[X]~Outlaw wrote:You sound like a politician
there is no law allowing every citizen to have a firearm either88sins wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:in any case I've already stated my personal point of view on this topic. Good luck in trying to make your point of view law.
We all know your opinion. Just remember that your POV isn't necessarily "law" either![]()
Always be open to change, ya never know, you might like it![]()
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:for now, yes.Redman wrote:His competition would be drug dealers.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ he said "life skills", not "skills" as in "skillful"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Life_skillsbut we do have confessions of a local gang leader who admits that they need to have bigger guns than the competition and they pay $30,000 and up for each AK47 they get smuggled through Icacos.Redman wrote:Duane idea of a "ARMS RACE" seems to have no basis in reality
This I agree with.
Pariaman says the gun owners he knows are responsible,
I've said the same, I'm sure others can do likewise.
We have no evidence of the arms race, no evidenced of legal gun holders going primal.
In fact what we have is exactly the opposite.
A personal choice is just that.
It cannot be grounds to remove the abilities of other choose,even when their choice is different to yours.
Not private citizens who are defending themselves.
but the dealers themselves don't be the ones using all the guns they buy for the gang. Their henchmen / gang members do and their henchmen / members may also be involved in other crime / robbery / car-jacking etc.
why not fix crime rather than give everyone a gun?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I am VERY open to change.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It's interesting that you talk about change yet you are ok with giving up on a crime plan to change our society for the better and instead revert to the wild west where everyone has a gun.
I will not even bother to reply to that88sins wrote:You really should read b4 you type. Less mix ups that way.
I fully well understand what you are saying.fafrumlosin wrote:Duane i have been reading your post and i see what you are saying about fixing crime and not arming john public. However the times we live in don't allow this as you or anyone here could be the subject of a carjacking, robbery, home invasion,etc. and this is simply because of the mentality of people unlike yourself the ones who want what you have and think it's their god given right to take what they want. i personally would rather own and have a firearm and not need it than need it and not have it. i also understand the reasoning you have of the tit for tat mentality and of people brandishing weapons when arguments may arise but its the same reasoning of saying i own a fast car but don't drive it fast as its against the law people still do it.. what i think everyone else is saying is that they should at least be given the option to own a weapon to secure themselves, and stop fooling yourself if you think that's what the police are there for. i could be wrong but however my thought is if i am a bandit and i know that the person i am attempting to rob may also have a firearm an there's' a 50/50 chance that it could end in my demise i may seek other options rather than what we have now where the bandits in trinidad run rampantly due to the fact they know citizens have no way to protect themselves other than beg not to kill us after they take our stuff.
Why arm citizens if they don't need it?rocknrolla wrote:so fix the problem of crime first.. then give people gun rights when they wont need it since there's no crime??
moot point. as long as there are poor people there will be crime. crime is not going to stop. not for any forseeable reason anyway.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: We did it with burglar proofing and now it has become ubiquitous and the bane of many architects and designers.
EY EY, doh be calling me no criminal, Dan. You have little proof...rocknrolla wrote:so fix the problem of crime first.. then give people gun rights when they wont need it since there's no crime??
moot point. as long as there are poor people there will be crime. crime is not going to stop. not for any forseeable reason anyway.
sMASH wrote:EY EY, doh be calling me no criminal, Dan. You have little proof...rocknrolla wrote:so fix the problem of crime first.. then give people gun rights when they wont need it since there's no crime??
88sins wrote:Redman, doh ask d man what he suggest.
He might jus suggest ppl invest in black clothes, nice caskets, grave diggers and whatever book you'd like your funeral prayers to come from(buh wait nah, dai wah we doin now steups)
Interpol Secretary General Ronald Noble said today the U.S. and the rest of the democratic world is at a security crossroads in the wake of last month's deadly al-Shabab attack at a shopping mall in Nairobi, Kenya – and suggested an answer could be in arming civilians.
"How do you protect soft targets? That's really the challenge. You can't have armed police forces everywhere," he told reporters.
"Ask yourself: If that was Denver, Col., if that was Texas, would those guys have been able to spend hours, days, shooting people randomly?" Noble said, referring to states with pro-gun traditions. "What I'm saying is it makes police around the world question their views on gun control.