Accounting vs. Law

Re: Accounting vs. Law

Postby Kenjo » October 17th, 2013, 8:32 am

Sabriel wrote:..specialised doctors make more money on a daily basis...jus saying...

Some are pharmacy owners too...they don't need a degree in business management to make money and live a rewarding life...

LOL
Please keep the OP away from medicine ......everyone else in the thread is saying that in any career it is a long hard road before you make any real money and all of these careers are very time consuming. Her sole purpose seems to be only money so keep her right along the path where she is because it isn't to benefit others but herself so let her stick to law and accounting please!!!!

Postby S_2NR » October 17th, 2013, 8:40 am

all this money talk, you could NEVER have enough money. if u start chasing money over everything else now, u will never stop.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 17th, 2013, 8:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you'd lol at this: get a 5acres and about 50k and start planting gyarden...srs.

If only...This would be ideal for me *win, win*

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 17th, 2013, 8:54 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:Hi All, I have a question to ask (duh, hence new post, lol)

I saw that and immediately realized that OP cannot be taken seriously, further backed up by statements made in thread.

There are plenty people in both fields catching hell to get good paying jobs and they have experience

Your ASSumptons are wrong, what's wrong with making a little joke?

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 17th, 2013, 8:56 am

S_2NR wrote:all this money talk, you could NEVER have enough money. if u start chasing money over everything else now, u will never stop.

Who said I was only chasing money, money would always be there. But I like both Law & Accounting so I was asking for advice on which one to do. But some ppl saw only the money part smh.

Postby Sky » October 17th, 2013, 9:05 am

Finance, not accounting.

88sins wrote:Both of those fields are really saturated these days. I'd recommend fiscal/financial management( or macroeconomics, if you think you'd like a challenge for a main course & some gray hair on the side)

If you suppliment your BM deg with accounting, you'll be at the bottom doing paperwork for a long time. Do what 88sins said.
Besides, you's rather not work and get paid. With your finance knowledge you can make that a reality ;)
In Law, you're guaranteed doing paperwork for a longer time. Unless you sell your soul and go into criminal, where's you'd either stay private and save some bad people to prove yourself, or settle for a gubment low rate wuk prosecuting them.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 17th, 2013, 10:40 am

Sky wrote:Finance, not accounting.

88sins wrote:Both of those fields are really saturated these days. I'd recommend fiscal/financial management( or macroeconomics, if you think you'd like a challenge for a main course & some gray hair on the side)

If you suppliment your BM deg with accounting, you'll be at the bottom doing paperwork for a long time. Do what 88sins said.
Besides, you's rather not work and get paid. With your finance knowledge you can make that a reality ;)
In Law, you're guaranteed doing paperwork for a longer time. Unless you sell your soul and go into criminal, where's you'd either stay private and save some bad people to prove yourself, or settle for a gubment low rate wuk prosecuting them.

Thanks for the advice. I will look into financial management and see if it's something I would want to do.

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 11:10 am

Sabriel wrote:..specialised doctors make more money on a daily basis...jus saying...

Some are pharmacy owners too...they don't need a degree in business management to make money and live a rewarding life...

Doctors with a pharmacy or a Medical Lab doing it for the money. Hence rewarding life.

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 11:13 am

LovinDiva wrote:
S_2NR wrote:all this money talk, you could NEVER have enough money. if u start chasing money over everything else now, u will never stop.

Who said I was only chasing money, money would always be there. But I like both Law & Accounting so I was asking for advice on which one to do. But some ppl saw only the money part smh.

Money is the only thing that matter. You have the ambition and brains - so now make the money and see how life changes ... and I talking big money made legal.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 17th, 2013, 11:32 am

all this talk about which is better than the other or which field to choose...accounting at any lvls cant compare to a lawyer when you talking about money, you would think that you have to get into a "firm" to get work in courts representing people, or open an office by yourself to make it, but you dont...its not hard...its all about how you represent yourself and what you bring forward....there are many options from going on ur own, working for someone representing their name, or working for the government(DPP) or the legal aid authority, with all options, you will be paid well....as compared to an accountant...ILAS is doing well with students and Hugh wooding is ur choice for Lec....

Postby S_2NR » October 17th, 2013, 11:43 am

Rock Thor wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:

Money is the only thing that matter. You have the ambition and brains - so now make the money and see how life changes ... and I talking big money made legal.

LMAO. how balanced is your life in pursuit of this money?

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2013, 11:43 am

LovinDiva wrote:
src1983 wrote:Law but do what you like, doing a profession based on how much money you think you can make, will leave you frustrated

I don't generally like doing anything, If it was up to that I would be home scratching my ass & colleting a very hefty salary for doing so....

Well, you could make a fine living by offering affluent gentlemen timed vaginal incursions for financial consideration. Unless you fat, in which case financial affluence you seek may take a bit longer

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 11:50 am

S_2NR wrote:
Rock Thor wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:

LMAO. how balanced is your life in pursuit of this money?

You have to have a balanced life. But the priority is the making of money, legal.
Guy have brains now he set his life to make money. Big money with further education,

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 17th, 2013, 11:51 am

konartis wrote:all this talk about which is better than the other or which field to choose...accounting at any lvls cant compare to a lawyer when you talking about money, you would think that you have to get into a "firm" to get work in courts representing people, or open an office by yourself to make it, but you dont...its not hard...its all about how you represent yourself and what you bring forward....there are many options from going on ur own, working for someone representing their name, or working for the government(DPP) or the legal aid authority, with all options, you will be paid well....as compared to an accountant...ILAS is doing well with students and Hugh wooding is ur choice for Lec....

And any ACCA qualified accountant would have had to study Financial Management.

As I mentioned before, get to know way more about your potential career path than just being in Accounting or Law. That's for primary school kids.

Very very basic example.
Senior audit partner in a Big 4 firm managing US$M accounts
vs
Accounts clerk who enters vouchers

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 17th, 2013, 11:56 am

Since OP seems to be in it for the money and thinks she can go all the way, why not seriously look into Investment Banking?

It seems to be a great choice of career for those who are ambitious.

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 17th, 2013, 4:31 pm

Chase the big legal money ! And every thing else will come to you !! Money = Happiness

Postby S_2NR » October 17th, 2013, 5:02 pm

Rock Thor wrote:Chase the big legal money ! And every thing else will come to you !! Money = Happiness

:rofl: :rofl:

this is gold

Postby Ted_v2 » October 17th, 2013, 5:05 pm

legal is wasting time, so is accounting.

Do something constructive like bringing down car parts eg, finishers, dizzy, new sheit for old cars

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 17th, 2013, 7:14 pm

konartis wrote:all this talk about which is better than the other or which field to choose...accounting at any lvls cant compare to a lawyer when you talking about money, you would think that you have to get into a "firm" to get work in courts representing people, or open an office by yourself to make it, but you dont...its not hard...its all about how you represent yourself and what you bring forward....there are many options from going on ur own, working for someone representing their name, or working for the government(DPP) or the legal aid authority, with all options, you will be paid well....as compared to an accountant...ILAS is doing well with students and Hugh wooding is ur choice for Lec....

Thanks. I think I've made my decision. Law ftw

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 17th, 2013, 7:19 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:legal is wasting time, so is accounting.

Do something constructive like bringing down car parts eg, finishers, dizzy, new sheit for old cars

Postby Sky » October 17th, 2013, 8:21 pm

You're laughing, but so are the people who do that stuff, all the way to the bank.
I can't wait to pay off my house so I can quit playing it safe with a stable job and start a small business. That's where the money is.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 18th, 2013, 8:54 am

teaching is the best job to have.

15 weeks holiday a year + 2 weeks leave so that maybe 17 weeks in total

$12,000. a month starters

Lessons money = 30 students x 500 a month = $15000 tax free

total earnings - $27k a month
For an early to mid twenties person, that kinda money while living with parents = at least $1,000,000. cash savings in 3 years

lmakaveli

Postby lmakaveli » October 18th, 2013, 9:23 am

LovinDiva wrote:
src1983 wrote:Law but do what you like, doing a profession based on how much money you think you can make, will leave you frustrated

I don't generally like doing anything, If it was up to that I would be home scratching my ass & colleting a very hefty salary for doing so....

Well, you could make a fine living by offering affluent gentlemen timed vaginal incursions for financial consideration. Unless you fat, in which case financial affluence you seek may take a bit longer

^^^^this

lmakaveli

Postby lmakaveli » October 18th, 2013, 9:29 am

acesinghit wrote:teaching is the best job to have.

For an early to mid twenties person, that kinda money while living with parents = at least $1,000,000. cash savings in 3 years

not necessarily. the vacation teachers get is the best but salary wise? primary school teaching is a waste. at start, they make sumwhere around $6,000 - $7,000. secondary school teachers make about $10,000...hav a partner teachin econ 6th form in CIC an he makin a lil more dan 10. so dat along wit lessons.....secondary school fuh eet.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 19th, 2013, 10:42 am

Sky wrote:You're laughing, but so are the people who do that stuff, all the way to the bank.
I can't wait to pay off my house so I can quit playing it safe with a stable job and start a small business. That's where the money is.

I agree with this.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 19th, 2013, 10:43 am

where you get these figures from?

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 19th, 2013, 11:35 am

i hope yur not a teacher because you cant even do simple maths

Postby RASC » October 20th, 2013, 12:24 am

This is single handedly one of the stupidest/missinformed threads on chuna right now. From the OP to the "advice" given.

Postby De Dragon » October 20th, 2013, 3:32 am

To give a proper answer to your question would require a gauge on the fatness of eet...

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 20th, 2013, 8:32 am

lawyers eventually hold high office

e.g Kamla & carmona

tlk done