Slush in Radiator

Michelle50

Slush in Radiator

Postby Michelle50 » October 31st, 2013, 10:01 pm

Hi folks

I recently discovered a brownish slush on the cover of my Radiator cap and round the rim/ mouth of radiator. There was no coolant in the radiator just water. I had the radiator flushed out. The Block was supposed to flush the block ( someone said slush was coming from block) but he did not. He said there was no need to do that. He also told me that the Head Gasket was slightly raised.

My questions are

Is a raised head gasked a cause for concern?
Is this a sign that the head gasket is going to blow?
Could this be the cause of the slush in the radiator?

I just paid a lot of money for this engine, labour, parts etc. It's a B14 fuel injected.

Thanks for the help.

Re: Slush in Radiator

Postby cinco » October 31st, 2013, 10:03 pm

Change your mechanic. So many issues with that story eh
The slush is caused because u are usin pipe water do a proper radiator flush then refill with proper coolant like zerex

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » October 31st, 2013, 10:10 pm

cinco wrote:Change your mechanic. So many issues with that story eh
The slush is caused because u are usin pipe water do a proper radiator flush then refill with proper coolant like zerex

Agree with cinco happens to me all the ttime before because of water so use coolant because idk how but it caused my radiator to clog up in my l200
Edit;
Also u could flush it yourself because it rather easy jus park up on a level spot disconnect the over flow and everything else then open the cap and run normal water through it until it start to run clean after that hook it back up and full with good coolant Done!

Postby cinco » November 1st, 2013, 12:23 am

If you have to use water then use distilled water

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2013, 7:26 am

What is a raised head gasket?

s@int

Postby s@int » November 1st, 2013, 7:32 am

Cud it be a blown gasket?

Postby BrotherHood » November 1st, 2013, 10:03 am

Water rusts the inside of radiators. Don't use water.

Michelle50

Re: Slush in Radiator/ raised head gasket

Postby Michelle50 » November 1st, 2013, 4:54 pm

The radiator technician told me the head gasket was slightly raised and this could be problematic. He as supposed to flush the block because I was told that the slush in the radiator was coming from the block due to the fact that the engine was down for a while. He did not flush the block though.

I just wanted to know if anyone ever heard about this problem with the head gasket and how serious it is or could be. The head gasket is not blown because there is no evidence of oil and water mixing. The only problem was the mud like slush in the radiator.

Postby cinco » November 1st, 2013, 6:48 pm

They are tryin to take yuh money. Just flush the radiator fully. Get a competent mech/rad tech

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2013, 8:14 pm

Change your mechanic or get a second opinion. I could be wrong, but I've never heard of a raised head gasket.

To get rid of the slush, do a complete drain and flush out with running water. When it runs clear, drain the entire system and add cheap coolant plus distilled water and a radiator flush powder or tablet (Bar's makes a good product). This is a good opportunity for inspectionreplacement of hoses, thermostat, cleaning of overflow bottle and a cooling system pressure check.

If the inside was really bad, run this cleaning mixture for about a week.

Then do a drain again, this time no need for running water. Replace with fresh coolant and distilled water.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 1st, 2013, 10:11 pm

I dont recommend the use of 'cheap coolants' find a coolant that is suited to your application.using the wrong coolant can cause problems. zeerex for asian vehicles is ideal in this situation and its not pricey.

If the radiator tech pressure tested your cooling system and was losing pressure he would probably diagnose it as a leaking head gasket. There can be many causes for this.

do a cooling system flush as recommended and then fill up with good coolant. Change your mechanic/technician, they seem out to rob you.

Michelle50

Postby Michelle50 » November 2nd, 2013, 3:57 pm

Thanks for all the advice received thus far.