tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » September 12th, 2013, 11:39 pm

Most likely foreign used.. Then wondering why they have random blowouts on the highway etc..

Oh welll. Once its only them they kill when they in a fireball on the side of the road

Postby Ted_v2 » September 13th, 2013, 12:53 am

I would rather run on some foreign used tires than some Smooth tires which needed changing

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 13th, 2013, 2:03 am

Would you rather some WINTER foreign used tyres?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 13th, 2013, 6:15 am

daz chit :|

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 13th, 2013, 9:56 am

Well it was four matching tyres and they all had more bead that a FU and looked nice. I will look out for it again and take some pics when I am in that area again.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 13th, 2013, 3:49 pm

It doesnt matter how they look, it is about how they are designed to function. Those winter tyres will overheat if used in the wrong season and can lead to catastrophic blowouts etc. Not to mention that it will wear ridiculously quickly

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » September 13th, 2013, 5:25 pm

Winter tires are probably one of the worst things you can fit on your vehicle if you live in Trinidad. I have nothing against a good foreign used tire that is suitable for our part of the world, but winter tires? Really?

Postby X_Factor » September 13th, 2013, 11:48 pm

honestly, most of the time the consumer doesnt know and maybe even the tire guy doesnt even know as well

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 14th, 2013, 6:34 pm

Ignorance is blizzak

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 16th, 2013, 2:49 pm

which tyre place have 15inch tyres with white lettering?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » September 25th, 2013, 2:00 pm

fellas need srs help. ketchin meh tail to find 255/50/17 or 245/50/17 tyres! anyone knows where has??

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » September 26th, 2013, 5:37 am

Where are you from? Go on the Eastern Main Road and check around. I find that D. Ramdath Tyre Service in Tacarigua has quite a variety. Call first 640-5519.

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » September 27th, 2013, 3:07 pm

Where can I get Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 or Nokian zLine? or any other comparable tyres
for daily use.
No Nexen or Triangle please.

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » September 28th, 2013, 10:19 am

Sumitomo Z3, any reviews?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » September 28th, 2013, 10:39 am

Supposed to be good tyres

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » September 28th, 2013, 10:41 am

Eagle f1s can try automotive components in arima. Nokian has no local agents afaik. But they come foreign used.

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » September 28th, 2013, 10:56 am

Thanks for reply GTi Guy.

Dunlop DZ101 vs Sumitomo Z3.. which better?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » September 29th, 2013, 6:45 am

I had personal experience with the dz101 and in the wet the most polite way I can describe them is as poop. Try the sumitomo read a lot of good things on the z3

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » October 2nd, 2013, 7:11 am

^ Bridgestone for the win bro.

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 9th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Thinking about buying the dunlop sp sport maxx. I know its a very good tyre but im wondering how long would it last for a daily car from the "240" treadwear rating?

And also how would the sumitomo zii work for a stock daily driver (B14) with occasional aggressive driving? I need great wet and dry braking especially since there is no ABS .I know the ziii is better but they dont make 16's in that
Last edited by 5forward on October 9th, 2013, 10:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 9th, 2013, 4:17 pm

Nick_2NR wrote:Sumitomo Z3, any reviews?
They're extremely decent tyres, MUCH better than DZ101s. Have them on my car right now, and for the price I would definitely recommend them.

Just make sure it's the ZIII you get, and not the ZII - I've never tried those, but read some very poor reviews on those.

I think Duane also said the Sumitomo ZII were some of the worst tyres he ran on his evo :lol:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 9th, 2013, 4:51 pm

i got 255/45 sumitomo Z2 last week they decent but have not had the chance for wet testing yet..

Postby X_Factor » October 10th, 2013, 9:01 pm

5forward wrote:Thinking about buying the dunlop sp sport maxx. I know its a very good tyre but im wondering how long would it last for a daily car from the "240" treadwear rating?

And also how would the sumitomo zii work for a stock daily driver (B14) with occasional aggressive driving? I need great wet and dry braking especially since there is no ABS .I know the ziii is better but they dont make 16's in that

predictive braking rather than reactive braking and any decent tire should be sufficient
great wet braking----drop under 100kph and relax, the best tire cant help you if there is a bir of oily residue on the road since there are too many variables to consider in wet conditions

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2013, 1:51 pm

5forward wrote:Thinking about buying the dunlop sp sport maxx. I know its a very good tyre but im wondering how long would it last for a daily car from the "240" treadwear rating?

where u getting the sport maxx?
those are some of the best tyres ive ever used wet and dry really only last about a year though
i believe they came on the swift sport also

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 20th, 2013, 11:59 am

cinco wrote:where u getting the sport maxx?
those are some of the best tyres ive ever used wet and dry really only last about a year though
i believe they came on the swift sport also

tyre clinic montrose is where I got my set. I hated them though and the road noise when they get low is horrendous.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 20th, 2013, 4:05 pm

I need some new tyres, looking at either Contitential conti purecontact with eco plus or the Bridgestone Potenza.

Thoughts?
Also anyone ever imported tires? Might ocean freight in these guys, one local continental tyre is 3500TT plus vat and running me $500 usd for all 4

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 20th, 2013, 4:50 pm

Via skybox will cost approximately $6.5k landed for 4 Contis. Ocean freight should be cheaper on the shipping.

This is a tire comparison from Consumer Reports Magazine for Nov 2013

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 22nd, 2013, 7:49 pm

I went with the Conti All Season ultra performance tyres; Extreme contact DWS. Running me landed $7000TT, got it through a local dealer, less headache on my part.
You can't simply skybox it in, doesn't bureau of standards need to stamp it?

The all season tyre seemed a better fit for our roads vs the Summer tire especially with Wet Traction.

I'll let you guys know how it runs. I'm currently on the Pirelli's.

Next tyre I"ll try is the P Zero.

Postby X_Factor » October 22nd, 2013, 7:54 pm

they dont need to pass new tires
f.used only

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 23rd, 2013, 7:38 am

All Seasons are not for our roads, we don't have snow.

Conti DWS is Dry, Wet + Snow