The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 25th, 2013, 10:31 am

Been reading up on this story and it isn't as simple as some make it out to be.

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » September 25th, 2013, 11:49 am

Anyone having problems with apps randomly crashing??

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 25th, 2013, 12:44 pm

grimreaper009 wrote:Anyone having problems with apps randomly crashing??

no

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 25th, 2013, 12:45 pm

yes!

itunes radio, instagram whatsapp, and some games ..

safari real stickin for me

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 25th, 2013, 12:58 pm

no crashes here
you tried hard restarting the phone?

also try switching off background app updates in Settings > General

what device are you using? 4, 4S, 5, 5S, 5C?

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 25th, 2013, 2:19 pm

Just no youtube vids showing on forums and I get a slight delay opening the keyboard but my device is abit full ATM

Dunno why vids won't show up doh

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2013, 2:28 pm

kurps you eh want de magazine again oar?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 25th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Nope.

Postby noshownogo » September 25th, 2013, 2:58 pm

No crashes, I do experience slight lag I didn't in OS6 but it's nothing to talk about.

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2013, 3:04 pm

first time buying an iphone. should i go all out and get the 5S or the 5 even though its "obsolete" and cheaper now? is it recommended i buy a new 4s now because I like the form factor of the 4?
i find the iphone 5 kind of oblong or do u get used to it

Postby noshownogo » September 25th, 2013, 3:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:even though its "obsolete" and cheaper now?

You just cuss most of the men in here :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 25th, 2013, 3:26 pm

I personally find that orientation between landscape and portrait has a slight lag now.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 25th, 2013, 5:30 pm

Tracking a new Apple purchase from factory is over the top but still fun. Especially when it involves multiple time zones like this one. Also interesting to see the routes your package may take.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 25th, 2013, 5:44 pm

MG Man wrote:kurps you eh want de magazine again oar?

Boy I tied up these days. I asked cinco to pick it up but he mentioned he ain't have money to buy a new outfit right now.

Around the 29th I should be free, I'll give you a call and bring breakfast.

Xoxo,
The kurpal.

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2013, 6:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:first time buying an iphone. should i go all out and get the 5S or the 5 even though its "obsolete" and cheaper now? is it recommended i buy a new 4s now because I like the form factor of the 4?
from what android? Good luck. The 4 and 4S screen feels really tiny if you're accustomed to larger. And it's probably only useful for situations where u only could use one hand. I ended up going back to my 4s because of the reliability also. But I'll definitely go back later. Until I get a bigger iPhone screen size.

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » September 25th, 2013, 6:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:no crashes here

im using the I5

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2013, 9:10 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:first time buying an iphone. should i go all out and get the 5S or the 5 even though its "obsolete" and cheaper now? is it recommended i buy a new 4s now because I like the form factor of the 4?
from what android? Good luck. The 4 and 4S screen feels really tiny if you're accustomed to larger. And it's probably only useful for situations where u only could use one hand. I ended up going back to my 4s because of the reliability also. But I'll definitely go back later. Until I get a bigger iPhone screen size.

i actually prefer a smaller screen. more portable and im able to use it one handed.
how u cope with the sealed ios vs customizable android? can a jailbreak suffice

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Depends on your needs really. If u want a functional smooth operating device then look no further. As much as I love android, I often find myself distracted by the range of things I can do and there is always the risk of it fouling up. I've always encountered some minor issue with all of the mods I do. I always dread flashing and doing a wipe with a new rom because I take so long to set it up the way I want. Still though, android trumps iOS with the share cards. But iOS is catching up.

iOS has reached a point where a jailbreak is not necessary for the average user.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » September 26th, 2013, 6:16 am

My gf's Iphone 4 fell and the screen is destroyed. Where in POS/East can I get it fixed today at a great price? if I had a choice I'd go to Text Techs in Sando but I can't make that run today.

eitech

Postby eitech » September 26th, 2013, 7:48 am

Anyone using life-proof case and would you recommend it? Pros and cons.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 26th, 2013, 8:55 am

eitech wrote:Anyone using life-proof case and would you recommend it? Pros and cons.

Life Proof

Pros:
Waterproof,
could take a fall from 6 feet,
feels solid,
gives you a better grip,
give as sense of peace of mind,
scratch-proof,
can go to a water fete,
could take pics of self in shower
Has the headphone attachment

Cons
Can't hear as clear
Music is soft
toch not as sensitive
Annoying to take off/ put on
Big
Bulky
Ugly
If you don't snap it on properly and take pics of self in shower.. yuh doomed (not that this happened to me :| )
Hard to remove lightning charger-- damaged mine trying to pull it out from the cord

badart

Postby badart » September 26th, 2013, 10:09 am

Used the iphone 5s, not worth the upgrade if u have an iphone 5 unless u want the finger print scanner or the A7 chip. It Feels just like an iPhone 5 u would only notice the 64bit processor when loading/playing games.
ImageUploadedByTapatalkHD1380204199.500853.jpg

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 26th, 2013, 10:29 am

badart wrote:Used the iphone 5s, not worth the upgrade if u have an iphone 5 unless u want the finger print scanner or the A7 chip. It Feels just like an iPhone 5 u would only notice the 64bit processor when loading/playing games.

Only a matter of time before more and more apps take advantage of the new spee available.

ole whore

Postby ole whore » September 26th, 2013, 10:54 am

An apple CSR told me that the t-mobile iPhone 5s that everyone is buying to take out of the country will NOT work because it needs to be on the t-mobile system.....anyone can shed light it this is true?
He said because unlocked and contract free is two different units.
Last edited by ole whore on September 26th, 2013, 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2013, 11:09 am

badart wrote:Used the iphone 5s, not worth the upgrade if u have an iphone 5 unless u want the finger print scanner or the A7 chip. It Feels just like an iPhone 5 u would only notice the 64bit processor when loading/playing games.
but you forgot about the updated camera:
Updated sensor with larger pixels to shoot better in low light, less grainy
A faster f/2.2 aperture on the lens.
Faster burst mode by holding down the shutter
Slow motion video capture at 120 frames per second
New dual LED Flash (white and amber smart flash)

There's also a new battery that works with the new processor to use less power and it charges quicker too.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 26th, 2013, 11:24 am

there is a lifeproof nuud which fix all the isssues on the previous model

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2013, 12:04 pm

ole whore wrote:An apple CSR told me that the t-mobile iPhone 5s that everyone is buying to take out of the country will NOT work because it needs to be on the t-mobile system.....anyone can shed light it this is true?
He said because unlocked and contract free is two different units.

This has been debunked on macrumors forum in the iPhone section. Apple csr persons are hit and miss with some saying it will and won't work. Just about every person who bought full price tmobile 5s as well as "device only" full price AT&T 5s received unlocked iPhones. As long as you don't buy these phones thru tmobile or AT&T outlets you should be fine.

See here for a more thorough discussion:

forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1640112

Several posters have posted exactly the same results as this one with others posting pics as proof of factory unlocking.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Regarding the AppleTV 6.0 update:

Apple has re-issued the 6.0 update for Apple TV devices it released last week, after the original version’s many problems including slow downloads, library loss and even some apparent bricking led the company to pull it from servers. The update is back live now, with new features including access to the iTunes Music Store for actually purchasing tracks and albums from your device, and iTunes Radio, Apple’s new free streaming online music service.
Other new features included in the update are AirPlay from iCloud, which allows you to playback videos on your Apple TV that are stored in your iCloud purchase history direct to the device via streaming, without requiring it to reside locally on either (that needs to be turned on in settings). There’s also the addition of iCloud Photos and Videos, which essentially just rebrands Photo Stream, access to Podcasts and Podcast Stations, and a new conference room mode, which displays a custom background with instructions about connecting to the network and Apple TV device for guests or presenters who might want to use the attached A/V equipment.
None of the updates are super surprising, bringing support for features included in iOS 7, but the iCloud streaming playback offers Apple TV and AirPlay users one small feature the service was lacking compared to Google’s Chromecast, and the new conference room mode is actually a big boon for Apple in terms of selling these things through to enterprise and business users as support devices for throughout offices. The update also comes just ahead of what many predict will be a hardware refresh for the device in the next month or two.
The update is available now over-the-air, and should show up in Apple TV device settings screens. Bugs users were reporting earlier should be fixed, but let us know if you find otherwise.

knorgriff

Postby knorgriff » September 26th, 2013, 10:25 pm

Yup. Happens with me all the time with my 4s while using various apps

Postby Trini Hookah » September 26th, 2013, 11:06 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:no crashes here

My fb always crashes. Even before the update.

PS the new image viewer on FB sucks.