seems to be working fine here:

novastar1

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby novastar1 » November 10th, 2013, 8:46 pm

flow down in San Fernando?

edit
working again

anyone have info on when upgrading will be completed?

Postby redmanjp » November 11th, 2013, 4:02 pm

novastar1 wrote:flow down in San Fernando?

edit
working again

anyone have info on when upgrading will be completed?

look like it done!

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2013-11-10/internet-upgrades-flow-customers

Internet upgrades for Flow customers

Published: Sunday, November 10, 2013

Customers will now experience faster broadband download speeds at no additional cost as Columbus Communications, operators of Flow and Columbus Business Solutions, has announced a significant upgrade to three of its major residential packages. Starting tomorrow, Flow customers will see a 5 mpbs upgrade at no additional cost to its Turbo 5, Turbo 15 and Turbo 25 packages.

Additionally, customers who currently subscribe to Turbo 50 and Turbo 100 packages will see a reduction in the monthly cost of $100 and $150 respectively. “The launch of this broadband upgrade is part of our commitment to continue to bring the best broadband services to Trinidad and Tobago at the most cost effective prices.

“It is our belief that faster broadband speeds for our residential customers mean that they will be better able to utilise broadband in all areas of their lives and take advantage of the many emerging opportunities in the digital and online arena,” said Brian Collins, manager director of Columbus Communications, Trinidad Limited and the Southern Caribbean. Collins also announced the launch of a completely new 2mpbs package at a cost of $139.

“This will replace the current UClick 20 hour package,” he said. “Broadband is changing how people learn, work and play,” said Collins. “The digital world is opening up new possibilities every day. Creating online content, engaging in personal hobbies via bandwith intensive programmes, keeping in touch on multiple devices, live video streaming and sharing with family across the world are commonplace. And at Columbus we are proud to put Trinidadians on the forefront of these developments.”

Wendy McDonald, director, Corporate and Government Affairs for Columbus Trinidad said: “This upgrade is about enabling citizens of Trinidad to realise their potential. At Columbus we are passionate about encouraging customers to use technology at affordable prices and faster speeds in order to gain access to information and knowledge for the development of a more educated and advanced society. “Faster speeds make it possible to connect easier, stream faster, and conduct research quicker.”

check allyuh speed!

too bad flow eh by me :(

Postby redmanjp » November 11th, 2013, 4:27 pm

i wonder what blink response to this gonna be?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 11th, 2013, 5:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:i wonder what blink response to this gonna be?

prolly the same like when digi launch 4g :lol: :lol:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 11th, 2013, 6:19 pm

But I thought flow speed increase was their response to tstt GPON ?

Me eh kno eh, I asking.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 11th, 2013, 6:42 pm

GPON suffering from failure to launch, no rollout timeline for customers and the same areas listed from inception are still the only ones with the service afaik......furthermore flow 10 still cheaper

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 11th, 2013, 6:56 pm

How does turbo 20 have more upload speed than turbo 30?
WTF :shock:
Now I need to downgrade?

and if the turbo 50 is at a $100 discount...does that mean that 25mb down will be phased out?
Wonder if the guardian even got the full story here

Not sure if these are updated prices
http://discoverflow.co/trinidad/interne ... d-packages
Last edited by novastar1 on November 11th, 2013, 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 11th, 2013, 7:10 pm

Sooooo i've finally had enough of Blink. Signing up and paying for installation tomorrow. Question... Do i have to take their wireless router or can i get a standard modem and run a wireless router of my own?

alcom2222

Postby alcom2222 » November 11th, 2013, 7:14 pm

You can choose a standard modem or pay $150 more for the wireless modem

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » November 11th, 2013, 8:03 pm

snypaz wrote:Sooooo i've finally had enough of Blink. Signing up and paying for installation tomorrow. Question... Do i have to take their wireless router or can i get a standard modem and run a wireless router of my own?

You can use your own router. I did the same.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 11th, 2013, 8:39 pm

Thanks again.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » November 11th, 2013, 9:41 pm

So what's the deal with flow?

How does speed compare with TSTT for P2P downloads?
What about latency to US networks/servers? (compared with TSTT)
Do I get the advertised bandwidth 24/7 or is there some sort of policy pertaining to peak hours?

Thinking about switching myself.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » November 11th, 2013, 9:59 pm

whatever_ wrote:So what's the deal with flow?

Do I get the advertised bandwidth 24/7 or is there some sort of policy pertaining to peak hours?

1.Its better
2.26m on a bad day (usual day before they started upgrade last month)
3.yes u do...had flow 2 years now! And had no problem until now since d upgrades

I had blink,greendot and they all suck compare to flow and I issa torrent man :D

Got get it!

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » November 11th, 2013, 10:12 pm

sonygoup wrote:

1.Its better
2.26m on a bad day (usual day before they started upgrade last month)
3.yes u do...had flow 2 years now! And had no problem until now since d upgrades

I had blink,greendot and they all suck compare to flow and I issa torrent man :D

Got get it!

You're not getting any problems that would indicate P2P throttling?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 11th, 2013, 10:14 pm

Recommend you try both for at least two weeks, if you have two computers/laptops do a comparison during peak hours.
My experience is that Flow throttles P2P traffic.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » November 12th, 2013, 3:14 am

I download via newsgroups. Max speed all the time if you don't have patience for torrents.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » November 12th, 2013, 10:37 am

So they just came and upgraded the modem.
The man say internet go be down for 15 minute.
Any bets as to how long it will actually be down for?

He left here at 10:10.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » November 12th, 2013, 10:45 am

Rallyfignis wrote:So they just came and upgraded the modem.

Couldn't be any worse than TSTT. When TSTT says down for 15mins, chances are it will be down for anything between 1 hr to 3 months.

Postby S_2NR » November 12th, 2013, 11:04 am

Rallyfignis wrote:So they just came and upgraded the modem.

He supposed to ensure it working BEFORE leaving and BEFORE u signed off on the job

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » November 12th, 2013, 11:15 am

Restarted modem @ 1150 and its working...

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » November 12th, 2013, 11:15 am

Sorry 1050

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 12th, 2013, 1:24 pm

they replced my modem yesterday and internet not working since... arseholes

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » November 12th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Bezman wrote:they replced my modem yesterday and internet not working since... arseholes

Call them they changed my modem last week, they told me in two hours after three I had no service, I called them and after a 15 minute wait they restored the service. My advice call.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 12th, 2013, 3:23 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
Bezman wrote:they replced my modem yesterday and internet not working since... arseholes

Call them they changed my modem last week, they told me in two hours after three I had no service, I called them and after a 15 minute wait they restored the service. My advice call.

call them and give them the mac address on the modem.
Waited like 2 hours like the installer said....then I called them and it was up in under a minute after I have them the number

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 13th, 2013, 11:03 am

STILL only frigging 1Mbit up.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 13th, 2013, 9:43 pm

Day 3, numerous calls, plenty quarrelling......no internet and no phone since the modem upgrade.....tech supposed to come tomorrow......only because I tell them no way I waiting until tuesday for a tech!

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 14th, 2013, 10:30 am

So is a modem replacement required in order to receive the new "bump" in speeds? Or a modem re-start should do it?

I only heard this on the radio this morning and decided to research it at the office here. I haven't done a speed test at home yet...

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » November 14th, 2013, 10:33 am

I noticed this bum in speeds on divali day.
nothing to be done you
company ups the bandwidth themselves

Postby Kenjo » November 14th, 2013, 10:44 am

It seemed to upgrade automatically for me too and my modem is about 8 years old so I don't believe the modem needs to upgrade