:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby X_Factor » October 21st, 2013, 8:42 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i'm using them to make my own bulkheads for a aquaponic project.

Going to use them in my IBC bio filters.

I tried using regular PVC pipe ends but always getting leakage. The PVC ends don't allow the male to completely thread into the female. Even after using threadseal and silicone i`m getting leakage.

saw on several aquaponic threads that the trick is to use electrical conduit for the bulkheads

what about using o ring or flat rubber washers between the connection?
or try cutting the male end a little and with some sand paper after, it should be able to thread up on the female side

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 21st, 2013, 8:44 pm

Y u no amazon?

Everything except the mechanics gloves available locally. Never seen those here, Mechanix brand that is.

Iron, pliers and nippers at Tool Store POS or SSL in south, maybe test light too, never looked for that.

However with the iron, pliers and nippers, you could make a test light in 10 min.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2013, 8:51 pm

I don't think I ever went ssl. Or maybe I went and dunno. Will make a check this weekend. I just found a iron tho. A Solomon

Postby X_Factor » October 22nd, 2013, 10:25 pm

is the difference between an 18v and 20v li on tools that big of a difference in terms of power and battery life?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 23rd, 2013, 7:51 am

Most 20V lines are not actually 20V anyway, usually 18.x or 19.x Volts.

There is not going to be that much of a difference in the major brands (well...mostly DeWalt)

Milwaukee and Bosch don't have 20V. Battery life will be determined by the Ah rating of the battery regardless of voltage.

Disclaimer: I have only used 12V and 18V Milwaukees, not 20V so don't know for sure.

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2013, 8:09 am

lithium-ion batteries are usually a multiple of 3.7

the older dewalt 36v used a123 batteries which were 3.3
those were the best, can take real licks and very powerful
dewalt gone cheap now and using laptop battery cells now

ppl used to buy the packs just to disassemble and get the cells to use for all kinds of things
I converted my 14v nicd dewalt to a 12v 4cell a123 and it working real good
better batteries can deliver more current ie torque

imo battery life is a function of how hard/load they being used, and how many usage/charge cycles on them apart from expected lifespan.
Ah rating is a capacity rating, not load/performance

Lithium cells last longer if they are not discharged more than 80%, they can be damaged if discharged more than that which is why most lithium devices have shutoff circuitry in them.

I had a couple 12v nicd packs rebuilts with new cells, both packs died around the same time with minimal usage

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 23rd, 2013, 8:21 am

Picked this up yesterday
uploadfromtaptalk1382530905211.jpg

Postby pioneer » October 23rd, 2013, 9:30 am

^^^oh lawd...where?

Price?

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 23rd, 2013, 1:21 pm

Farfan Omera

$2000.

Sure you could get a better price if the branch manager there

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2013, 5:19 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Most 20V lines are not actually 20V anyway, usually 18.x or 19.x Volts.

There is not going to be that much of a difference in the major brands (well...mostly DeWalt)

Milwaukee and Bosch don't have 20V. Battery life will be determined by the Ah rating of the battery regardless of voltage.

Disclaimer: I have only used 12V and 18V Milwaukees, not 20V so don't know for sure.

looking at this
http://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-PCCK ... +cable+20v

orr

http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-DDS181-102L ... =bosch+18v

which would u choose?
both will roughly be around 1100 landed

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 23rd, 2013, 5:37 pm

I am always partial to Bosch especially one that comes with an l boxx. 600 in/lbs is killer.

Dont like the tonka toy look/direction of BD/PC tools recently and their stupid watts out rating that cant be compared to anything else.

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2013, 6:00 pm

I prefer Bosch too but you only get one battery vs 2 with the pc

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 23rd, 2013, 6:28 pm

Oh...yeah, missed that. $55 bux for a second Bosch battery.

Also compare the selection of "tool only" offerings from both if you want other tools with the same battery pack to save some cash later on.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 23rd, 2013, 9:52 pm

peeps where i getting my hands on a good drill? nothign to spensive but with alil torque?

went bhags buh they sold out of anything less than 1200 trincity branch -- no care for cordless

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2013, 9:54 pm

Firewall wrote:Picked this up yesterday

i brought in this one for my cuz
http://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-362- ... ble+sander

he paid 2000 landed for it about last yr december when they had the discounts off tools on amazon
should be about 24-2500 with present price
its super powerful!!

2 things
1) dont let the cord get sucked in from the front, always keep the cord clear, or you will have to cut it and join it back( happened already)

2) only buy the 3M or bosch belts it might be a couple $$ more but they almost never burst
the belt will get dead before it burst,
the cheap type as it touches the wood they snap, wasted alot of $$ and the belts were still new

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 24th, 2013, 1:21 am

X

That's a good price, cause the one you posted selling for about $3300.

Good tips as well, will keep it in mind.

The one I got has power to spare and is sufficient for my needs......heavy no arse though.

Could only imagine for the bigger one.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 24th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Firewall wrote:That's a good price, cause the one you posted selling for about $3300.
$3300???... For a portable belt sander???... Jeezus H!!! :shocked!:
It's a damn good thing my late Dad already had one.

Here's the same model: Manufacturer refurbished WITH full warranty & FREE SHIPPING (in US) for US $150 (3 available.)

Link--> Porter Cable 352VSR Reconditioned 352VS 3 x 21 Inch Variable Speed Belt Sander.

My $0.02¢

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 24th, 2013, 9:14 pm

i bought the rigid about 3 years ago and it really compares to the makita or bosch
Black friday sales coming up , i needs to look for a circ saw . Last bosch did not survive a 40foot drop from my parents roof due to a careless worker who "borrowed" my tool,Never feel sorry for someone who has no tools.
That day was the end of my lending tools.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 24th, 2013, 10:54 pm

^^ loan mih the table saw na.

Guys heard southern wholesale in marabella has sale on Saturday, should be nice prices on hand tools like shovels and hand brushes.

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2013, 7:10 am

MonsterPower wrote:i bought the rigid about 3 years ago and it really compares to the makita or bosch
Black friday sales coming up , i needs to look for a circ saw . Last bosch did not survive a 40foot drop from my parents roof due to a careless worker who "borrowed" my tool,Never feel sorry for someone who has no tools.
That day was the end of my lending tools.

Have a worker doing some stuff for us. Loaned him my cordless drill....get it back with PVC paste all over it. Loaned him my new hammer drill with a new 5 pack of sds bits. 3 bits missing as well as the ruler/stopper thingy that comes with the drill. He ask me for a screwdriver d other day and I tell him use his finger cuz I doh have any

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 25th, 2013, 9:58 am

OffshoreMarketing wrote:peeps where i getting my hands on a good drill? nothign to spensive but with alil torque?

went bhags buh they sold out of anything less than 1200 trincity branch -- no care for cordless

I bought a McCulloch Drill from Pricesmart approx. (5) years ago.

HammerDrill.jpg
HammerDrill.jpg (12.27 KiB) Viewed 2084 times

^^Looks like this without the fore grip. Wanted a "cheap" drill at that time and got one.

Can't remember the price right now but it was real cheap (cost wise).

It's also a hammer drill and I have put that through some real pressure over the years with no problems so far..

Did things like: Drilled Concrete Driveways, Concrete Walls, Block Walls, Wood, Steel... I even mixed cement with it.

It has adjustable speed settings and on/off hammer control.

Not sure if they might still have any, but I post this in case you see one anywhere else.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 25th, 2013, 11:17 am

Have not seen those in Pmart in a while. They tend to have Skil these days.

Postby X_Factor » October 25th, 2013, 3:22 pm

the dewalt 511 will cost less than 950
the porter cable PC70 will cost less than 850
Skill 6645 will cost less than 600
all via skybox!!

the best deal i've seen locally in a while is some 7.25 bosch saw blades selling in home mart for 45$ each(not the daredevil blades but same C3 micro carbide stuff)
i may go buy 3 or 4 on monday jus cause its cheap!

Postby pioneer » October 25th, 2013, 3:36 pm

Pricesmart had a Bosch hammer drill some weeks back

Not sure if it still there but the price was excellent

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 25th, 2013, 6:00 pm

I have the DW 511. Excellent drill. Ditto on the landed price.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 25th, 2013, 6:42 pm

L&DG have sale if anyone interested :!:
LDG.jpg

Postby pioneer » October 25th, 2013, 6:43 pm

So 20% off the 20% markup

Nice

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 25th, 2013, 7:08 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
OffshoreMarketing wrote:peeps where i getting my hands on a good drill? nothign to spensive but with alil torque?

I bought a McCulloch Drill from Pricesmart approx. (5) years ago.

HammerDrill.jpg

^^Looks like this without the fore grip. Wanted a "cheap" drill at that time and got one.

Can't remember the price right now but it was real cheap (cost wise).

It's also a hammer drill and I have put that through some real pressure over the years with no problems so far..

Did things like: Drilled Concrete Driveways, Concrete Walls, Block Walls, Wood, Steel... I even mixed cement with it.

It has adjustable speed settings and on/off hammer control.

Not sure if they might still have any, but I post this in case you see one anywhere else.

i remeber seeing thos they looked good don't see em anymore thanks

picked up a Black and Decker Hammer drill for 499.00 @ the home store in El Socorro area working good so far for the price

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 26th, 2013, 10:36 am

pioneer wrote:So 20% off the 20% markup

Nice

Went there on Thursday, even with the discount it's cheaper to skybox in most of their tools.

Walked through the whole of toolstore and bought a steering cover. :|

todd61

Postby todd61 » November 10th, 2013, 10:38 am

Anyone know if bhagwansingh opening on Sunday yet