look at charging a toll to come into pos as well.....

encourage car pooling as well as utilizing PTSC

^^This
Similar to what is done in London. Once you enter within the specified limits you pay a flat fee...automatically. Would be worthwhile with 24hr shuttles to specified pick up/drop off points outside of the zone which have proper traffic management.

Re: Get your Toll monies ready0-Lady young Rd Toll

Postby tr1ad » January 22nd, 2014, 4:10 pm

Exactly ....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 22nd, 2014, 4:13 pm

so what about the residents there.....will they have to pay also?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 22nd, 2014, 4:15 pm

If they implement this...soon you will see guntas from the beetham.....wanting to charge ppl a toll to use the beetham highway....

Postby redmanjp » January 22nd, 2014, 6:54 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:If they implement this...soon you will see guntas from the beetham.....wanting to charge ppl a toll to use the beetham highway....

dem already doin dat :mrgreen:

ALIS

Postby ALIS » January 25th, 2014, 3:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:developed countries do it to help fund ongoing infrastructural development.
why the hell not?

Before the institute a toll all over the place, we already pay a tax at the pump and still our roads are a mess...... or has that been conveniently forgotten??

Xplode

Postby Xplode » January 25th, 2014, 3:17 pm

we not paying for road tax already .

ALIS

Postby ALIS » January 25th, 2014, 4:40 pm

Xplode wrote:we not paying for road tax already .

correct! when you gas up, there is a "road tax" of i think 5% that was supposedly set aside for road maintenance...... well that gone to hell, since no one ever bothered to question where the funds are actually going.

I don't mind the toll system, but instead of instituting it on lady young road, what they should charge is institute an entry tax per vehicle, into the city if you not car pooling with three or more people. While within the city limits have the smaller run around three three wheelers working within the city for a nominal fee.

kerwin1968

Postby kerwin1968 » January 25th, 2014, 4:49 pm

You are quite right we already pay 5% at the pumps and yet is pot hole galore only paving done is around election time, this country full of to many sheep willing to be blindly led by a corrupt government and no matter what happens they will only bleet pnm did it to, but does make it right no it does not.......watch the sheep and them defend now

Postby skylinechild » January 25th, 2014, 10:20 pm

pluggie wrote:Some people so dotesh they will rather spend $40.00 in petrol driving through back roads rather than pay a $10 toll :)

Tolls are actually a good thing, not only will it encourage people not to take certain roads unnecessarily but it they can use that money to fix those roads properly... I hope the idiots don't bring out a toll and charge ah friggin $1 only ... but then again Trinidadians gets everything for freee

if they decide to go with an actual toll booth rather than an e-tag for e-tolling then I can just imagine the epic stories sufferers gonna give these toll gate personnel :lol: :lol: :lol: 1) mam i ent got no morney, I ent get pay yet

if money involved they'll be sitting ducks for the criminals to just drive up point a gun rob them and drive off.... electronic toll you buy a card - install it in the reader- the transmitter / receiver makes contact with the toll booth- and the gate opens when you drive up....when the card runs out you buy another card and simple side it into the reader or visit a station that can top it up... some japanese RORO have the system still installed and most trinis clueless as to its function.

ALIS

Postby ALIS » January 26th, 2014, 1:59 pm

skylinechild wrote:
pluggie wrote:Some people so dotesh they will rather spend $40.00 in petrol driving through back roads rather than pay a $10 toll :)

if money involved they'll be sitting ducks for the criminals to just drive up point a gun rob them and drive off.... electronic toll you buy a card - install it in the reader- the transmitter / receiver makes contact with the toll booth- and the gate opens when you drive up....when the card runs out you buy another card and simple side it into the reader or visit a station that can top it up... some japanese RORO have the system still installed and most trinis clueless as to its function.

^^ THIS

Postby toyolink » January 26th, 2014, 7:00 pm

ALIS wrote:
Xplode wrote:we not paying for road tax already .

correct! when you gas up, there is a "road tax" of i think 5% that was supposedly set aside for road maintenance...... well that gone to hell, since no one ever bothered to question where the funds are actually going.

I don't mind the toll system, but instead of instituting it on lady young road, what they should charge is institute an entry tax per vehicle, into the city if you not car pooling with three or more people. While within the city limits have the smaller run around three three wheelers working within the city for a nominal fee.

The road tax issue is extremely relevant and tax payers must take a stand.
With multi millionaires in this land driving diesel vehicles that are using fuel subsidized by the average tax payers this is only another insult to peoples capacity to think.
Remove the subsidies on diesel consumed by luxury vehicles and the amount of dollars saved would blow peoples minds.
...I feel ashamed for the so called wealthy buying all kinds of big named 'motor-car' belching diesel going down the road.
Another case of absolute foolishness ,if true.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 26th, 2014, 8:08 pm

Makes no sense to put a toll on the LYR, do they think the natives in coconut drive and caledonia or morvant will pay it? first thing they would say is "we livin here, allyuh want we to rob people in order for we to get money to pay toll?"

If they want to put a toll on something, toll the PBR, 24/7 hour access once you could afford it