wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

NorStar2K

Re: wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

Postby NorStar2K » December 3rd, 2012, 10:42 am

^^^Fair enough I suppose.

htsob

Postby htsob » December 5th, 2012, 7:13 pm

gorsh...so studying insurance...clean fuhgeh bout TRANSFER TAX...pressure

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 5th, 2012, 9:09 pm

htsob wrote:gorsh...so studying insurance...clean fuhgeh bout TRANSFER TAX...pressure

Transfer tax? Are you buying it used?

htsob

Postby htsob » December 5th, 2012, 10:00 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
htsob wrote:gorsh...so studying insurance...clean fuhgeh bout TRANSFER TAX...pressure

sorry...wz under the impression that even new cars were subject to transfer tax 6 grand or so
..my baad if it isn't so....so bz running back and forth with bank haven't had a chance to ask sales rep bout this...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 5th, 2012, 10:50 pm

htsob wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

sorry...wz under the impression that even new cars were subject to transfer tax 6 grand or so
..my baad if it isn't so....so bz running back and forth with bank haven't had a chance to ask sales rep bout this...

No my friend, for a new car there isn't a transfer tax. That only applies when changing (transfering) ownership.

Postby MG Man » December 6th, 2012, 8:29 am

so............um..............yesterday I saw a corolla and a skoda after the corolla rear-ended the skoda...........front corner of the corolla looked demolished.............skoda seemed like a piece of chrome from the bumper fell off............

htsob

Postby htsob » December 6th, 2012, 8:45 am

NorStar2K wrote:
htsob wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

No my friend, for a new car there isn't a transfer tax. That only applies when changing (transfering) ownership.

cool...see what happens when one is accustomed to foreign abused... :oops:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 6th, 2012, 11:08 am

MG Man wrote:so............um..............yesterday I saw a corolla and a skoda after the corolla rear-ended the skoda...........front corner of the corolla looked demolished.............skoda seemed like a piece of chrome from the bumper fell off............

Euro-style..........FTW

htsob

Postby htsob » December 7th, 2012, 12:42 pm

any cruze owner know what the service schedule is like at lsm.....rep told me
first few are oil change and lube.....then plugs and timing belt?
thought timing wz spose tuh change after 100k kms....is the service good

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 7th, 2012, 1:05 pm

htsob wrote:any cruze owner know what the service schedule is like at lsm.....rep told me

think he/she meant acc and alternator belt not timming

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 7th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
htsob wrote:any cruze owner know what the service schedule is like at lsm.....rep told me

Correct.

htsob, call Mr. Carlos Cadiz (3125469) @ Chevy LSM and ask ALL your questions, even arrange a test drive. He'll be very happy to help you.

htsob

Postby htsob » December 7th, 2012, 3:11 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
Ignorant Ignis wrote:

Correct.

htsob, call Mr. Carlos Cadiz (3125469) @ Chevy LSM and ask ALL your questions, even arrange a test drive. He'll be very happy to help you.

Carlos is my rep....and he's been great
just wanted to get tuners' perspective...different views
evrytings already arranged...hopefully nx week registration

htsob

Postby htsob » December 30th, 2012, 4:34 pm

this ting takin long bwoy.....fuss is customs now is licencing
ah know is xmas and evrybody want tuh drink...buh i want tuh cruise...lol
ah go geh dis ting fuh carnival...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 4th, 2013, 8:06 am

htsob, did you get your car yet?
Last edited by acesinghit on March 10th, 2014, 12:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

htsob

Postby htsob » January 4th, 2013, 7:51 pm

ok just got my spanking brand new 2013 Cruze today.....
i must say she is a beauty.....will keep you guyz posted
on performance.....
1st impressions though...as im fresh from a drive (and transferring cds
and bluetooth from Lancer...sobss)
car is very manly and strong in looks
very very solid....plenty room i am 6 ft)
front fascia and dash is pleasing to the eye)
stock 17" rims...very handsome indeed

suspension tight and stiff...if u accustomed to japanese
soft...u have to get used to it)
enough features to keep u entertained and room for many upgrades

ok so..the nitty gritty
INITIALLY....1.6LS....slow on acceleration...no power
steering not as reponsive...double pump on X and tiptronic
does seem to provide some responsiveness
engine seems a bit noisy and acceleration was a bit jerky
and not smooth
rpms were getting too high before gear change in auto

ok so thats initial review after bout 2hrs drive and Lady Young
rep says car is learning my driving style so drive hard...we will see

advice if you go this way...spend the extra 11 grand and take the 1.8
cuz these ponies suck big time..

will keep you guyz posted on fuel consumption ...again this is initial
so don't judge too harshly

thanks again to all the tuners(Norstar) for the great advice
will post some pics soon....feel free to ask any questions or pm me

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 4th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Congrats on your new Cruze :)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 4th, 2013, 9:38 pm

htsob, congrats on the purchase. Did u get PCX or PCY?

Postby Rooki3 » January 5th, 2013, 3:16 pm

drive at alternate speeds

htsob

Postby htsob » January 5th, 2013, 10:30 pm

htsob wrote:ok just got my spanking brand new 2013 Cruze today.....
i must say she is a beauty.....will keep you guyz posted
on performance.....
1st impressions though...as im fresh from a drive (and transferring cds
and bluetooth from Lancer...sobss)
car is very manly and strong in looks
very very solid....plenty room i am 6 ft)
front fascia and dash is pleasing to the eye)
stock 17" rims...very handsome indeed

suspension tight and stiff...if u accustomed to japanese
soft...u have to get used to it)
enough features to keep u entertained and room for many upgrades

ok so..the nitty gritty
INITIALLY....1.6LS....slow on acceleration...no power
steering not as reponsive...double pump on X and tiptronic
does seem to provide some responsiveness
engine seems a bit noisy and acceleration was a bit jerky
and not smooth
rpms were getting too high before gear change in auto

ok so thats initial review after bout 2hrs drive and Lady Young
rep says car is learning my driving style so drive hard...we will see

advice if you go this way...spend the extra 11 grand and take the 1.8
cuz these ponies suck big time..

will keep you guyz posted on fuel consumption ...again this is initial
so don't judge too harshly

thanks again to all the tuners(Norstar) for the great advice
will post some pics soon....feel free to ask any questions or pm me

ok...so further update after some more miles
i am getting used to just how to drive the car
accel seems to have evened out a bit....soft x compared to ck2...so jerkiness
may be my fault
gears in auto seem to be shifting between 18 and 28rpm...and not at all
consistent....it is within range however the engine still seems to be
revving too much and struggling a bit....again i do believe the computer
is learning my driving style and this will sort itself out...lancer did the same thing
upon first drive to maracas then on highway..
power i still believe is below par...even for a 1.6...lancer is 1.5 and is fast
the cockpit design for the front seats may seem cosy for some but can feel
a bit claustrophobic on the drivers side....seats not overly comfortable
many features omitted in this model but i do believe may be offered in the
LT version....DIC is limited...still looking for the AUTO AC...i love this feature
in my lancer...i will miss it
suspension remains tight and you do feel the bumps in the road but its not uncomfortable
i mentioned that the steering could be a bit more responsive...well it does get
there at higher speeds...that being said...the car looks like a beast on the road
not sure if there are many 2013 models out there so it gets lotsa stares and respect
it is a very handsome car indeed...when i get the bodykit..well anybody say carshow?lol
ok thats all for now....highway..sando tomorrow :D
Last edited by htsob on January 5th, 2013, 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

htsob

Postby htsob » January 5th, 2013, 10:34 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Congrats on your new Cruze :)

thanks a lot....hope it was worth the effort :)

htsob

Postby htsob » January 5th, 2013, 10:36 pm

Rooki3 wrote:drive at alternate speeds

yeah...am trying that
lancer gearshits used to change when i drive north coast then back
on highway...sando hill..then back on flat...we'll see...thanks :)

htsob

Postby htsob » January 5th, 2013, 10:37 pm

acesinghit wrote:htsob, congrats on the purchase. Did u get PCX or PCY?

thanks...not sure if Y is out yet :)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 6th, 2013, 8:46 pm

htsob wrote:
acesinghit wrote:htsob, congrats on the purchase. Did u get PCX or PCY?

thanks...not sure if Y is out yet :)

I guess that means he got 'X' ace! :lol:

Ruff

Postby Ruff » July 9th, 2013, 4:47 pm

Anybody else wants to share their experience with the Cruze 1.6? What about the Sonic?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 10th, 2013, 7:31 am

pros:
good price for the features you get
strong car
spacious interior and trunk
good looking
euro horn (lol)
uses super gas
very fuel efficient
backed by Lifestyle Motors (one of the better dealerships out there)
100,000kms / 5 year warranty is a huge plus
tons of support/accessories/parts available online since the Cruze is sold in North America (USA and Canada) and is a world car sold in Europe, Asia, Central and South America.
never heard of a stolen Chevy yet
euro ncap 5-star safety rating
German engineering (read the pdf brochure you would see this car from the chassis to engine and transmission as well as the suspension etc. is all German)

Cons:
whilst under warranty parts/service only available at LSM (so you pay their price like any other dealership)
resale value (you plan to sell it in under 5 years?)
1.6 engine performs like a 1.5
1.8 engine performs like a 1.6
although shiny, the dash and door trim still has some hard plastics

Verdict?
for the price, why not?

Alternative?
Volkswagen Jetta why? It's an affordable and fast German car that is excellent on safety and features.

htsob

Postby htsob » August 5th, 2013, 8:05 am

1.6 performs more like a 1.3 lol...and fuel
economy (city) is atrocious
acesinghit wrote:pros:
good price for the features you get
strong car
spacious interior and trunk
good looking
euro horn (lol)
uses super gas
very fuel efficient
backed by Lifestyle Motors (one of the better dealerships out there)
100,000kms / 5 year warranty is a huge plus
tons of support/accessories/parts available online since the Cruze is sold in North America (USA and Canada) and is a world car sold in Europe, Asia, Central and South America.
never heard of a stolen Chevy yet
euro ncap 5-star safety rating
German engineering (read the pdf brochure you would see this car from the chassis to engine and transmission as well as the suspension etc. is all German)

Cons:
whilst under warranty parts/service only available at LSM (so you pay their price like any other dealership)
resale value (you plan to sell it in under 5 years?)
1.6 engine performs like a 1.5
1.8 engine performs like a 1.6
although shiny, the dash and door trim still has some hard plastics

Verdict?
for the price, why not?

Alternative?
Volkswagen Jetta why? It's an affordable and fast German car that is excellent on safety and features.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 28th, 2013, 11:10 am

Guys interested in the cruze, any new developments on how the vehicle is? Problems with car itself, dealer, performance? Htsob still enjoying it? Thx

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » November 28th, 2013, 2:17 pm

Horrible service .....had problems into first month with the car, more than 1 different problem which was never fixed. Car spent more time in the service department. Firm made it seem we were the problem not the car ;)

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » November 28th, 2013, 3:04 pm

GT RACING wrote:Horrible service .....had problems into first month with the car, more than 1 different problem which was never fixed. Car spent more time in the service department. Firm made it seem we were the problem not the car ;)

Care to elaborate? I have been considering one of these.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 28th, 2013, 3:58 pm

i am an idiot wrote:
GT RACING wrote:Horrible service .....had problems into first month with the car, more than 1 different problem which was never fixed. Car spent more time in the service department. Firm made it seem we were the problem not the car ;)

Care to elaborate? I have been considering one of these.

x2. Also, which model do you have?