zoom rader wrote:Yeah but dougla it works both ways.
Remember chin lee, pnm minster of national security no qualifications but shot him in the foot when he got the post.
zoom rader wrote:^>^ ok but there are two sides to every story so we need to hear his side. As you know you can't trust trini media as they have their own agenda .
Hirotoshi wrote:is greedy indian people,allyuh expect anything different?
rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Some ppl just need to stick to planting bodi and minding goat yes
hydroep wrote:Well, that's partly the fault of a society that over-emphasizes "on paper" qualifications as a requisite for competency. Nowadays even three quarters of them who graduate legitimately eh know their arse from their elbow
RASC wrote:hydroep wrote:Well, that's partly the fault of a society that over-emphasizes "on paper" qualifications as a requisite for competency. Nowadays even three quarters of them who graduate legitimately eh know their arse from their elbow
We have this unhealthy fascination with degrees and letters behind ones name as an indication of competency.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Be honest though if you was a professor and top of the line bess thing wa sleep with you ent you would ah be the first to ress peggie on them too?
Besides if me and you is friends and I catching my ass and you finally reach somehwere where you could help anyone.
Who you go help me or a stranger?
This is just human nature it eh have nothing to do with UNC or PNM people.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Be honest though if you was a professor and top of the line bess thing wa sleep with you ent you would ah be the first to ress peggie on them too?
Besides if me and you is friends and I catching my ass and you finally reach somehwere where you could help anyone.
on the other side they misplace the application for the more suitable individuals applying for the same position as that said family memberrfari wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Bess ting will get brace.
For family or friends i've been in similar situations and the most ive done is shepard the applicant thru (liaise with company owner/manager, explain the situation, email cv/company profile, ask for an opportunity to be given to the applicant.
After that its up to the applicant
nemisis wrote:on the other side they misplace the application for the more suitable individuals applying for the same position as that said family memberrfari wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
For family or friends i've been in similar situations and the most ive done is shepard the applicant thru (liaise with company owner/manager, explain the situation, email cv/company profile, ask for an opportunity to be given to the applicant.
rfari wrote:nemisis wrote:on the other side they misplace the application for the more suitable individuals applying for the same position as that said family memberrfari wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Yup. It has happened to ppl i know who applied for govt positions. It may have happened in previous administrations but the number of dunceyhead unc ppl ive interacted with since pp was elected u just hadda shake ur head
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:nemisis wrote:on the other side they misplace the application for the more suitable individuals applying for the same position as that said family memberrfari wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Yup. It has happened to ppl i know who applied for govt positions. It may have happened in previous administrations but the number of dunceyhead unc ppl ive interacted with since pp was elected u just hadda shake ur head
Unc ppl does sell nuts?
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:nemisis wrote:on the other side they misplace the application for the more suitable individuals applying for the same position as that said family memberrfari wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Unc ppl does sell nuts?
They try to. But some of them should stick to planting bodi and minding goat
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:nemisis wrote:on the other side they misplace the application for the more suitable individuals applying for the same position as that said family memberrfari wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:rfari wrote:Unc ppl again. If they not buying exam papers or sleeping with lecturers they forging cvs. Look at med school and u will understand the level of fraud that goes on and the number of incidents of medical negligence.
Unc ppl does sell nuts?
They try to. But some of them should stick to planting bodi and minding goat
But rfari indos were the original trini nuts and channa vendors long ago. Remember they used sell nuts and channa wrapped in brown paper cones. But you too young to remember that and I guess to need a UWI of UTT paper to authenticate it
pioneer wrote:Cudjoe was the best thing to happen to the Ministry of Finance.
lalloboy101 wrote:wah bout kams pundit, aint he on de airport board, wat quals he have?
rfari wrote:Cliffs
-rfari was hiring for nuts vendors
-one candidate was a young unc fraudster
-unc people are dishonest
- Great is the PNM
AG defends Singh
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 22, 2013 at 11:24 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 23, 2013 at 10:44 AM ECT
Attorney Jagdeo Singh was paid 50 per cent of his legal fees and did not demand any further payments, says Attorney General Anand Ramlogan.
A Sunday Express investigation found that on May 24, 2012, Singh submitted six invoices to the permanent secretary, Ministry of Transport, for providing six legal opinions at a cumulative cost of $1.82 million, representing a total of 728 hours at the rate of $2,500 an hour.
Speaking to the Express by phone yesterday, Ramlogan defended Singh, saying the Express report was sensational.
“I understand that Mr Singh has only been paid 50 per cent of what was in fact originally invoiced. That may very well reflect the compromise that was negotiated in the public interest. To his credit, he has not insisted on his full fees, as other attorneys have regardless of the circumstances,” said Ramlogan.
“It is strange that invoices that are over a year old could suddenly attract such attention. Mr Singh is a senior lawyer with over 20 years’ experience and his fees would be judged by reference to the work actually done,” said Ramlogan. He reiterated that this matter was dealt with some time ago and he did not recall the facts or precise details.
Ramlogan said requests for assistance and guidance by other ministries would normally come through the office of the Solicitor General, and approval would be granted based on consultation with the Solicitor General.
“In appropriate cases, I would reduce fees or negotiate a discount based on a wide number of factors, including the frequency with which work is given, including the volume and nature of work.”
Ramlogan questioned why no queries were made, when there was a feeding frenzy to certain lawyers under the former People’s National Movement (PNM) government.
“It is interesting to note that no questions were raised about legal fees during the tenure of the PNM, despite the fact that lucrative briefs were given to lawyers, some of whom were ten years’ junior to Mr Singh and without experience in the relevant area,” he said.
“The husband and brother of a former PNM minister received lucrative briefs on a regular basis and no one queried their fees. Several State enterprises briefed the law firms of former attorneys general under the PNM and again no query was raised regarding their fees,” added Ramlogan.
IT’S A FAKE
American university inspects certificate of former Airports Authority manager
By Denyse Renne denyse.renne@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 25, 2013 at 11:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 25, 2013 at 11:55 PM ECT
Former acting general manager of Airports Operations at the Airports Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (AATT) Dayanand Birju’s certificate from the University of Massachusetts, Boston, in the United States is a fake, the university confirmed yesterday.
The certificate, which stated he was awarded a Bachelor’s degree in computer science in 1988, was part of his curriculum vitae which led to him obtaining a managerial position at the AATT.
The position saw Birju receiving $40,000-plus a month in salary and perks.
Speaking with the Express yesterday morning, David Cesario, registrar of the University of Massachusetts, Boston, said after inspecting the certificate, “I have reviewed it and it is not authentic.”
Cesario said, four days ago, a request was made by the AATT as to whether the “certificate” was authentic. A reply has since been sent to the AATT.
Birju had said he had a BSc in computer science which was awarded on May 28, 1988 from the university.
Cesario confirmed that Birju did attend the university “from fall 1983 through fall 1987”, but did not graduate.
Cesario, when asked what action, if any, the university could take with regard to the certificate, said: “At minimum, if it is from a student, we would turn the case over to Student Affairs as a violation of the Student Code of Conduct.”
The document tendered by Birju has discrepancies.
For instance, it lists “Peter McFarlene” as the university president.
But Registry officials at the university told the Express yesterday they knew no one by that name who served as president of the university.
“Ma’am, if you go to our website, you will see all our past presidents. From 1978 to 1990, I can tell you that Mr David C Knapp was the president of the University of Massachusetts,” the official said.
Did Peter McFarlene at any time serve as the president?
“Ma’am, the information recorded shows that no Mr McFarlene served as president at any time at this university,” the official said.
The official was further asked if “Thomas Alan Caretherson” and “Veronica Miles” had served at the institution in the capacity of chancellor, Boston Campus, and chief, board of trustees, respectively, at any time, as stated on the certificate.
The official said no.
Birju tendered his resignation to chairman of the AATT Trevor Benjamin last Tuesday.
Sources say the resignation was with immediate effect.
Shortly after assuming the chairmanship of the AATT in September, Benjamin requested Birju’s CV, sources said.
Birju said that his CV would be made available last week to Benjamin, but this did not happen and the Express was informed by sources that Birju did not produce the university transcript from the institution.
Efforts to contact Birju again yesterday were unsuccessful as calls to his cellphone and home phone went unanswered. Messages left were not returned.
When he was offered the position of deputy general manager, Airports Operations on August 10, 2010, Birju’s basic monthly salary was $24,000.
This figure did not include allowances.
A copy of his contract obtained by the Express showed perks such as travelling, entertainment, telephone and housing allowances. The allowances were $3,000, $500, $350 and $1,500, respectively, per month.
Birju also qualified for a motor vehicle loan up to $140,000 to be repaid within three years.
The offer contract was signed by then AATT general manager (ag) Louis Frederick.
Contacted on Monday, Frederick said he was presented with an “original” certificate. He said the certificate highlighted in the Express was the same one that was presented.
Asked if checks were made to determine the authenticity of the document, Frederick said: “No, because the original was submitted and we made a copy.”
Did you or the AATT check the copy with the university? the Express asked.
“No, what I remember, the AATT never did any checks like that. If you bring in the original certificates, they are copied and given back to you.
“Looking back at it, I have never had cause to do that (call a university) and I don’t think the (AATT) did that with anybody,” Frederick said.
Sources say the document was also submitted to Caribbean Airlines Ltd.
Efforts to contact Transport Minister Stephen Cadiz, as well as AATT chairman Benjamin, have been unsuccessful.
The Express learnt that, following his resignation, Birju informed the AATT that he had 45 days’ vacation leave and requested that he be paid for them.
Management at the AATT gave the undertaking that his claim will be looked at.
On January 16, 2012, the AATT board appointed Birju to act as general manager for six months.
His compensation package included a monthly salary of $32,000, transport facilities — $3,000, entertainment allowance — $1,500 and housing allowance — $3,000.