The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Sky » December 16th, 2013, 1:21 pm

desifemlove wrote:world going wireless? how? Wired Layer 1 will still be around for some time yet.

wireless N is faster than standard Ethernet. Why on earth would you want ethernet on a tablet?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2013, 1:40 pm

Sky wrote:
desifemlove wrote:world going wireless? how? Wired Layer 1 will still be around for some time yet.

wireless N is faster than standard Ethernet. Why on earth would you want ethernet on a tablet?
the Apple Airport Extreme wifi router is 802.11ac which can transfer up to 1.3GB/s. Faster than a Gigabit ethernet network. The Macbook Air and Pro already have 802.11ac and the next iPad and iPhone will more than likely also support this. The iPad and iPhone currently supports 802.11n

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 16th, 2013, 2:07 pm

yea, the airport extreme works really good with those newer devices which support ac...

Postby pioneer » December 16th, 2013, 2:11 pm

He might want ah phone that wired to he car jus now

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 16th, 2013, 2:14 pm

Lol

Postby Sky » December 16th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Sky wrote:

the Apple Airport Extreme wifi router is 802.11ac which can transfer up to 1.3GB/s. Faster than a Gigabit ethernet network. The Macbook Air and Pro already have 802.11ac and the next iPad and iPhone will more than likely also support this. The iPad and iPhone currently supports 802.11n

I really wasn't expecting him to play the Gb card, so I stuck with standard 100.
Still ,it's beat.

Postby desifemlove » December 16th, 2013, 2:24 pm

er.. dude, there ent no wireless Layer of 10Gb Ethernet yet? and whilst Cat 6a cabling ent that common yet, it will become so soon.

thing is wired Layer 1 will be around for some time, if it goes away it will take long to get fully deprecated. iz like in a way IPv4, we're still going to be using that in some sense for a while yet.

Postby pete » December 16th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Still, what do you want wired network access for?

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 16th, 2013, 2:32 pm

I thought the object of a tablet was to be more portable

Skuld

Postby Skuld » December 16th, 2013, 4:12 pm

^ It is, and there always will be a push for lighter, more portable and powerful devices. Some people, especially in small 3rd world nations, just like to think backwards.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 16th, 2013, 4:51 pm

Is there any tablet that has those ports?

Postby pioneer » December 16th, 2013, 7:16 pm

Jus now he go want tablet with floppy drive port

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 16th, 2013, 9:20 pm

@ Wireless keyboard users

Is the battery life on the units as bad as some reviews make them out to be? In terms of how often they need to be replaced?

hot blue

Postby hot blue » December 17th, 2013, 7:56 am

got a new 5S for sale if anyone interested
$5200

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=546701

Postby desifemlove » December 17th, 2013, 8:01 am

er.. a tablet with an Ethernet peripheral could work since wired LAN ent going away soon. can you it is or will?

Wifi ent as stable, yet, as Ethernet. If Ethernet or other wired LAN gets deprecated, probably won't be for decades yet. I'd actually like a tablet that i could connect if i choose to a Cat 6 and network switch. Laptops are meant to be portable, yet they have Ethernet NICs, ent? as long as Ethernet and other wired Layer 1 is around, IMO it making sense. it's an additional option to increase its usage.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 17th, 2013, 8:07 am

Parvin wrote:@ Wireless keyboard users

Is the battery life on the units as bad as some reviews make them out to be? In terms of how often they need to be replaced?

Not really mine going on 4 months now, heavy usage

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 17th, 2013, 8:10 am

desifemlove wrote:er.. a tablet with an Ethernet peripheral could work since wired LAN ent going away soon. can you it is or will?

Wifi ent as stable, yet, as Ethernet. If Ethernet or other wired LAN gets deprecated, probably won't be for decades yet. I'd actually like a tablet that i could connect if i choose to a Cat 6 and network switch. Laptops are meant to be portable, yet they have Ethernet NICs, ent? as long as Ethernet and other wired Layer 1 is around, IMO it making sense. it's an additional option to increase its usage.

I bought the older MacBook Pro thinking "hey I need that" only to realize my wireless was just as stable as my LAN. Btw are you making these comments based on a LAN network vs a crappy wireless router??

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » December 17th, 2013, 8:18 am

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 17th, 2013, 8:23 am

Ah man now get he A+ sophisticate

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 17th, 2013, 8:28 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 17th, 2013, 10:10 am

desifemlove wrote:er.. a tablet with an Ethernet peripheral could work since wired LAN ent going away soon. can you it is or will?

big clunky laptops meant to sit on a desk have ethernet ports. Ultra portable laptops like the MacBook Air do not have ethernet ports. Instead they have robust wifi capabilites.

Apple Time Capsule is a also a 802.11ac router with a hard drive that can automatically backup your entire laptop hard drive on the fly without your intervention. That is a high bandwidth, data intensive process that happens smoothly over WiFi.

iCloud backup for your device happens for iPad, iPhone, iMac, iPod etc over wifi or data. Even flash drives are using WiFi now http://www.sandisk.com/products/wireless/flash-drive/

Gone are the days of having to plug devices in other than for power.
desifemlove wrote: it's an additional option to increase its usage.
how does ethernet on an iPad increase its usage?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 17th, 2013, 11:01 am

desifemlove wrote:er.. dude, there ent no wireless Layer of 10Gb Ethernet yet?

I'd love to know what you'll be doing on an iPad that demands this type of Bandwidth.
The 4G I get from bmobile is more than enough for my use on the iPhone.

I don't know if Duane remembers way back in 2006 when the iPhone first came out I was one of the first "bashers" because the phone didn't come with a stylus. Would you really use an iPad with a cord running back to your router/modem?

Postby S_2NR » December 17th, 2013, 11:11 am

he have to be trolling :lol:
i refuse to believe someone is that backward

Postby pioneer » December 17th, 2013, 11:53 am

Here I thought everyone had electricity at least 10 years now

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 18th, 2013, 9:25 am

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 18th, 2013, 10:00 am

Looking for a gold 5s..

eitech

Postby eitech » December 19th, 2013, 7:46 am

I usually buy d iTunes card online and redeem the code with no probes. However, i tried to give my cuz a code and it says he had to be in d US app store. Does it really matter?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 19th, 2013, 9:32 am

eitech wrote:I usually buy d iTunes card online and redeem the code with no probes. However, i tried to give my cuz a code and it says he had to be in d US app store. Does it really matter?

Yea, as far as I know, they can only be redeemed in the US store

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2013, 12:31 pm

bbm app seems to not be working

not surprised

shandyman

Postby shandyman » December 19th, 2013, 12:46 pm

pioneer wrote:bbm app seems to not be working