Re: 3ne2nr Hunters

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2013, 10:13 am

joker wrote:I support the ban....but the demolishing of camps

Rubbish....

Simply banning hunting for 2 years can never undo the trauma nor stop the abuse by those that do the most damage to local wildlife.

Postby joker » September 18th, 2013, 10:25 am

88. .
Sins.submit that proposal to all the.hunting.groups .... I like it except limit it.for.1mth per game

Postby joker » September 18th, 2013, 10:33 am

Long ago in edward trace...right behind d camp. Where our generator was ..(after waz)
Gouti and deer ...like ants..now. iz pressure ...yuh hafta walk at least 4miles.inside.to.get.the.dogs.to raise...but at.our.next.camp u sitting and dropping every thing 150 feet from bunk
Btw capybara taste gets out they would revert to. Our local game!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 18th, 2013, 11:06 am

The arrogance and ignorance of the minister on the issue is astounding to be honest. This is another nail in the governments coffin as hunters are quite passionate about their sport. Even after all the consultations and draft wildlife policy meetings and feedback provided to the government about ways to improve and ensure sustainability they go ahead and take drastic measures which will not make a dent in what they are trying to achieve in the long term. Hunting will continue albeit in a more illegal manner since I am certain some legal hunters will still hunt and the price of wild meat will now skyrocket because of the demand. Prepare to pay 800 or more for an agouti for Christmas and 5000 for a lappe. This will have a detrimental impact on the wildlife populations as trinis will pay the increased price as they do for alcohol and cigarettes. Unless the new draft policy is implemented the ban is a waste of time and ensures less votes because of a disgruntled society. Demolishing hunters camps is utter rubbish when compared with the illegal squatting and land grabs taking place all over the country in designated forest reserves and game sanctuaries such as Aripo and Melajo under this minister's watch.

/end rant

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 18th, 2013, 11:44 am

The biggest problem with the conservation of wildlife is when people commercialize the sale of wild meat.If there is no market for the sale then obviously there would be no need to hunt and kill excessive numbers of the animals.

MY clip hunt for sports and for a living .... so wen we come out of the hunting season after blazing over 500 agoutis and dozens of larger game in 4 months

The idea that one should be allowed to "make a living" from hunting in a country that food is readily available is complete BS.
Hunting should be viewed as nothing more than a monitored recreational activity and the exploiting of such for financial gain/benefit should be seen as a crime and dealt with appropriately.

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2013, 11:58 am

Utter stupidity in its purest form is what the minister is proposing. I cannot see any level of intelligent thought leading to this stupid kind of decision that affects so many people negatively and does nothing to resolve the issue in question. This leaves me to wonder if there is or isn't another motive behind this train of thought that is not being disclosed to the general population.

Very well put GRIM.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 18th, 2013, 12:48 pm

GRIM wrote:The biggest problem with the conservation of wildlife is when people commercialize the sale of wild meat.If there is no market for the sale then obviously there would be no need to hunt and kill excessive numbers of the animals.

MY clip hunt for sports and for a living .... so wen we come out of the hunting season after blazing over 500 agoutis and dozens of larger game in 4 months

The idea that one should be allowed to "make a living" from hunting in a country that food is readily available is complete BS.
Hunting should be viewed as nothing more than a monitored recreational activity and the exploiting of such for financial gain/benefit should be seen as a crime and dealt with appropriately.

This is very accurate and well said. Ideas like these were submitted for the revised policy. Sale and commercial sale is one of the main points on the policy. Keep an eye on the minister closely and you will see why and who will profit. Its all about dollars and cents for these failures in government.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 18th, 2013, 1:54 pm

I do not agree with introducing foreign species into TnT.

Next year is a conference on Neo-Tropical Animals in Trinidad. Dr. Garcia, my fav uwi lecturer, is in this.

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2013, 3:26 pm

Now Gem_in_i, I'm not knocking your perspective or opinion, but there are many points of view on the introduction of non native species. There are benefits, as well as drawbacks to be weighed before this route should be taken. I'm not trying to convince anyone that this line of thought is a solution or even ideal. However it's an option worth considering, particularly if applied in conjunction with other measures as I mentioned earlier in regard to harsher penalties and better season management. The key aspects needed here IMO are giving legitimate hunters another species of game animal to hunt in an effort to take the strain off our local wildlife so they may recover, and more severe means of punishing those that flout the law by hunting out of season without licence and for profit.

Considering our close proximity to the south american continent, it isn't entirely unbelievable that once a long time ago some species indigenous to that region today may very well have existed here, and subsequently had gone extinct for whatever reason, be that excessive hunting, disease, habitat destruction or what ever. They may have been eradicated before locals realized a need for documentation of native species. Who could be able to say for certain with scientifically or visually proven and documented evidence to support their claims for or against the theory. The agouti we hunt here with vigor and passion is only 1 of about 7 subspecies that can be found as far north as mexico. With an animal being native to such a vast and extensive range really who's to say what's "native"

At the end of he day, we all can understand and appreciate it's going to take a lot more than a temporary ban on hunting to help our local resources recover. I hope these politicians see that soon, before it's too late.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 18th, 2013, 7:43 pm

Not that Politician.

nickjr1990

Postby nickjr1990 » September 19th, 2013, 6:06 am

F@$k THIS GOVERNMENT IM NOT EVEN IN THE COUNTRY AND LOOKING FORWARD TO THE HUNTING SEASON EVEN FOR A MONTH THEY WANT TO PULL DIS SHEIT

SOE and end up paying criminals thousands, poor road conditions and the list goes on , DID THE DO ANY GOOD ???? OR JUST GUESSING FOR EVERY THING THEY DO !!!!!

MAYBE NEXT THEY WANT A DICTATOR COUNTRY! LAST I WANT TO HEAR FRM THIS GOVERNMENT STRIKE THREE!!!!!!!

Postby Gem_in_i » September 19th, 2013, 7:36 am

Had protest by Hunters yesterday at Caroni Swamp and Forestry Head Office.

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 8:23 am

Question, with the ban in place can you hunt on your own land

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 8:56 am

zr iirc the laws are made in such a way that you can take game species on your own property as a pest control measure but it is not to be transported off the property where it was killed for disposal or consumption. I'll have to look it over & get back to you

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 9:00 am

^>^ hey thanks bro, was told that sometime ago. Just needed to confirm this. So gonna have to hold cook in the bush

Postby joker » September 19th, 2013, 9:03 am

Inviting me zoom rader...I have capybara and 2scarlet ibis?

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 9:08 am

that's d best pot to bubble zr.

DJ

Postby DJ » September 19th, 2013, 9:11 am

Suppose a gouti attack meh? Can I defend mihself by shooting, and eating it?

davymaraj

Postby davymaraj » September 19th, 2013, 9:20 am

how can you ban hunting of manicou it is proven they cannot go extinct purely because of their reproductive make up and also its considered a pest by most estate owners. I think they should ban certain animals for a period and place a limit on the number of animals they can hunt.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 19th, 2013, 9:30 am

davymaraj wrote:how can you ban hunting of manicou it is proven they cannot go extinct purely because of their reproductive make up and also its considered a pest by most estate owners. I think they should ban certain animals for a period and place a limit on the number of animals they can hunt.

You cannot be serious !!!

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 9:36 am

zr, start with this. check section 5" special game licences"
http://faolex.fao.org/docs/pdf/tri4483.pdf
Looking for the amended version now.

davy manicou,squirrel, yellowtails are listed in the 3rd schedule as vermin. IIRC a game warden informed me several years aback that there is no permit for these animals, or others that are considered vermin

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2013, 9:38 am

authorities could say,try and do what they please,they would never stop people from hunting.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 19th, 2013, 12:56 pm

Can only hunt vermin on your own land during the closed season.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 19th, 2013, 1:00 pm

Here is the amended version http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/alphabetical_list/lawspdfs/67.01.pdf

On a side note, went down police headquarters this morning to find out the procedure required to import accessories for air rifles i.e scopes,bipods,slings things of that nature and was told that no such permit exists and that a "ban" was placed on importing such items.When I ask why I was told that it was a decision made after the state of emergency to deny the importing of such by common citizens.
An air rifle import permit can still be acquired and if the imported rifle comes with a scope that scope is allowed to pass through customs once the rifle meets all other requirements.

I feel the next move is to try and bring one in meh luggage when I comin from d states.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 19th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Yip
I ordered a scope
And mounts
I got a call from the skybox co.
I was offered 2 choices
1) return it to shipper for a partial refund
2) leave it in miami yo be disposed of

Because they were instructed by both US and TT customs not to even send them on the plane

I sent it back
Got a refund minus 8US for return shipping

:(

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 1:53 pm

they not allowing the importation of any accessories or ammunition. & thats years b4 the soe, doh mind they use that excuse conviniently. BTW it have nuttin on d law books afaik preventing ppl from havin accessories either

Postby *KRONIK* » September 19th, 2013, 2:04 pm

Yeah...
But even if we could have accessories
How we gonna get it??

Only buckshots duz have random stuff...
Cases, slings etc

Other than that...

2500 for scope and mount by "hallowpoynt"
2000 for decent scope + 600 for a mount by buckshots..
Centrefire have scopes but only centrepoint but i didnt price them when i went recently...
Sports and gakes duz get scopes occassionally but 1400 for scope and 700 for mounts...

So is kinda unreasonably expensive to "accessorize"

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 19th, 2013, 2:24 pm

buckshot say he supposed to get a shipment of scopes and ammo by the end of the month.
he say he getting leapers/utg scopes and asking bout $1500 and up for them.The only problem is he probably bringing the lower end models i.e less than $150USD an in my opinion (and the opinion of many shooters/hunters aboard) them scopes is chinese-made rubbish.
If he sells a scope for $2000 thats $300USD and for that money I could get a hawke/KonusPro M30, paying that kinda money for a scope that cost so little and is of inferior quality is madness.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 19th, 2013, 2:27 pm

Thats my point...
We have to pay 3-4x the converted US price due to the mere fact the importation is monopolized...

Thats sux...
And we always get shafted with the lowest end priducts at the highest price...
Kinda like our car dealerships...
Same $hit...
Charge big money and feed the ppl crap

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 3:12 pm

When bringing in air rifles equipment, u can get away with it if it is listed as tools or parts for different equipment. I brought in my own spring and piston seal kit listed as tools via sky box. You need to tell the merchant to list it as tools in advance. Have the merchant remove all packaging that indicates what it is. Once customs sees it as tools it is cleared.
As for scopes and pellets you need to bring these in yourself in your hand luggage. Remove all packaging from scopes. If you get stopped my customs at airport tell them you sent the scope away to have it cleaned by professionals. Let them know it was brought in trini with the rifle