3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby DVSTT » November 5th, 2013, 5:36 pm

but I believe it varies according to brand

Postby r3iXmann » November 5th, 2013, 5:40 pm

canon are typically 1.6

nikon is 1.5

grimer

Postby grimer » November 5th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Yea sorry..I shoot nikon so that was my reference .

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 5th, 2013, 6:54 pm

Canon also has 1.3 Crop format , and just a note a 50mm Lens is 50mm on any body what changes is the Field of View .

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 5th, 2013, 7:07 pm

Been on national geographic's "your shot" page for a while now and been watching a lot of the photos that are picked for their "daily dozen"

Interestingly the lion's share of the pics chosen these days are shots done with nikons, with the canon high end cameras (and everything else) coming after.

Strangely though, it is as if you can see the quality difference and tell the nikon shots from the canon...

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2013, 7:17 pm

I don't buy into that and I shoot nikon, the greatest possible quality doesn't make a a bad image good. I think this notion of 'quality' and even problem noise too hyped up in recent times, i have a friend who makes some stunning shots on a j1 and a lumia and prefers it 90% of the time to his d600.

grimer

Postby grimer » November 5th, 2013, 7:20 pm

Maybe the photos with the nikon tell a better story than the other brands...not because of the hardware but the person that's using it to compose the shot.

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2013, 7:44 pm

Its always the mind behind the image, the hardware and software are just fancy tools that help to achieve it.

grimer

Postby grimer » November 5th, 2013, 7:56 pm

But that shooting with lumia over nikon d600 is madness...He/she doesn't know how to get the most out of their Dslr awa??????? Lol .sheit too complicated ?

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2013, 8:34 pm

quite the contrary lol, i used to be a lightguy but uwi has my life now. Plus with a d600, ambient is like strobes lol.
http://www.rvfoto.com/quick-portfolio/

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 5th, 2013, 10:14 pm

Taken today .

Chopper 139 by dpds68, on Flickr

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 6th, 2013, 12:09 am

meccalli wrote:I don't buy into that and I shoot nikon, the greatest possible quality doesn't make a a bad image good. I think this notion of 'quality' and even problem noise too hyped up in recent times, i have a friend who makes some stunning shots on a j1 and a lumia and prefers it 90% of the time to his d600.

True but it's not about whether the image is good or bad. I am already aware of that. but it's just strange... there is something about it if it's the sharpness, color combo or what not. for some reason when you look at the images the nikons generally have an oddly better look.

Of course that doesn't make a photo: composition, "story telling" lighting etc all make that.

Postby meccalli » November 6th, 2013, 6:28 am

could be expensive ass glass too lol and good lighting. If you take a shot with on axis flash, point and shoot style with a d3 or any dslr, it still gonna look like a point and shoot albeit with more res. I know what you mean though, i used to think like that. But remember, there's a few factors making those shoot sooc look nice, 1. its full frame so subject isolation is enhanced. 2. Its even further with expensive glass that controls and has a certain micro contrast characteristic, once again kinda providing an illusion of a 3d subject that pops out of the background and at you. Then of course they push it a little further with pp at the end. If you look at leica's m9 shots, they look very similar sooc because of this and the aesthetic quality they try to incorporate into their lenses when it comes to bokeh and subject /sharpness contrast.

grimer

Postby grimer » November 8th, 2013, 6:57 am

Taken with Samsung Galaxy Note 3
The quality is reduced drastically since I uploaded from my phone and not pc.
1383908220873.jpg

Postby 16 cycles » November 8th, 2013, 8:24 am

^taken a while back...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 11th, 2013, 3:31 pm

Haven't uploaded in some time:

Last one taken with a Samsung Galaxy Camera

Postby RBphoto » November 11th, 2013, 4:12 pm

Light bulb pic is cool..

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » November 11th, 2013, 4:22 pm

Nice work there tobagoian

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2013, 4:30 pm

great pics

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 12th, 2013, 8:25 pm

Taken with Samsung GTN7100 and edited in CS4, during a recent off-roading trip in South Trinidad.

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » November 14th, 2013, 8:37 am

Pictures taken with Nikon D5100 18-55mm Kit Lens at Mayaro..

Postby DFC » November 14th, 2013, 1:41 pm

someone explain to me pls.

Postby DVSTT » November 14th, 2013, 3:13 pm

DFC wrote:someone explain to me pls.

It's a widely used trick,

http://www.iheartfaces.com/2011/12/shap ... -tutorial/

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 20th, 2013, 5:59 pm

Been going through my Flickr archives and sets - gonna try to start taking more pics and uploading again to flickr since they've revamped their interface and given 1 terabyte of free space.... so far I've used less than 1% of that...

Here's some from old sets on flickr.

Alain_2NR

Postby Alain_2NR » November 20th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Took this shot overlooking Camden Airfield...
IMG_5153745589476.jpeg

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 20th, 2013, 9:22 pm

nice! how did u take that pic?

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » November 21st, 2013, 11:25 am

Wam alain link a man on d next flight nuh. :|

Cool pics hammer. Jelly feesh one !

Postby r3iXmann » November 21st, 2013, 2:10 pm

selling my gear (again) :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=522380

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2013, 9:21 pm

anybody here have mirrorless ?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 21st, 2013, 9:32 pm

I saw someone on facebook selling an nex5 system for $2500. Comes with lenses. That's not A bad price