Re: Random Acts of Kindness

Postby DFC » November 10th, 2013, 10:33 am

i do good deeds everyday.

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » November 10th, 2013, 12:40 pm

I's a man does give people food, make donations to the poor folks, help out the bretherin shut down on the side ah d' road (or in the middle like last week lol) and randomly pay for someone else's meals. Is that good enough? lol

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 10th, 2013, 5:31 pm

About ten yrs ago when I was doing sales, the junior manager told me someone call the company and said they needed more people like me on the road (till now I don't know what I did, guess somting good)

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » November 10th, 2013, 5:34 pm

satisfied client ^^ , the thing is you have to treat people how you want to be treated

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 10th, 2013, 5:41 pm

dante1986 wrote:Best post in a while. It has this teller I met in the bank, real nice an cool to interact with, she said anytime I needed help check her, she took me out for lunch, now every week we go out for lunch for the past 7 months an I buy her little snacks during the week :)

you bull it yet or you shivzoned??

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » November 10th, 2013, 9:09 pm

@ hustla not every woman I brush lol, I ready to settle fedup a all these women sometimes have more to life than just that, I am more mature now. Four years ago would a happen long time.

Postby Kenjo » November 10th, 2013, 9:17 pm

Wait a woman who sees your bank account and is unusually friendly ...... Err where the video circulating with the guys and the Ferrari !

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » November 10th, 2013, 9:21 pm

^^ No she didn't see my bank account, I am friends with a lot a bank girls so its not unusual for me have model friends to, I am just tired an want to settle.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 11th, 2013, 8:21 am

I live opposite a bar,went over a Friday night bar pumping with after work lime and one Guy collapsed with a asthma attack ,having asthma my self and know what he was going tru ,the owner of the bar asked if anyone can take him to the hospital , no one volunteer ,one Guy even say he don't want nobody dying in his car,I said yes I'll take him ,ran over the road open my garage gate ,started my car some guys lifted the victim over and placed in my car.
When I reach in the hospital the nurse said this man could of die or brain damaged with lack of oxygen and he lucky.When he came out of the asthma attack he said his pump had finished and dint have money for one ,he was walking going home ,got the attack and ran in the bar asking for help. He got a prescription of his medicine and a $50 from me ,his sis came after and I left with a smile on my face .

Postby dougla_boy » November 11th, 2013, 8:30 am

ruffrider27 wrote:I live opposite a bar,went over a Friday night bar pumping with after work lime and one Guy collapsed with a asthma attack ,having asthma my self and know what he was going tru ,the owner of the bar asked if anyone can take him to the hospital , no one volunteer ,one Guy even say he don't want nobody dying in his car,I said yes I'll take him ,ran over the road open my garage gate ,started my car some guys lifted the victim over and placed in my car.
When I reach in the hospital the nurse said this man could of die or brain damaged with lack of oxygen and he lucky.When he came out of the asthma attack he said his pump had finished and dint have money for one ,he was walking going home ,got the attack and ran in the bar asking for help. He got a prescription of his medicine and a $50 from me ,his sis came after and I left with a smile on my face .

good going meng!!! kudos for saving a life......i hope ur actions and story inspire others to do the same

Postby bluefete » November 11th, 2013, 3:32 pm

TEMPO wrote:satisfied client ^^ , the thing is you have to treat people how you want to be treated

An African tribe does the most beautiful thing.

When someone does something hurtful and wrong, they take the person to the center of town, and the entire tribe comes and surrounds him.

For two days they'll tell the man every good thing he has ever done.

The tribe believes that every human being comes into the world as Good, each of us desiring safety, love, peace, happiness.

But sometimes in the pursuit of those things people make mistakes. The community sees misdeeds as a cry for help.

They band together for the sake of their fellow man to hold him up, to reconnect him with his true Nature, to remind him who he really is, until he fully remembers the truth from which he'd temporarily been disconnected:

"I AM GOOD."

ztune

Postby ztune » November 12th, 2013, 7:09 am

recently stopped some small night traffic to help a turtle cross the road by UTT. Other than that, charity begins at home so I help out at home and put family first.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 12th, 2013, 7:39 am

was looking tru my clothes this past weekend and realised I got lots of stuff I don't use... I packed up a several bags of clothes, shoes , food stuff etc then drove to a taxi rank and gave them away... the people were soo happy to get the stuff....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 12th, 2013, 7:50 am

years ago I stopped to help a guy who's vehicle shut down en route to maracas bay. We had to make a trip in st. james to get a part. When installed the car started and I was on my way to the beach albeit 2 hrs + later than originally planned but say what it was all good. About 2 years later we were installing a/c units in our house and the contractor for the job was the guy I helped out in maracas. Guy smiled and says he recognized the face and the car. Labour and material was free.

Good stuff!

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » November 13th, 2013, 7:23 am

wish i had opened this refreshing thread before now...
really good to see that some people still tap into that good nature that we are all born with and should be exhibiting more daily.

On that note though there's this guy i see every morning sleeping between the east and west bound highway traffic lanes before valpark lights... I know it's dangerous and shouldn't be encouraged but how can people of valsayn or the authorities pass by daily and see this man sleeping there and do nothing about it? pouring overnight rain and this man tries to make do with cardboard and plastic on that wet grass..... and with the dangers of runaway vehicles crossing the median..... really sad to see.

snatman

Postby snatman » November 13th, 2013, 8:36 am

nice story from reddit. Worth the read.
Just about every time I see someone I stop. I kind of got out of the habit in the last couple of years, moved to a big city and all that, my girlfriend wasn't too stoked on the practice. Then some sheit happened to me that changed me and I am back to offering rides habitually. If you would indulge me, it is long story and has almost nothing to do with hitch hiking other than happening on a road.

This past year I have had 3 instances of car trouble. A blow out on a freeway, a bunch of blown fuses and an out of gas situation. All of them were while driving other people's cars which, for some reason, makes it worse on an emotional level. It makes it worse on a practical level as well, what with the fact that I carry things like a jack and extra fuses in my car, and know enough not to park, facing downhill, on a steep incline with less than a gallon of fuel.

Anyway, each of these times this sheit happened I was DISGUSTED with how people would not bother to help me. I spent hours on the side of the freeway waiting, watching roadside assistance vehicles blow past me, for AAA to show. The 4 gas stations I asked for a gas can at told me that they couldn't loan them out "for my safety" but I could buy a really shitty 1-gallon one with no cap for $15. It was enough, each time, to make you say sheit like "this country is going to hell in a handbasket."

But you know who came to my rescue all three times? Immigrants. Mexican immigrants. None of them spoke a lick of the language. But one of those dudes had a profound affect on me.

He was the guy that stopped to help me with a blow out with his whole family of 6 in tow. I was on the side of the road for close to 4 hours. Big jeep, blown rear tire, had a spare but no jack. I had signs in the windows of the car, big signs that said NEED A JACK and offered money. No dice. Right as I am about to give up and just hitch out there a van pulls over and dude bounds out. He sizes the situation up and calls for his youngest daughter who speaks english. He conveys through her that he has a jack but it is too small for the Jeep so we will need to brace it. He produces a saw from the van and cuts a log out of a downed tree on the side of the road. We rolled it over, put his jack on top, and bam, in business. I start taking the wheel off and, if you can believe it, I broke his tire iron. It was one of those collapsible ones and I wasn't careful and I snapped the head I needed clean off. firetruck.

No worries, he runs to the van, gives it to his wife and she is gone in a flash, down the road to buy a tire iron. She is back in 15 minutes, we finish the job with a little sweat and cussing (stupid log was starting to give), and I am a very happy man. We are both filthy and sweaty. The wife produces a large water jug for us to wash our hands in. I tried to put a 20 in the man's hand but he wouldn't take it so I instead gave it to his wife as quietly as I could. I thanked them up one side and down the other. I asked the little girl where they lived, thinking maybe I could send them a gift for being so awesome. She says they live in Mexico. They are here so mommy and daddy can pick peaches for the next few weeks. After that they are going to pick cherries then go back home. She asks if I have had lunch and when I told her no she gave me a tamale from their cooler, the best freaking tamale I have ever had.

So, to clarify, a family that is undoubtedly poorer than you, me, and just about everyone else on that stretch of road, working on a seasonal basis where time is money, took an hour or two out of their day to help some strange dude on the side of the road when people in tow trucks were just passing me by. Wow...

But we aren't done yet. I thank them again and walk back to my car and open the foil on the tamale cause I am starving at this point and what do I find inside? My freaking $20 bill! I whirl around and run up to the van and the guy rolls his window down. He sees the $20 in my hand and just shaking his head no like he won't take it. All I can think to say is "Por Favor, Por Favor, Por Favor" with my hands out. Dude just smiles, shakes his head and, with what looked like great concentration, tried his hardest to speak to me in English:

"Today you.... tomorrow me."

Rolled up his window, drove away, his daughter waving to me in the rear view. I sat in my car eating the best freaking tamale of all time and I just cried. Like a little girl. It has been a rough year and nothing has broke my way. This was so out of left field I just couldn't deal.

In the 5 months since I have changed a couple of tires, given a few rides to gas stations and, once, went 50 miles out of my way to get a girl to an airport. I won't accept money. Every time I tell them the same thing when we are through:

"Today you.... tomorrow me."

Postby DFC » November 13th, 2013, 9:08 am

damn...that was good.

Postby dougla_boy » December 3rd, 2013, 7:43 am

Saturday i was heading to Diego Martin.........and i was passing by RBTT on Broadway.....when ah guy asked for something to eat........i passed.......stopped and asked him if he wanted chinese food and a drink......i bought him a box and a juice......he was very thankful........think i shall do it again soon.....cuz it felt good

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 8:36 am

Was at my friend's mandir the other day. A man came in saying he ent had no food cos he lose his bag and I gave him a $20.

Couldn't stand to see him go without. :) I nice to everybody. :D

pluggie

Postby pluggie » December 3rd, 2013, 10:01 am

Went clubbing last Friday with my wife and her sister then got in a fight in the car park... Some stupid white boy got pissed and called me a nicca , all this because my wife and sister-in-law are young blondes and he probably didn't like seeing blonde chicks with black men especially in a nice Jeep... After I facked him up and left him on the ground laying like a dead man , only to get in my vehicle and notice my wife spraying the man with pepper spray to teach him a lesson "apparently"...

So the random act of kindness comes in lol :

I felt sorry for him and went upstairs in the club , got some guys to bring me some soap and a bucket of water ... Drunk and tired like fack but I made sure the guys face was clean of pepper spray (as best as possible) and they he was sober enough to drive home...

GRIM

Postby GRIM » December 3rd, 2013, 10:08 am

ammmm...you do know it illegal to have pepper spray right

pluggie wrote:Went clubbing last Friday with my wife and her sister then got in a fight in the car park... Some stupid white boy got pissed and called me a nicca , all this because my wife and sister-in-law are young blondes and he probably didn't like seeing blonde chicks with black men especially in a nice Jeep... After I facked him up and left him on the ground laying like a dead man , only to get in my vehicle and notice my wife spraying the man with pepper spray to teach him a lesson "apparently"...

Postby dougla_boy » December 3rd, 2013, 10:15 am

GRIM wrote:ammmm...you do know it illegal to have pepper spray right

pluggie wrote:Went clubbing last Friday with my wife and her sister then got in a fight in the car park... Some stupid white boy got pissed and called me a nicca , all this because my wife and sister-in-law are young blondes and he probably didn't like seeing blonde chicks with black men especially in a nice Jeep... After I facked him up and left him on the ground laying like a dead man , only to get in my vehicle and notice my wife spraying the man with pepper spray to teach him a lesson "apparently"...

he doh live here bai........he a forinah

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 10:17 am

you need a sense of humour...

pluggie

Postby pluggie » December 3rd, 2013, 10:18 am

GRIM wrote:ammmm...you do know it illegal to have pepper spray right

It is not illegal in South Africa which is where the incident took place ... But I'm sure if used wrongly (not in the case of self defense) then some form of charges can be made.

Postby SMc » December 3rd, 2013, 10:21 am

lekker man lekker

GRIM

Postby GRIM » December 3rd, 2013, 10:23 am

dougla_boy wrote:he doh live here bai........he a forinah

ooohhh lol I didnt know

pluggie

Postby pluggie » December 3rd, 2013, 10:29 am

SMc wrote:lekker man lekker

hahah SMC you know thing Baii :D :D :D

Postby gastly369 » December 3rd, 2013, 1:30 pm

Postby desifemlove » December 4th, 2013, 10:41 pm

Gave a homeless woman in Arima three dollars, looked real bhishevlled, but was good to sort she out.

Postby dougla_boy » December 11th, 2013, 12:57 pm

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/leo-the-h ... 26043.html

Leo the Homeless Coder Finished His App, and You Can Download It Right Now

Leo Grand considers himself lucky when the doorman at the luxury apartment building nearby lets him charge his Samsung Chromebook without issue.

View gallery
Leo's app — Trees for Cars — just launched this morning, and the new coder needs to make sure his computer is ready to go for the day. The guys in the apartment building have been a great help; four months ago when Grand started this venture, it was warm outside. That, unfortunately, is no longer the case.

"Trees for Cars" is a mobile application that aims to save the environment by helping users carpool to their destinations, and Grand programmed the entire thing himself from the streets of Manhattan with just 16 weeks of coding lessons. It also provides information on how much CO2 the user is saving with each ride which further encourages environmental awareness, creating within the app a healthy competition amongst users to save the most CO2.

Grand was approached by a young programmer named Patrick McConlogue in mid-August with a choice: Take $100 or take an opportunity to learn how to code. Grand, who had been homeless since 2011 after he lost his job at MetLife and was priced out of his neighborhood when a high-rise went up on the next block, didn't hesitate.

He wanted to learn to code.

The two men met every weekday where Leo sleeps outside for an hour each morning. McConlogue taught Grand how to program using three used books from Amazon and a refurbished Chromebook McConlogue purchased for Grand online.

Business Insider spent a lot of time talking to the men back in the fall, and we even visited a coding class on what would be the coldest day of September. Grand talked a lot about his upcoming app (which, at the time, remained a secret), and how excited he was for its launch. There were naysayers who said this day would never come, but Grand, McConlogue, and thousands of people following their journey on Facebook had kept a positive outlook.

Now the app has arrived to the Apple Store and the Play Store for $.99.

"Trees for Cars is a great way to build relationships, strengthen communities, help each-other financially and energy wise, all under the umbrella of saving the environment," Grand said in an official statement about the app.

Here's how it works: As a driver, simply pick a meeting address and the app will suggest nearby riders. Then, each rider and driver are only connected if they choose to mutually accept the invitations. The app tracks how much CO2 was saved by the passengers who got rides with others.

All of the money the developers receive from this app goes to Grand, who will use it to help him further his programming education.

Here's a video of Leo talking about the app:

a Random Act of Kindness has helped this homeless person on his way to a better place........

Kudos!!!