but it usually doeskjaglal76 wrote:MG Man wrote:half the population cannot even handle a car properly / responsibly.....gi dem guns??
O_o
stop pulling stats out yur bamcee plz, nuh bcuz.ppl.doh come "race" in carpark doh mean dey cant drive
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I am not basing my decision on a petty concept that "oh I'm not affected" that is not the case at all. I think I am absolutely affected and while I do feel more secure mentally with a firearm I do not think that is the answer to our core problem.PariaMan wrote:I wonder if Duanes wife and children were raped and abused in his own house while he watches on impotently if he would still have the same opinion!
I've been held up at gun point and stuffed in my own trunk already (2001) and I still feel the same way about arming citizens.
the point I'm making is that we need to address the issue of bandits coming into people's houses in the first place rather than find a plaster for a sore that would soon fester and next thing we have the wild west where bandits come with a rocket launcher by your house - what then?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:if you are using ratio as an argument i.e. "bigger guns give us a better fighting chance", then should the government allow everyone to carry as much firepower as they feel necessary so as to increase their chances? where is the legal limit set?[X]~Outlaw wrote:Duane you're talking about escalation but right now law abiding citizens have no means to defend themselves.
If things do escalate and bandits do get "bigger" guns that would still be better than now. Why? Because at least then you have a fighting chance to retaliate, now..you have NONE.
kjaglal76 wrote:Redman wrote:PariaMan wrote:Redman wrote:88sins wrote:Who else is in?
That eh hard -I have a maxi load a men waiting to sign upI wonder if Duanes wife and children were raped and abused in his own house while he watches on impotently if he would still have the same opinion!
This is crap.
Why? This is a reality! It has happened in trinidad many times!
Someone is breaking into your house in the middle of the night. What do you do?
What is the recommendation from the Police?
How can you defend yourself?
What are the options?
When you know the bandits coming in fully armed?
If you need to bring these kinda extreme scenarios into an argument to make a point you don't have one.
pal dat i reality, it happens right thru in trini, that aint extreme, is the norm.
come up for some air plz
the problem there then is the enforcement of the rules of the race. The solution in such a race CANNOT be to let everyone break the rules[/quote]!!!
I am all for that, but if done properly alot of people who think they deserve a firearm license will not get one unless that screen process is relaxed.
probably because of the current process to get a licensed firearm?
relax the process and make it easier to get a licensed firearm and that will change.
if we apply that to a crime plan then the gun problem will not exist in the first place and citizens will not need to arm themselves.[/quote]Redman wrote:The challenge we have is in fact to maintain an oversite process that is effective,implemented and maintained.
Redman wrote:kjaglal76 wrote:Redman wrote:PariaMan wrote:Redman wrote:88sins wrote:Who else is in?
That eh hard -I have a maxi load a men waiting to sign upI wonder if Duanes wife and children were raped and abused in his own house while he watches on impotently if he would still have the same opinion!
This is crap.
What are the options?
If you need to bring these kinda extreme scenarios into an argument to make a point you don't have one.
pal dat i reality, it happens right thru in trini, that aint extreme, is the norm.
come up for some air plz
Reality or not setting an extreme hypothetical scenario proves nothing.
In any argument.
As an aside, since it happening right through , post a link to a newspaper article on the last time there was a situation as you described.and the one before that.
In Trinidad.
Shouldn't be too hard since as you say it ain't extreme and it's the norm.
I eh holding my breath,pal
Redman wrote:kjaglal76 wrote:Redman wrote:PariaMan wrote:Redman wrote:88sins wrote:Who else is in?
This is crap.
What are the options?
come up for some air plz
Reality or not setting an extreme hypothetical scenario proves nothing.
In any argument.
As an aside, since it happening right through , post a link to a newspaper article on the last time there was a situation as you described.and the one before that.
In Trinidad.
Shouldn't be too hard since as you say it ain't extreme and it's the norm.
I eh holding my breath,pal
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I am not basing my decision on a petty concept that "oh I'm not affected" that is not the case at all. I think I am absolutely affected and while I do feel more secure mentally with a firearm I do not think that is the answer to our core problem.
I've been held up at gun point and stuffed in my own trunk already (2001) and I still feel the same way about arming citizens.
the point I'm making is that we need to address the issue of bandits coming into people's houses in the first place rather than find a plaster for a sore that would soon fester and next thing we have the wild west where bandits come with a rocket launcher by your house - what then?
you want examples in trinidad? Because examples in another society would be irrelevant. Japan has very low gun ownership while the US has the highest per capita.Firewall wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I am not basing my decision on a petty concept that "oh I'm not affected" that is not the case at all. I think I am absolutely affected and while I do feel more secure mentally with a firearm I do not think that is the answer to our core problem.
Can you please provide TWO verified examples of where providing access to firearms to citizens has resulted in this escalation of which you speak?
It is becoming a bit "rantish" if your main reason is "bandits with rocket launchers and/or tanks" when there is no posted evidence to support it.
Apparently the police/coast guard/customs have all gone on holiday in you scenario where all bandits get tanks et al.
What then? The only response to that would the equally inane "sharks with laser beams...."
and this is for unlicensed firearms used for turf wars. When The Gov't allows citizens to bear arms and makes it easier this same mentality will continue with legal firearms where you want a bigger gun than the other person to protect yourself. The gangs going to start to bring in even heavier weapons than what is legal, soon after... rocket launchersMB: How do the guns come in?
CB: Is from Venezuela we does get we thing you know it easy we does pay the Coast Guard man it come in on a dingy it reach half way we keep it off the radar with the money we pay him for a little while cause is really the bigger boats they does pick up.
MB: What kind of guns are we talking about here?
CB: We have AR 15s AK nines we dealing with we don’t sell any gun that is to protect we self and we turf.
MB: How much guns we talking about here?
CB: Sometimes we go send for 5-6 hand guns two big guns to protect yourself because you seeing other places with bigger guns so the more firepower the better and the more ammunition you send for.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Firewall wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I am not basing my decision on a petty concept that "oh I'm not affected" that is not the case at all. I think I am absolutely affected and while I do feel more secure mentally with a firearm I do not think that is the answer to our core problem.
Can you please provide TWO verified examples of where providing access to firearms to citizens has resulted in this escalation of which you speak?
It is becoming a bit "rantish" if your main reason is "bandits with rocket launchers and/or tanks" when there is no posted evidence to support it.
Apparently the police/coast guard/customs have all gone on holiday in you scenario where all bandits get tanks et al.
What then? The only response to that would the equally inane "sharks with laser beams...."
you want examples in trinidad? Because examples in another society would be irrelevant.
Really? I mean.....really? This answer honestly baffles me. Mainly because to consider any policy, one of the the first steps is to see where it has been done before and how successful/unsuccessful it has been considering factors including economic, political and social. So i guess to claim irrelevance of examples due to society is astounding
Japan has very low gun ownership
while the US has the highest per capita.
And guns go bang...........
Neither of the three statements above exemplify anything about the escalation "theory"
(Loosely called a theory because apparently this cannot be universally tested) .
You accuse me of rantish behaviour but you seem to get aggravated with each response.
I honestly didn't realize we were playing that game now.......
The appropriate response would be what?
To either now get aggravated with your accusation, thus proving your point? or start a back and forth accusing you something instead? Achieving what exactly?
I honestly do not think that the tone of my posts reflects aggravation seeing that I was actually enjoying the discussion, and as you are someone who usually posts sensible arguments I was expecting more of the same. However, to date all i've gotten is rocket launchers and escalation.![]()
I stated my point of view earlier, I'm not sure why you think it is an issue that demands justification.
Again forgive me for thinking this was a discussion, where while not demanding it, justification may have been nice to understand how you arrived at your point of view.
Higher powered weapons are making their way into the country despite police/coast guard/customs NOT being on holiday.
I was actually referring to this same interview/article earlier when stating that criminals have assault rifles but citizens have no access. Clearly citizens without firearms access cannot remotely be linked as a causal factor for this.
Sep 20, 2013 - http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Man ... 02951.html
Sep 12, 2013 - http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cri ... 64481.htmlMB: How do the guns come in?
CB: Is from Venezuela we does get we thing you know it easy we does pay the Coast Guard man it come in on a dingy it reach half way we keep it off the radar with the money we pay him for a little while cause is really the bigger boats they does pick up.
MB: What kind of guns are we talking about here?
CB: We have AR 15s AK nines we dealing with we don’t sell any gun that is to protect we self and we turf.
MB: How much guns we talking about here?
CB: Sometimes we go send for 5-6 hand guns two big guns to protect yourself because you seeing other places with bigger guns so the more firepower the better and the more ammunition you send for.
and this is for unlicensed firearms used for turf wars. When The Gov't allows citizens to bear arms and makes it easier this same mentality will continue with legal firearms where you want a bigger gun than the other person to protect yourself.
So in your scenario, the gov't would allow citizens to own assault rifles or "bigger guns"? To what end?
Fact is a firearm pointed at someone does not beg the question......is this gun "big enough" to harm me? I honestly don't think that thought enters the minds of either civilians or criminals.
"Big" or "Small" all guns do the same job as an equalizer if both parties are armed.
Where is this "mentality" that you keep referring to derived from and again, where is the empirical evidence to support?
OR
Is it a "Trinidadian thing" that does not occur anywhere else in the world?
The gangs going to start to bring in even heavier weapons than what is legal,
Did you proof read your post for continuity? Because a couple lines up you posted a link where they are actually doing what you claim may happen.
soon after... rocket launchers
................![]()
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:My mention of rocket launchers are only an extreme example. I very well understand how impractical and cumbersome such a weapon would be to walk around with.
Again and hopefully for the last time: big guns will beget bigger guns... as the gang leader stated they already do here in T&T
"Researchers Andrew Leigh and Christine Neill found that the gun buybacks were responsible for an 80 percent drop in firearm suicides and a sharp drop in gun homicides as well, although the latter could not be as precisely tied to the new laws. Today's firearm death rate is less than half of what it was in 1996. The sharpest declines in firearm deaths occurred in the states with the greatest number of gun buybacks. The number of stolen weapons, too, declined sharply following the reforms."
Brazil holds the world record for civilian gun deaths, reaching close to 40,000 in the early 2000s.
Robert Muggah, research director at Igarapé Institute in Rio de Janeiro, says that Brazil's major cities were virtually uninhabitable or in full crisis mode by the late 1990s. In 2003, a comprehensive new law banned gun carrying by civilians...
Researchers Daniel Cerqueira and Joao De Mello of Rio's Catholic University found that firearm availability dropped following the law's introduction and estimated that it may have reduced total homicides in Brazil by 7.4 percent. Gun deaths had declined by about 5,000 by 2010.
Gun sales have also declined dramatically in recent years due to the tough screening of potential buyers. Brazil has attempted to tackle the gun culture by launching a series of national campaigns in which soccer and soap opera stars urge people to voluntarily give up their guns. There is still a long way to go but Brazil is taking constructive steps that are producing results.
http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/2013-0 ... gun-owners
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A buyback scheme was established to compensate gun owners for banned weapons.
"Researchers Andrew Leigh and Christine Neill found that the gun buybacks were responsible for an 80 percent drop in firearm suicides and a sharp drop in gun homicides as well, although the latter could not be as precisely tied to the new laws. Today's firearm death rate is less than half of what it was in 1996. The sharpest declines in firearm deaths occurred in the states with the greatest number of gun buybacks. The number of stolen weapons, too, declined sharply following the reforms."
Reforms included the banning of automatic and semi-automatic long arms, a uniform licensing and registration system in all eight states and territories, gun safety training for all first-time license applicants; a uniform standard for the storage of firearms; and the need for all gun sales to proceed through licensed dealers.
The above paragraph should IMO be the foundation of successful firearm legislation, not a reform. However, there is no need for a citizen to own Auto/Semi-Automatic long Arms
Brazil holds the world record for civilian gun deaths, reaching close to 40,000 in the early 2000s.
Robert Muggah, research director at Igarapé Institute in Rio de Janeiro, says that Brazil's major cities were virtually uninhabitable or in full crisis mode by the late 1990s. In 2003, a comprehensive new law banned gun carrying by civilians...banned guns over .38 caliber, increased the minimum age of gun purchases to 25 years, added 15 requirements to gun applications (e.g., passing a psychological exam, knowledge of gun safety, and payment of a $1,000 fee), established a national gun registry, and created new penalties for gun offenses.
Again should be at the foundation of successful legislation
Researchers Daniel Cerqueira and Joao De Mello of Rio's Catholic University found that firearm availability dropped following the law's introduction and estimated that it may have reduced total homicides in Brazil by 7.4 percent. Gun deaths had declined by about 5,000 by 2010.
Gun sales have also declined dramatically in recent years due to the tough screening of potential buyers. Brazil has attempted to tackle the gun culture by launching a series of national campaigns in which soccer and soap opera stars urge people to voluntarily give up their guns. There is still a long way to go but Brazil is taking constructive steps that are producing results.
http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/2013-0 ... gun-owners