transfer issues

Goolie

transfer issues

Postby Goolie » September 23rd, 2013, 3:24 pm

So tuners, who has experience with persons from whom they bought vehicles and ran into problems regarding transferring vehicle?
My problem is this.. bought a car from a guy.. a tuner.. asked him if the car would be easily transferable as it was not on his name (certified copy not in his name).. guy told me "yeaahhh" no problem to transfer jus call him an he will meet the registered owner and have him meet me LO..
Wen I call d guy, is some excuse.. boy I ent get time, ah working late, one set of excuses all d while all I need is to get the vehicle in my name..
My question is how do I deal with this situation? I am advised to report it to LO and they will deal with it for me..
Any information? Experiences... pls share

Mind u , I was very reluctant to buy wen I found out it wasnt on his name..
I know tuners might lambaste me but I ring my ears.. not buying any vehicles from persons who arent the registered owners again...
Be careful, out there... lots of smart men in dis place...

turbo_monkey

Re: transfer issues

Postby turbo_monkey » September 23rd, 2013, 3:49 pm

can u pull up the certified copy and locate the actual owner to transfer...sometimes a car u buy can have many previous owners and the actual owner has absolutely no contact with the seller.

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 3:57 pm

exactly. do a search on it by pulling the CC.
would actually recommend you do that, anytime you purchase a vehicle.
If it's legit, the current owner has no problem showing you they are the current owner.

Postby SMc » September 23rd, 2013, 4:01 pm

That happened to me a few years ago, except the man that sold me the car had his name on the CC (fake).

I returned the car a year later when the inspection thingy had failed and the seller gave me pretty much all the money back in cash.

I would not buy another used car in TT unless I met the owner at his/her home at some point to verify it is theirs

Goolie

Postby Goolie » September 23rd, 2013, 4:06 pm

I have the certified copy with the registered owner but d guy keep tellin me, dey look for d man n dey ent meet him , is only excuses.. I wonderin if to go myself based on the address I see in the cc

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 4:16 pm

yeah you should meet the person who OWNS the car.

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » September 23rd, 2013, 4:26 pm

i always insist on seeing certified copy on viewing. If the seller is the owner then i may make a downpayment based on the situation but only with proper receipts.

I pay certified cheque and transfer car on the same day. go separate ways after no problems..

Postby Spitfir3 » September 23rd, 2013, 4:54 pm

the deal doesn't always go sour...when i bought my car it wasn't in the current owner's name (never transferred) but she did organize with the guy whose name was on the cc and we had it transferred with no hassle it all depends on who your dealing with

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 23rd, 2013, 5:00 pm

Look out for outstanding loans on vehicles,title searches is a must ,people sell and don't pay off they loans,had a friend bought a Navara and bank came back to repo,man was owning 6 months.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » September 23rd, 2013, 5:21 pm

All points noted but in terms a proper legal procedure, should I notify LO or jus go try to meet the registered OWNER of the car?

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 23rd, 2013, 5:30 pm

i don't ever pay money until we reach licensing office and doing transfer... but thats me...

Postby skylinechild » September 23rd, 2013, 5:48 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:the deal doesn't always go sour...when i bought my car it wasn't in the current owner's name (never transferred) but she did organize with the guy whose name was on the cc and we had it transferred with no hassle it all depends on who your dealing with

THIS^^^

same thing with me. my car wasnt in the guys name it was in the previous owners name.
i arrange pay via check i tell them what date i wanted to go L.O. pick him up went L.O and transfer.

btw i think iirc theres a reasonable time frame in which a vehicle must be transferred after you buy and theres a penalty fine if you dont transfer but these days no one cares.

if the character dodgy go the the police station and make a report...see how fast the man appear and willing to transfer :lol:

E-TECH

Postby E-TECH » September 24th, 2013, 7:50 am

OP, your best option would be to locate the registered owner and deal with them directly. Hopefully the guy you purchased the car from doesn't owe them money, hence the reason why he may be dodging the arrangement of transferring the vehicle for you.

I had a similar experience some years ago and after that I vowed NEVER EVER to buy a used vehicle from someone unless:
> 1- It's the registered owner I'm dealing with directly.
> 2- The registered owner can present me with a certified copy and their driver's permit so I can confirm ownership.

In addition, as expressed by other tuners, I only make payment for a vehicle on the day of transfer,which by the way, by law, is to be done with 7 days of purchase.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 24th, 2013, 11:15 am

as mentioned above the best bet is to find the owner by pulling a fresh CC.
Pay him a visit, and request that he/she transfer.

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » September 24th, 2013, 11:31 am

Guys, as we on this topic i would like to know...If for some reason one party cannot be present for a transfer due to whatever reason..can the absent party get an Affidavit signed relinquishing ownership of the vehicle and can that be presented to transfer?

Goolie

Postby Goolie » September 24th, 2013, 11:32 am

Ok, will try to get reg'd owner based on d address on cc.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 24th, 2013, 1:09 pm

turbo_monkey wrote:Guys, as we on this topic i would like to know...If for some reason one party cannot be present for a transfer due to whatever reason..can the absent party get an Affidavit signed relinquishing ownership of the vehicle and can that be presented to transfer?

U might have to get a power of attorney authorizing the other person to transfer on the owner's behalf. Remember seeing power of attorney as one of the docs to present at the transfer counter at LO. That is an expensive legal document tho, so be absolutely sure before u go for that.

Postby cinco » September 24th, 2013, 4:01 pm

I took the owner licensing tranferred the car then took him to the bank and paid him then dropped him home

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » September 25th, 2013, 9:02 am

Racegod wrote:i don't ever pay money until we reach licensing office and doing transfer... but thats me...

Same here