Steel rods decapitate woman?

DjDaniel

Re: Steel rods decapitate woman?

Postby DjDaniel » November 12th, 2013, 10:39 pm

I still can't put together how the steel fell off the truck and then went into the car ? :/

But its sad either way. RIP lady. Truck men should've secured the load.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » November 12th, 2013, 10:56 pm

this make news yet?

Postby Morpheus » November 12th, 2013, 10:58 pm

Swift Boy wrote:heard they were going opposite direction...steel slid off truck

truck with unsecured load?
manslaughter charges then? wow.

^^I hope so. Trinis take safety for granted way too much

Messed up stuff

Postby javishm » November 12th, 2013, 11:46 pm

i wonder what is the company name....or privately owned truck

Postby maj. tom » November 13th, 2013, 12:39 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,186406.html

By ALEXANDER BRUZUAL Wednesday, November 13 2013

In the blink of an eye, the life of 62-year-old Santa Cruz resident Jocelyn Marquis Taylor ended yesterday when steel rods fatally struck her in a horrific vehicular accident.

At about 3 pm, Taylor was driving her white Nissan Wingroad car south along Saddle Road, Febeau Village, San Juan and at the same time, a white truck transporting steel rods was proceeding north on the opposite lane. The rods were held together by a rope.

Just as the two vehicles were passing each other, in the vicinity of the Ramesh and Leela Supermarket, the unthinkable happened — the rope which held the steel rods together in the tray of the truck violently snapped, and the rods were thrown directly onto Taylor’s car.

With a sickening noise, heard by several persons nearby, some of the rods pierced the bonnet of Taylor’s vehicle, while others crashed through the car’s windscreen on the driver’s side, hitting her in the face. Taylor died instantly.

The rods hit the vehicle with such force, that they were bent into obtuse angles.

It is believed that the accident caused Taylor’s foot to come off the gas pedal, and the car came to a stop just before the supermarket.

Upon hearing the impact of the steel rods on the car, the driver of the truck stopped his vehicle just before reaching Laventille Road. When he got out and saw that the rods had struck a car, it was said that he rushed to damaged vehicle and was horrified to see that its driver was dead.

“Oh God! I did that? I did that? Nah man,” the driver was overheard saying shortly after seeing Taylor’s body in the car. Eyewitnesses said the driver sobbed uncontrollably, hitting the walls of nearby buildings in shock.

The police were notified as well as officials from the Emergency Health Services, and a party of officers from the Santa Cruz Police Station and the San Juan Police Post responded. Fire officials from the San Juan Fire Station also arrived and later had the task of carefully removing the steel rods before Taylor’s body could be taken out of the car.

When they arrived the police cordoned off the area and began to question the driver who was taken into the back of a police vehicle.

At intervals, a cellphone inside Taylor’s vehicle would ring. Passersby urged officers to answer the phone and inform who was calling of what had transpired, however, the police said they could not tamper with the scene until it had been recorded and observed by the Crime Scene Investigations Unit.

Persons at the scene told reporters they “heard a loud bang” and when they went outside, they were horrified by what they discovered.

“It was just one loud noise. Like bang! And we ran outside. Next thing you know I see all these steel rods on the ground, and when I looked down, I see a car had stopped.

“I went and looked to see if I could render any assistance and when I reach, the woman face was clean gone. I never saw anything like it and I hope I never do again. It was horrifying,” said one man, who gave his name as Jacob.

“And the young man who was driving the truck, I felt sorry for him. He was just there crying and saying he sorry. He couldn’t believe what had happened. He kept on saying he had secured it (the rods) before he left, and he didn’t know how the rope broke. But he was in a state,” Jacob said.

Taylor’s body and the vehicles were eventually moved shortly after 4.30 pm, after crime scene investigators processed the scene and the District Medical Officer examined the body.

No family members of the deceased woman had arrived up to that point.

The accident also caused a traffic pile up in the community as commuters had to find alternative routes to their destinations along the Saddle Road. Investigations are continuing.

Postby maj. tom » November 13th, 2013, 12:42 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/FLYING-STEEL-KILLS-WOMAN-231674831.html

By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Nov 12, 2013 at 10:37 PM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 13, 2013 at 12:22 AM ECT

A woman was killed instantly yesterday when flying lengths of steel penetrated her windscreen and tore off part of her face and head along Saddle Road in San Juan.

The victim was identified as Jocelyn Taylor, and several people who were near the scene of the accident said she lived at Sun Valley in Santa Cruz.

The police refused to tell reporters what happened or even the woman’s name, despite repeated attempts to get from them the most accurate information possible.

People who stood by, however, shared information they had.

They said that around 2.30 p.m. Taylor was driving a Nissan AD Wagon, heading south along Saddle Road, when in the vici­nity of a Ramesh & Leela express outlet she passed a three-tonne truck that had several lengths of steel rods on its tray.

It is not known whether these rods had been secured properly, but the Express saw thin, frayed ropes that may have been used to secure the rods.

As the car passed the small truck, some of the rods fell off and landed on the car’s bonnet, then immediately bent backward and pierced the car’s windscreen and tore off part of Taylor’s face.

She was killed instantly.

The truck driver, in the meantime, stopped.

He came out and looked at the woman’s body, according to eyewitnesses.

They said the man then bent down, held his head and even banged his head on his truck, screaming out, “I do that boy, I do that boy!”

When officers of the San Juan Police Station arrived on the scene, they detained him and, up to last night, he was being questioned about what happened.

Members of the public near the scene claimed Taylor was a secretary who worked in the Santa Cruz RC Church in La Pastora.

They also said she used her car to transport children to and from school.

As her body remained in the car, her cellular telephone kept ringing, but the police did not answer it.

“But that could be her family trying to call her,” said a woman who was standing close by. The police ignored her.

San Juan police are continuing investigations.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » November 13th, 2013, 1:23 am

Tears from my eyes. Too much going on in this country. Too much. :-(

Postby De Dragon » November 13th, 2013, 3:45 am

Rope? Seriously?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 13th, 2013, 6:09 am

Man this sucks..saw her just recently when i went by my padna and now i have to go a funeral.

Postby Chimera » November 13th, 2013, 6:15 am

3pm... good thing she wasnt transporting children that trip

Teana9289

Postby Teana9289 » November 13th, 2013, 6:47 am

R.I.P. Seems like Final Destination for real...

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 13th, 2013, 7:59 am

from the pic that looks like some thick-arse steel there. like 1 inch or inch and a 1/4.
that's some heavy stuff. a lil piece of rope can't secure that. ratchet tie-downs are more appropriate.

RIP.

Postby Gem_in_i » November 13th, 2013, 8:06 am

:( RIP
What a way to go.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 13th, 2013, 8:16 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:
from the pic that looks like some thick-arse steel there. like 1 inch or inch and a 1/4.
that's some heavy stuff. a lil piece of rope can't secure that. ratchet tie-downs are more appropriate.

RIP.

Na fadda, we going right up the road dey.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2013, 9:13 am

Sooo............................................

Was High tensile or mild steel rods??

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2013, 9:25 am

yeah, and people laugh at me when I break out mih rope and tie-down straps when I movin ah length ah 2" PVC pipe :-/
no excuse in this day and age, not when you can walk into Price Smart or Bhagwansingh's and buy a pack of proper ratchet straps :-/

Postby pioneer » November 13th, 2013, 9:32 am

cheap arse transport men

thaz the typical doh-care attitude in trinidad

everybody on de hussle

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2013, 9:45 am

MG Man wrote:yeah, and people laugh at me when I break out mih rope and tie-down straps when I movin ah length ah 2" PVC pipe :-/
no excuse in this day and age, not when you can walk into Price Smart or Bhagwansingh's and buy a pack of proper ratchet straps :-/

Moreso when transport is your everyday wuk.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 13th, 2013, 9:51 am

Knew her. My uncles neighbour.
He called me last night with the story.
RIP Joycie.

They actually had to remove the steel members from her face/head.

Fnck!
Last edited by Mr. Red Sleeper on November 13th, 2013, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby turbosingh » November 13th, 2013, 9:59 am

Oh God! I did that?
^^ Very sarcastic clown!

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » November 13th, 2013, 10:01 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:

RIP.

Na fadda, we going right up the road dey.

Most of them continue about their day not knowing the importance of securing their load. They always looking for the cheapest way out until something happens. Then they want to know how it possible.

Saw a flat bed truck transporting large quantities of 4x2 wood bundled using 2 ratchet tie down straps...Two!. Upon reaching the traffic light (when it had one) on the rivulet rd/Couva flyover, the straps burst and all the wood fell off to the side. Luckily no vehicle was alongside him not was the vehicle in motion or the outcome would have been alot worse. The max loading capacity on straps are there for a reason....

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 13th, 2013, 12:02 pm

gosh man....it irks that its something that could've been so easily preventable

poor lady....RIP

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » November 13th, 2013, 12:27 pm

rip

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 13th, 2013, 1:16 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Sooo............................................

Was High tensile or mild steel rods??

now watching the pic on papers

turns out it was angle iron - mild steel.
that's why it looking so thick in the picture

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2013, 1:25 pm

cjsplayboy wrote:Image
rip

smart drivers slow down and let three or four hurry drivers fill the gap

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 13th, 2013, 2:14 pm

I knew her...she used to work at a company I do work for. She was happy and snappy with her words. She had such dedication to her work. She wasn't easy i used to warn her about her cigarettes all the time. She just used to laugh.

Steups I am so vex right now they should lost that truck driver in jail...

:evilbat:

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 13th, 2013, 2:34 pm

9 days from now it will be back to regular schedule programming.

smh @ this banana republic.

Postby desifemlove » November 13th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Knew her. My uncles neighbour.
He called me last night with the story.
RIP Joycie.

They actually had to remove the steel members from her face/head.

Fnck!

:shock: :shock: :shock:

not surprised if they get nightmares and/or PTSD. i serious, that's some real scene dey.. :(

Camo lion

Postby Camo lion » November 13th, 2013, 3:31 pm

Wtf!!!!!

Postby pioneer » November 13th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Would they sell that steel at full price?