My First Generation RX7 Project

coltspeed

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby coltspeed » January 15th, 2014, 7:14 pm

bess project here!!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » January 15th, 2014, 8:54 pm

I don't like the front bumper. The stock front bumper would look killer with the rear kit.

Postby 1UZFE » January 15th, 2014, 8:55 pm

I saw an ad here on tuner for a 13B.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 15th, 2014, 9:13 pm

Bez, this car's first owner was Sean Ready(ready racing rotary powered sunny), My cousin bought it from him back in the 80's, you should check Sean because he built the car and would be able to answer all the questions you would have.
hope that helps

787B

Postby 787B » January 15th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Nice find.

Subscribed

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 15th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Thanks nismo

I have the certified copy here and saw Sean's name on it and had every intention of contacting him soon.

Unfortunately the stock front bumper can't work. As the fenders are made for this wider bumper. I may customize it... Allot

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 15th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Under the hood

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389837469.864108.jpg

Up all night cleaning. The difference is amazing!!! Pics and vid tomorrow

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389837514.664772.jpg

Postby Monk BANzai » January 16th, 2014, 3:34 am

Stickied...becuz u're white.......lol.....nah becuz great potential here....

moti

Postby moti » January 16th, 2014, 8:31 am

My opinion, I don't appreciate the wide body.

But that's just me.
I will rather a stock body over one with flares etc.

Some say I'm confused, others say I'm stupid.

That's what I would like to achieve if I ever own one of these.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 16th, 2014, 8:37 am

I agree Moti, but I think they were attached so well in the rear (front are bolt on Fibreglass fenders) I am going to give them a chance

I saw a thread on Rx7Club where a guy took them off very easily and was able to salvage the entire kit. My only concern is that the rear wheel arch was cut and rolled out to fit the rear widebody and I would either need new arches or use bolt on ZG flares (which was the original idea)

The kit is growing on me and I have a few ideas for the front bumper. Only thing is with that kit the car looks like it should have 500hp, and I'm only aiming for about 250hp lol

(oh and Banzai, I over ruled your sticky.. white power :lol: )

moti

Postby moti » January 16th, 2014, 8:43 am

I understand, honestly I hate interfering with the rear fenders/arches.
Did it on my last project and I'm not touching the fenders on my current project.

And yes I totally agree, if they are on that good then leave them be.
I must say though, a wide ass does look good in anything eh (something to consider).

Postby Monk BANzai » January 16th, 2014, 12:24 pm

lol...im d consumate mook..... i feeling Moti's views tho.... there was another one (silver) that was restored by a guy down west....had a "wankel" shaped exhaust....really nice an clean build..and looked fast as fvuk...

it comes up arima ever so often....

you know of it?

moti

Postby moti » January 16th, 2014, 12:37 pm

If is me you asking (which I doubt) YES!!! That car is sweet.
Guy did everything right with that car.

fcbarcelona

Postby fcbarcelona » January 16th, 2014, 1:16 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » January 16th, 2014, 2:09 pm

moti wrote:If is me you asking (which I doubt) YES!!! That car is sweet.
Guy did everything right with that car.

asking both you and Whyteboi...... i was told it changed hands recently?

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 2:58 pm

I hadda agree with moti on the body kit
the 1st gen was such a clean design. That kit just makes it look all tarted up

...and is me, so yu know I jus hadda show yuh Mazda's 'inspiration'
:-p

Postby 1UZFE » January 16th, 2014, 3:09 pm

Bezman hymc u are livin up one of my dreams. I wud keep it so so so orginal.
Dont have d time for a project like this..
If u keepin it original make sure n get d thin gold muffler

Postby cinco » January 16th, 2014, 3:21 pm

fcbarcelona wrote:Image

Seen this car needs a tune and some suspension work but looks good.
Dont listen to moti you will destroy your car

Postby Ted_v2 » January 16th, 2014, 6:10 pm

moti wrote:I understand, honestly I hate interfering with the rear fenders/arches.
Did it on my last project and I'm not touching the fenders on my current project.

ouuuu

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 16th, 2014, 6:31 pm

Subscribed !

handsomeRob2837

Postby handsomeRob2837 » January 16th, 2014, 7:05 pm

Subbed! What ever happened to cars with pop up lights? They were soo cool:(

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 9:43 pm

two things: aerodynamics and weight
I miss them too tho

Postby cinco » January 16th, 2014, 9:54 pm

MG Man wrote:two things: aerodynamics and weight
I miss them too tho

Wrong
Pedestrian safety laws

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 16th, 2014, 10:22 pm

Banzai

That was "Furry" own (family owns furness rentals) he traded it for a gc8 imprezza sti. Wanted 100k for it.

It has a 500whp series 6 engine in it. Owned by a friends brother now. (Camachos) Best first gen locally. Had a chance to buy it when it was 12a NA Bridgeport but he changed his mind (sold my Datsun 1200 to buy it if you remember)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 16th, 2014, 10:26 pm

fcbarcelona wrote:Image

This!!!! Love the color!!

Postby Razkal » January 17th, 2014, 9:57 am

subbed!! looking forward to your aesthetic approach. i have zg flares and still undecided if to put them on or not. glad you finally found "the one" lol

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2014, 11:15 am

Bezman wrote:Banzai

That was "Furry" own (family owns furness rentals) he traded it for a gc8 imprezza sti. Wanted 100k for it.

It has a 500whp series 6 engine in it. Owned by a friends brother now. (Camachos) Best first gen locally. Had a chance to buy it when it was 12a NA Bridgeport but he changed his mind (sold my Datsun 1200 to buy it if you remember)

impressive ownership lineage.... impressive power numbers as well!!...

droppa

Postby droppa » January 17th, 2014, 1:25 pm

great find, congrats....knew ur next project would be RX7 related, and yuh does say yuh will get lost after light house...............yeah right, yuh well know hole........

btw, i say take off the kit, nice clean body in the silver with a quik series 5......easy powah!!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 17th, 2014, 1:30 pm

Some interior shots after cleaning a little.. waiting for vid to upload. still need to clean and install the roof liner, trunk liner, clean front and rear seats and install those. This is not the final install of everything, but as I got all the interior pieces in boxes and buckets, wanted to put her back together to see what I was missing and what I need to get.. List isnt as long as I thought after all.

(also did a thread clean up so fellas dont beat up if your post was deleted, i'm keeping this topic on point)
IMG_2277.jpg
IMG_2282.jpg

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 17th, 2014, 2:09 pm