Re: The Hobbit

Postby RASC » June 13th, 2013, 10:36 am

Zzzzz

Postby Dizzy28 » June 13th, 2013, 11:33 am

Fini wrote:And Cumberbatch ( played ' John Harrison' in Star trek) is voicing for Smaug. oohhhhhh, you are going to feel that voice in your stomach.

Can't wait.

So that makes two characters he is playing cuz he is also the Necromancer.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 1st, 2013, 1:32 pm

Smaug's voice will rock the cinema! :D

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 1st, 2013, 2:13 pm

Goddammit that looks good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

G-T

Postby G-T » October 1st, 2013, 3:46 pm

I can't wait! :D :D :D :P :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2013, 9:40 am

they kill the dragon in the end
muahahahahahahahaha
I spoilz it

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 2nd, 2013, 10:27 am

fack you nuh MG Man!!!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 2nd, 2013, 10:46 am

I read the book.

pause will still be risen in December...

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 2nd, 2013, 11:17 am

searchingone wrote:I read the book.

pause will still be risen in December...

:? :?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 2nd, 2013, 11:41 am

that word is approved by the 3ne2ner dikshunary hoss

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 2nd, 2013, 11:49 am

^^the word is ok, but the use of the word is wrong.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 2nd, 2013, 11:55 am

na the use is ok

G-T

Postby G-T » October 2nd, 2013, 12:12 pm

MG Man wrote:they kill the dragon in the end
muahahahahahahahaha
I spoilz it

yeah we know, we read the book... :wink:

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2013, 1:55 pm

There was a book?????

Postby maj. tom » October 2nd, 2013, 4:05 pm

Book doesn't climax when they kill the dragon, so don't be one of those who exits the cinema early.
Massive battle of 5 armies

G-T

Postby G-T » October 2nd, 2013, 4:19 pm

I am the first one seated and the last to leave... although I feel Peter Jackson will put that piece in the third...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 2nd, 2013, 7:41 pm

oooooooo orlando bloom... *opens legs*

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2013, 8:09 pm

Somebody opened a window ?

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » October 2nd, 2013, 8:17 pm

can't wait to see this movie, Ben Cumberbatch as the voice of Smaug will be epic!

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2013, 3:14 pm

I always imagined Smaug would have sounded like Elmo

Postby maj. tom » October 3rd, 2013, 5:51 pm

A small excerpt from my Tolkien Bestiary by David Day (copyright 1979) on Dragons so you all could understand just how dread and evil these creatures were in Tolkien's works.

Smaug is a fire drake. There are 3 types of dragons that Morgoth created in the Pits of Angband:

"great serpents that slithered, those that walked on legs and those that flew with wings like the Bat. Of there kinds there were two types: the Cold-drake who foguth with fang and claw, and the miraculous Uruloki Fire-drakes, who destroyed with breath of flame. All dragons were the embodiment of the chief evils of Men, Elves and Dwarves, and so were great in the destruction of those races."

Of course you can read Quenta Silmarillion to learn about this amazing history of Middle Earth that Tolkien created, about Morgoth, the Valar and the Maiar spirits, Elves, Men etc.

"The Dragons were in themselves vast armouries that worked toward Morgoth's aims. The reptiles were of massive size and power and were protected by scales of impenetrable iron. Tooth and nail were like javelin and rapier. The winged Dragons swept the land below them with hurricane winds, and the Fire-drakes breathed scarlet and green flames that licked the Earth and destroyed all in their path.

Beyond the strength of arms, Dragons carried other more subtle powers. Their eyesight was keener than the hawk's and anything that they sighted could not escape them. They had hearing that would catch the sound of the slightest breath of the most silent enemy, and a sense of smell that allowed them to name any creature by the least odour of its flesh.

The intelligence of Dragons was renowned, and was their love of setting and solving riddles. Dragons were ancient serpents and so were creatures of immense cleverness and knowledge but not of wisdom, for their intelligence had the flaws of vanity, gluttony, greed, deceit and wrath.

Being created chiefly of the elements of fire and sorcery, the Dragons shunned water and preferred darkness to the light of day. Dragon blood was black and deadly poison, and the vapours of their worm-stench were of burning sulphur and slime. Their bodies glowed always with a hard, gem-like flame. Their laughter was deeper than well-shafts and made the very mountains quake. The eyes of Dragons emitted rays of ruby light or in anger flashed red lightning. Their cruel reptilian voices were harsh whispers and, combined with the intensity of the serpent eye, invoked the Dragon-spell that bound unwary foes and made them wish to surrender to the beast's awesome will."

Big battle in the First Age of the Sun where Melkor was exiled to the void forever and most Dragons were slain or left for the north. In the Third Age of the Sun a great fire-drake named Smaug came from the north when he heard of the dwarves treasure and took it. The rest of that story will be in the films.

(Not a film spoiler, but I don't know if it may spoil your experience). Careful.
Gandalf feared greatly that this terrible dragon would be seduced to work with the Necromancer, who is Sauron before he rebuilt Baradur in Mordor. He existed as a spirit from the time Isildur cut the Ring from his finger. He is a Maiar spirit, as is Gandalf and the other 4 Istari. Gandalf kept trying to tell the council of Elron, Galadriel and Sauraman, but they would not listen until it was too late, 80 years later when Frodo set out on his journey. Btw, Bilbo kept the Ring for 60 years before he passed it to Frodo. Frodo kept it unused for about 16 years before Gandalf discovered it was really the One Ring and they set out for Bree. The film is obviously different for cinematic purposes.

The Hobbit (initially written as children's book) and the LOTR are actually quite tame events compared to what happened in the history of Middle Earth up to the Third Age of the Sun.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 3rd, 2013, 7:08 pm

^^^that was very interesting....much obliged

Postby MG Man » October 4th, 2013, 8:24 am

I still say Smaug should sound like Elmo

Postby pete » October 4th, 2013, 8:41 am

maj. tom wrote:Book doesn't climax when they kill the dragon, so don't be one of those who exits the cinema early.

Isn't it a trilogy?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2013, 11:30 am

pete wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Book doesn't climax when they kill the dragon, so don't be one of those who exits the cinema early.

Isn't it a trilogy?
it's based on one book "The Hobbit", but Jackson split it into 3 movies.

"The Lord of the Rings" was published in 3 volumes "Fellowship of the Ring", "The Two Towers" and "The Return of the King" which Jackson did one movie for each volume.

Tolkien meant for The Silmarillion to be part of that epic as well, which it is.

Perhaps Jackson may do The Silmarillion as a trilogy movie too!

on a time line, first would be The Silmarillion, then The Hobbit, then The Lord of the Rings

G-T

Postby G-T » October 4th, 2013, 11:37 am

another lovely book "The children of Hurin"

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2013, 2:33 pm

pete wrote:

Isn't it a trilogy?

"The Lord of the Rings" was published in 3 volumes "Fellowship of the Ring", "The Two Towers" and "The Return of the King" which Jackson did one movie for each volume.

Tolkien meant for The Silmarillion to be part of that epic as well, which it is.

on a time line, first would be The Silmarillion, then The Hobbit, then The Lord of the Rings

And this is where I take a bit of umbrage with Jackson. The Hobbit isn't really that big of a book and he made a trilogy. The talknahs in here who didn't read the book would then think Legolas was in The Hobbit when he actually wasn't.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 4th, 2013, 3:22 pm

Evangelene Lilly (dunno her name in the movie) wasn't in the book either. But Jackson thought that there needed to be more female presence or something so. No scene..

Postby pete » October 4th, 2013, 3:32 pm

pete wrote:

Isn't it a trilogy?

:| I read the book. I was referring to it being a movie trilogy.

*I also find it quite amazing that a book that was half the size of one of the LOTR books could be made into three movies. After watching LOTR Fellowship I read the second book. Took me the whole year to finish it, half of it I think I read one sentence, skipped to the next page etc.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2013, 4:14 pm

^ lol I kinda answered for the edification of every one else reading.

If you think LOTR was hard to read try reading "The Lays of Beleriand". And it is just one of the 12 volumes that make up "The History of Middle Earth".

I read Hobbit and really enjoyed it, I find LOTR, especially Two Towers, was long and drawn out.
They changed the end in the movies too. In the books Saruman went to the Shire (they called him Sharkey)
"Saruman governs the Shire in secret under the name of Sharkey until the events of chapter 8 ("The Scouring of the Shire") in which Frodo and his companions return and lead a rebellion, defeating the intruders and exposing Saruman's role. He tries to kill Frodo, who subdues him and allows him to leave. As he turns to leave, he mocks the long-suffering Wormtongue who snaps and cuts his throat before being felled by Hobbit arrows."