Ailing couple living in car

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 28th, 2013, 10:38 am

Really sad how these people are in such a dire situation and they can't get an HDC house but "put down" sextuplets, get a little media attention, and you get a house.

Published:
Thursday, November 28, 2013
Yvonne Webb

Evans and Vitra Rajpaul sit in the car they call home on Chancery Lane, San Fernando, on Wednesday outside the T&T Guardian offices. PHOTO:TONY HOWELL
Cast aside by their relatives, who consider them a burden, Evans and Vitra Rajpaul have now made their old run-down Nissan Sunny their home. One month ago, Evans, 53, and his wife of 24 years, Vitra, 61, packed their meagre belongings into the car, after their one-room galvanized home, on the edge of the M2 Ring Road in Picton, collapsed. Now, all Evans wants is a place to call home for Christmas and a bed for his wife, a cancer patient, to lie on comfortably.

“We have no place to go. We spend all day in this car, looking at each other, quarrelling with each other,” Rajpaul told the T&T Guardian “The doctors have given up on my wife. I don’t know how long again she has but I am longing for a bed for her to stretch her legs and get a good night’s rest. I cry when I hear her moaning with pain.”

He explained that he and his wife were evicted from her family’s Tunapuna home seven years ago. He said his relatives at Picton, Diamond Village, San Fernando, also turned them away after his wife was diagnosed with cancer.

Two injuries, one from a fall while working on a construction site and another from a car accident, have left Evans incapacitated. He walks with crutches and is awaiting knee replacement surgery at San Fernando General Hospital next year. He said: “I cannot work. My wife and I both receive disability grant but we are willing to pay a small rent.” They have no children. With tears in his eyes as he sat next to his wife, Evans said it was humiliating for them to be begging but it is his last resort.

“I want a better life. My wife and I park up the vehicle at Palmiste Park and spend the entire day there. When it gets dark, I fill up gallons of water for us to take a bath. “Then I beg for some hot water to make some tea for my wife and look for a secure place to park where we settle for the night,” he added. He said he had walked up and down on his injured leg, going from one shelter to another seeking refuge to no avail.

He said he has responded to advertisements for homes for rent, but the rent was more than they could pay from their disability grant. He also visited the office of his MP, Dr Roodal Moonilal, who is also the Housing Minister, seeking shelter. Contacted on Tuesday, Moonilal said he had directed the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) to call the Rajpauls. “I have directed HDC to call and render assistance in conformity with our emergency shelter policy,” he said.

Vitra Rajpaul confirmed: “Someone from the HDC called my husband and asked where we were staying. The person promised to call us back.” In a telephone interview yesterday, Evans said there was no further contact from the HDC. He said he and his wife were parked up in their vehicle, which is not very wholesome, outside Moonilal’s office, hoping someone would bring them good news.

“Rain pouring down here (Debe). We are getting wet inside this vehicle, please talk to the minister (Moonilal) to get some help for us,” he pleaded.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-11- ... living-car

JoKeR1980

Re: Ailing couple living in car

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 28th, 2013, 10:49 am

I mean...we always know it have many different sides to stories eh

but still...

gorm :(

Postby turbosingh » November 28th, 2013, 10:51 am

Hmn life really sucks.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 28th, 2013, 10:58 am

sad indeed...But cannot be compared to the sextuplets... do you think everyone who has a HDC house really deserves one ?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 28th, 2013, 11:10 am

Most Hdc houses empty ...so what's the keep back in filling them. . A grease hand?

Postby pete » November 28th, 2013, 11:16 am

Poorly made / unsafe?

Not election year yet?

I dunno.

Postby DFC » November 28th, 2013, 11:19 am

wow really sad. i will look for them and give assistance.

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2013, 11:27 am

Ppl need tobe carefull, this is only their side of the story.
Evicted for What?
24 years and this is the state they reach plus they have a car. With 24 years you should know to get your life in order.
Why did their family kick them out.

Story not adding up, hope they are not freeloaders and taking advantage of suckers.
More infor need here

Postby Les Bain » November 28th, 2013, 11:50 am

Given their situation they better off in a RORO Serena than a HDC unit.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 28th, 2013, 12:20 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Most Hdc houses empty ...so what's the keep back in filling them. . A grease hand?

1) Improperly designed
2) Improperly built
3) Developments did not required statutory and regulatory agencies' approvals

That's the Home Destruction Corporation's efficiency for you.

Postby TRAE » November 28th, 2013, 2:39 pm

smh this is sad

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 28th, 2013, 2:46 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Most Hdc houses empty ...so what's the keep back in filling them. . A grease hand?

Yuh see it reach papers and Moonilal name call, expect big ribbon cutting soon.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 28th, 2013, 3:02 pm

dam seems like life just keeps giving these poor folks a bad hand
one has cancer the other got pwnt at the workplace then an accident and lastly evicted
on one good note at least they have no kids to worry about

jessekhan

Postby jessekhan » November 28th, 2013, 3:56 pm

really sad:(

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » November 28th, 2013, 4:15 pm

even if they live a bad life/crime/whatever, they old and they gonna die just now. country could at least let them stay somewhere until they pass away.

Postby Damien » November 28th, 2013, 5:07 pm

Hope they get some sort of assistance from the government

Postby shogun » November 28th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Hopefully assistance is give to this couple soon.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 28th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Hope uncs could have a merry Christmas this year.

Postby black start » November 28th, 2013, 9:05 pm

that's a really sad case man....I hope that they get a place they could call home.....

Postby sharkman121 » November 28th, 2013, 9:15 pm

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 28th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Owners of GML could sponsor them a house

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » November 28th, 2013, 9:40 pm

Is how they family just put them out though, something fishy.

Postby javishm » November 29th, 2013, 10:43 am

Les Bain wrote:Given their situation they better off in a RORO Serena than a HDC unit.

urabus

Postby urabus » November 29th, 2013, 11:09 am

2 sides to these stories

the gov't cant just be giving away things for free to unfortunate ppl, especially if they contributed to the mess in their life at present, when others sacrificed and worked hard(im not saying they didnt sacrifice, but we dont know their circumstances)

but its gonna be christmas soon, and it wud be nice if things cud be put in place to really assist these (senior) citizens.

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2013, 5:42 pm

The car leaks.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 29th, 2013, 7:04 pm

will play a lotto....