The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Mr.Bollywood

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Mr.Bollywood » October 25th, 2013, 12:42 pm

i have that on my note actually for a while now!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 25th, 2013, 4:31 pm

Nice ah was looking for a good wallpaper

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 26th, 2013, 1:31 am

sometimes my nexus 4 would say sim card removed and lose signal

If I shake the phone and reboot it would work fine again

If I pop out the sim tray and put it back in would work fine again

The sim i did cut it myself with a scissors but its a little slack. I did cut it slightly short so I am thinking this may be the reason.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 26th, 2013, 2:06 am

The rumored specs on the nexus 5 looks good tho. Price range should go up considerably but I'd still get it once there are good reviews on it.

Archlord

Postby Archlord » October 26th, 2013, 8:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:sometimes my nexus 4 would say sim card removed and lose signal

The sim i did cut it myself with a scissors but its a little slack. I did cut it slightly short so I am thinking this may be the reason.

Try tapping Airplane Mode on and off instead of restarting. My Nexus 4 gives same problem since 4.3 official and even Custom.

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2013, 11:25 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:sometimes my nexus 4 would say sim card removed and lose signal

Try it in 2g mode and see if it stops.

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2013, 12:16 pm

While im at it:

Nexus 7 owners, is it on par with the Nexus 4 performance wise?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 26th, 2013, 12:27 pm

The 2013 model is, if not better. The 2012 can't really compare.

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Yup, 2013 self.

Feeling to get one, whats the cost like landed?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 26th, 2013, 12:54 pm

nice article regarding the upcoming "Cover" lockscreen while at the same time addressing the state of Android vs. iOS today...

Cover Is An Android-Only Lockscreen That Shows Apps When You Need Them

Context is king: Cover for Android changes your lock screen as you move

http://www.coverscreen.com
Last edited by Swisha on October 26th, 2013, 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 26th, 2013, 12:55 pm

~$1575-1600.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2013, 2:36 pm

I wonder how much for a nexus 4 now?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 26th, 2013, 3:23 pm

When I checked google's site the other day all nexus 4 devices were sold out. from articles I read they are not going to be brought back in stock, possibly because of the imminent release of the nexus 5. Amazon has nexus 4's going for around $350~ but screw that.

Postby M_2NR » October 26th, 2013, 4:21 pm

*patiently awaiting the N5*

i hope this HoX holds out until then.

That cover lockscreen is epic!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 26th, 2013, 6:35 pm

Archlord wrote:

Try tapping Airplane Mode on and off instead of restarting. My Nexus 4 gives same problem since 4.3 official and even Custom.

wow thank god I am not the only one

Yeah I also have 4.3 will try ur suggestion if it happens again its a rare thing

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » October 26th, 2013, 7:28 pm

Guys!! Anyone knows where I can repair a HTC one screen? Fell down and the phone screen is completely shattered can anyone help me out... I would like too know ASAP ANY HELP WOULD BE GLADLY AND GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 26th, 2013, 7:37 pm

upgrade timee...
threw that bb far far away

Postby M_2NR » October 26th, 2013, 8:39 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Guys!! Anyone knows where I can repair a HTC one screen? Fell down and the phone screen is completely shattered can anyone help me out... I would like too know ASAP ANY HELP WOULD BE GLADLY AND GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

send it back. check out ifixit.com for the teardown. it's nearly impossible to pull of.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » October 26th, 2013, 8:53 pm

Thanks man will do!! Appreciate the help!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 26th, 2013, 10:29 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Archlord wrote:

wow thank god I am not the only one

Yeah I also have 4.3 will try ur suggestion if it happens again its a rare thing

This used to happen when I had the s3, sim card was a little too short so I took a small piece of paper folded it and placed it between the card and the battery.....problem solved.

What i recently noticed on the s4 is that after 19mins or so the call drops, im on Digicel. Im usually not on the phone that long so its not a big problem.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 27th, 2013, 7:42 am

M_2NR wrote:
Mr.Bollywood wrote:Guys!! Anyone knows where I can repair a HTC one screen? Fell down and the phone screen is completely shattered can anyone help me out... I would like too know ASAP ANY HELP WOULD BE GLADLY AND GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

send it back. check out ifixit.com for the teardown. it's nearly impossible to pull of.

I changed the screen on a one X, working bess

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Kronik wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

I changed the screen on a one X, working bess

see highlighted.
article in mention
image in reference
;)

Postby javishm » October 28th, 2013, 12:32 am

person looking to fix their htc one....take my dotish advice and ship it to the nearest htc authorized repair center and do it tru them....

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » October 28th, 2013, 1:45 am

Call HTC for a quote first, just to see if it's worth shipping or better to just buy another one.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » October 28th, 2013, 4:40 am

Yep thanks guys! Found it cheaper to ship to the nearest htc authorized repair center, thanks for the help guys!! Appreciate it!! :mrgreen:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » October 28th, 2013, 8:33 am

4.3 is out for the Galaxy S4 in Trinidad.

In process of updating through Kies.

http://www.sammobile.com/2013/10/18/sam ... -gt-i9500/

Postby Morpheus » October 28th, 2013, 9:14 am

Nice. Give us an "update".

EDIT: Just browsed through the link. I'm liking what I'm seeing 8-)
Last edited by Morpheus on October 28th, 2013, 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » October 28th, 2013, 9:19 am

Any Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 users updated to 4.2.2?

I did it a couple weeks ago and the tablet really started to work like crap. Everything was slowwww to the point I just wanted to throw it out the window. Got fed up and did a factory reset and it's back to normal now.

Are you normally supposed to do a reset after updating the OS? I never did it before on my phones.

Postby noshownogo » October 28th, 2013, 11:40 am

Swisha wrote:nice article regarding the upcoming "Cover" lockscreen while at the same time addressing the state of Android vs. iOS today...

Cover Is An Android-Only Lockscreen That Shows Apps When You Need Them

Context is king: Cover for Android changes your lock screen as you move

http://www.coverscreen.com

Saw this last week, excited for it 8-)

J453

Postby J453 » October 28th, 2013, 12:20 pm

pete wrote:Any Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 users updated to 4.2.2?

I did it a couple weeks ago and the tablet really started to work like crap. Everything was slowwww to the point I just wanted to throw it out the window. Got fed up and did a factory reset and it's back to normal now.

Are you normally supposed to do a reset after updating the OS? I never did it before on my phones.
Did the update on my tab 2 7.0 and noticed it worked significantly slower. Didn't reset though. Will have to try that later.

Did you receive 'smart stay' as part of your upgrade as well, and does it work?