Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby ru$$ell » December 26th, 2013, 1:06 pm

no one else on the BF4?

Postby ismithx » December 26th, 2013, 1:23 pm

psssh.... I honestly dunno if to go for it... I already have BF3, and I'm kinda getting the impression that BF is the new COD (i witnessed a kid in all chat use the entire "bury my d**k in some ass so hard that whoever pull it out...." threat.) so... for now... no

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 26th, 2013, 3:16 pm

ismithx wrote:psssh.... I honestly dunno if to go for it... I already have BF3, and I'm kinda getting the impression that BF is the new COD (i witnessed a kid in all chat use the entire "bury my d**k in some ass so hard that whoever pull it out...." threat.) so... for now... no

you are so wrong you have no idea what you are saying lol

however, you do have grounds to say that, that is your person opinion on it. and based on your personal opinion you dont want to buy it.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 26th, 2013, 4:16 pm

BF4 sweat does be bessss.....until you end up in a server full of Brazilians.... :(

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 26th, 2013, 5:16 pm

Hey guys, I'm looking to buy a new graphic card. Price range is around $150-$200 USD and it's solely for gaming. My options at hand are the GTX 660 Superclocked and Radeon HD 7870 OC. What you all think? Should I spend the extra and get the GTX 760 @ $250? Thanks.

Postby meccalli » December 26th, 2013, 5:53 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:BF4 sweat does be bessss.....until you end up in a server full of Brazilians.... :(

hue

Anybody could recommend a nice system for 3k(components, locally available), game on my laptop but my desktop's pushing 8 years running constantly, 1 cleaning lol. Was tryna get supertech's price list but it's been down for a few days. Summn to run hl2, tf2 on medium, fps > fx in my case.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 26th, 2013, 6:32 pm

@meccalli, 3k go be real cutting it close to gaming components wise,best you save your money and wait a while.

@Cross Blood,i'm on a gigabyte 760gtx and currently can run bf4 on ultra,no lag whatsoever,i average a 64 fps on 1080p. Might wanna stick it out and go with that one instead.

ismithx wrote:psssh.... I honestly dunno if to go for it... I already have BF3, and I'm kinda getting the impression that BF is the new COD (i witnessed a kid in all chat use the entire "bury my d**k in some ass so hard that whoever pull it out...." threat.) so... for now... no

^ Playing any online game,you would come across idiots who know alot more about your mother than you do,its a given :lol: :lol:

Thug life ! :|

Postby ismithx » December 26th, 2013, 6:47 pm

Chiney wrote:

you are so wrong you have no idea what you are saying lol

however, you do have grounds to say that, that is your person opinion on it. and based on your personal opinion you dont want to buy it.

may reconsider it though

EHH ALLYUH

yuh hear left 4 dead 2 free on steam for the weekend???? good luck in actually loading the website though

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 26th, 2013, 7:29 pm

ismithx wrote:
EHH ALLYUH

yuh hear left 4 dead 2 free on steam for the weekend???? good luck in actually loading the website though

Was free up till about 2-3pm today.

Saw it yesterday via newsfeed on FB, tried to load page but wasn't getting tru.

Woke up this morning at 1.30am and tried again and i got it. :D

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 26th, 2013, 7:45 pm

L4D2 was suckishly short though

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 26th, 2013, 8:10 pm

ru$$ell wrote:@meccalli, 3k go be real cutting it close to gaming components wise,best you save your money and wait a while.

@Cross Blood,i'm on a gigabyte 760gtx and currently can run bf4 on ultra,no lag whatsoever,i average a 64 fps on 1080p. Might wanna stick it out and go with that one instead.

^ Playing any online game,you would come across idiots who know alot more about your mother than you do,its a given :lol: :lol:

Thug life ! :|

Ok thanks.

Postby meccalli » December 26th, 2013, 11:18 pm

Still have some older stuff though. will older video cards run well on newer boards? I have 2 xfx 8600 gt's xxx ,factory overclocked packed down, these were nvidia.

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » December 27th, 2013, 6:39 am

Nice discussion.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 27th, 2013, 8:13 pm

@ meccalli
Those are some pretty old cards by graphics cards standards :(
Does that old system have a Pentium 4??

Good news is those games you mentioned don't require a lot of resources and i believe that the old 8600 card can run it in a new platform (I'm hoping that the card is PCIexpress)

Based on the last set of prices I can remember
Athlon II X2 250 + MBD + 4gb Ram (Kingston not Markvision): $1000
PSU: $500 (i'm hoping you get a good PSU and not one of those 600W for only $150 piece of crap)
HDD: $550
Case: $400
DVD writer: $135
8600gt: $0 (You said you already have it :))
TOTAL = $2585

If they get those intel combos for around the same $1000-1200 price i would take that instead...but there is your ballpark figure.
Newer games would require better components though and i must also mention that i am not sure if HL2 will run on windows 7
I made an assumption that you already have a monitor; if not shift some of the money around and it will still work for you.

Regards

eitech

Postby eitech » December 27th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Looking for a cpu cooling fan for my acer aspire 3000 laptop. I already located it online but jus checkin locally first.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1388197060.249676.jpg

iknowcorey

Postby iknowcorey » December 27th, 2013, 11:49 pm

what allyuh tink about this? 40 fans on a h100
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUbpb23yTK8

Postby meccalli » December 28th, 2013, 8:49 am

Thanks kamikaze, old system that used those in sli was an amd 5200+ and asus m2n sli deluxe till it died from a bad oc lol. cards are pcie x16. Current thing is scrapped up from that with one of those ecs 7050 micro boards. Yeah, i was looking at the thermaltakes psu for 550. Thanks again, now to await supertech's price list..

niso

Postby niso » December 28th, 2013, 11:41 am

ULTIMATE CITI

638 4336
681 9987

see they have good prices on video cards etc.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 28th, 2013, 3:00 pm

no probs meccalli. That was a beast of a system at the time you first got it, 8 years ago

i had an 8800gts 320mb that bit the dust a little while back
I have found that todays "low" end computer components are decent enough for a lot of everyday tasks and the speed will surprise many.
I don't game like i used to so my current system is basic

CPU: Intel Pentium G2020
Mbd: Gigabyte B75M-D3V
RAM: 8gb Corsair vengeance
GPU: Radeon HD5670
Storage: 64GB SSD + 1TB HDD
PSU: Corsair Builder CX430
Case: CM 690 II

I always advise people to spend money on the Case and PSU and if they can stretch their budget get an SSD (Its that fast). A Good Case can transcend a couple computer builds. A good PSU can do the same unless it saved your components from a surge or other electrical mishap.
BTW before anyone says anything about my SSD I would like to say it was bought in 2010 (It was a lot more expensive then).

Keep me posted on how it goes
looking out for supertech pricelist as well

Postby meccalli » December 28th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Will do.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 1st, 2014, 11:18 am

supertech pricelist is up guize

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 1st, 2014, 1:17 pm

Thanks for the info hustla_ambition101

@meccalli
I must say that i personally prefer intel at present, but for a full config at your budget

MBD (Insert cheap Asrock here) + Processor (athlon II X2 270) + RAM (4GB): $1005
Toshiba 500Gb Hard Drive: $395
AOC 20": $665
Case: $175
TT 500W PSU: $495
Optical Drive: $125
Mouse: $45
Keyboard: $45
Case fan 120mm: $45

TOTAL= $2995

Graphics card you will be re-using (only one goes into this board though :()

Prices might vary a bit...you could probably haggle with the salespeople :)
and if you have some of those items already feel free to put the money into other parts...or beers

Now Circuitzone in POS has some reliable low end Intel chipset motherboards, when i last checked (forgot to ask for the prices though)
Supertech also has the more powerful Intel G2020 processor at $475.

Just some info if you were planning to mix and match it up from different Resellers...and I ADVISE checking around from time to time as some resellers have the occasional Gem at a price you wouldn't believe.

Enjoy.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » January 12th, 2014, 9:43 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=550631
If anyone interested, negotiable

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » January 17th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Gtx 680 used for sale guys. $1800... $1600 if taking it by this week coming. 768-5646

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 17th, 2014, 5:38 pm

^^ nah hoss..low balling yuhself!

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » January 17th, 2014, 5:39 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ nah hoss..low balling yuhself!

Don't for get how much i paid for it:P

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 17th, 2014, 7:12 pm

um

not really eh...

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 18th, 2014, 8:05 am

GTX 560 Ti 1GB DDR5.... $1,000... PM for details...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 18th, 2014, 9:22 am

guys, I'm adding more fans, whats better, fan controller or fan to molex adapters?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 18th, 2014, 10:08 am

Fan controller, I'm using the bitfenix recon highly recommended.