The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

moti

Re: Official Old School Spotters Thread

Postby moti » September 12th, 2013, 6:17 pm

shocksub wrote:Dreams are made of ....Hasselgren NA engine, ZF or Getrag 5 speed , cage, konis on the corners, and circuit the be-jesus out of it, only waking up when I engage the wildwood 4 pots.

Can I be your stepson? :|

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » September 12th, 2013, 7:00 pm

shocksub wrote:
moti wrote:^^ Stupes.

Man heart skip beat when I saw the pic without even reading what you typed.

AHHHHHH

Screw the mirrors, covet....

Eh...hear nah...screw moti i hav good kidneys available :-|

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2013, 11:19 pm

was in the "spotters" ched...

this is just so cleanly done....

Details anyone?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 13th, 2013, 12:56 am

Awesomeness @ae86

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 13th, 2013, 3:51 pm

moti wrote:
shocksub wrote:Dreams are made of ....Hasselgren NA engine, ZF or Getrag 5 speed , cage, konis on the corners, and circuit the be-jesus out of it, only waking up when I engage the wildwood 4 pots.

Can I be your stepson? :|

na na na padna...

position filled :lol: :lol:

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » September 13th, 2013, 9:09 pm

well, to be honest, I really didn't know which thread to post these pics on. Because in the purest sense, Ol School Cars...at least to those who know the difference between an Antique and a Classic car would know that the term Ole School, Ol Skool, Old School...came about during the 70's and 80s disco era, where we as Caribbean ppl grew up on music, movies and the culture of that era, so we termed cars of that era as Ol School. Which is quite funny, considering American Hot Rodders, look at pre 40s cars and that style as Old School.

Ironically, those of todays generation, who grew up in the 90s and early 2000s classify cars of the 90s as Ol School, as their "era of maturity" would be within the last 10-15yrs or so...hence to some 20yr and even 30yr olds...a Sunny, Galant, 280c, Laurel...even an early L200pickup...would be considered Ol School.

Anyhoo....Classics are considered 30-40yrs old. For eg: 60s Mustangs, Camaros, Mk1&2 Escorts, Capris, Cortinas etc and Antiques...from 50yrs and older, like the '57 Bel Air, '41 Ford/Merc, '29-'31 Anglias, Prefecs, Austins etc

So ah go jes post these pics here, and call dat George.
1238072_682502731778853_209081037_n.jpg
600632_682502698445523_2026625441_n.jpg
1237923_682502695112190_65583436_n.jpg
1240328_682502715112188_16255898_n.jpg
1229815_682502738445519_1854359841_n.jpg

I'm thinkin, now that I've posted them...that the car that will get the most attention of these here, will most likely be the one idolized by the 80s to 90s generation. Let's see if my theory is disproven...

Postby Monk BANzai » September 13th, 2013, 11:47 pm

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=529109

its a PAM....*shrugs...

shocksub

Postby shocksub » September 14th, 2013, 10:37 am

I look forward to this thread more than all others, there are cars here that I have never seen before and am very glad when they are posted. Trini " Old School" is a mix of Jap, English and American. The demise of the RWD in jap cars, the lack of English and American cars being brought in in the interim and taste for more comfort oriented vehicles, makes Trini old school a mix that only this island really has, that's why RX2s, 120ys, datsun1200s, box lancers, 620&720 pickups share space with escorts, chevelles, malibus, Camaros etc...in my opinion.

Keep posting, everyone will have their own particular taste, at least we will keep seeing cars that may be lost forever to the junkyard.

Centric

Postby Centric » September 14th, 2013, 11:08 am

Ent that 86 was yellow before?

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » September 14th, 2013, 9:13 pm

shocksub wrote:I look forward to this thread more than all others, there are cars here that I have never seen before and am very glad when they are posted. Trini " Old School" is a mix of Jap, English and American. The demise of the RWD in jap cars, the lack of English and American cars being brought in in the interim and taste for more comfort oriented vehicles, makes Trini old school a mix that only this island really has, that's why RX2s, 120ys, datsun1200s, box lancers, 620&720 pickups share space with escorts, chevelles, malibus, Camaros etc...in my opinion.

Keep posting, everyone will have their own particular taste, at least we will keep seeing cars that may be lost forever to the junkyard.

Well said...these old cars starting to disappear fast. We have to try n keep dem up n runnin...all these cars are becoming classics if not already so. In the states here ppl keeping dey old chevys n fords alive and takin pride in dem. i just wish i could find me a old datsun to fix up. Dey becoming real hard to find here now. A nice 720 pickup or a b310 coupe will do nicely for me.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 14th, 2013, 11:01 pm

Probably posted already,

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2013, 11:18 pm

is that a stingray?

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 9:48 am

nope
not a stingray

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 16th, 2013, 9:53 am

1 of the uglier corvettes made

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 16th, 2013, 10:00 am

1 of the uglier corvettes made

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 10:46 am

I disagree

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 16th, 2013, 3:54 pm

MG Man wrote:I disagree

i agree to disagree

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 16th, 2013, 4:06 pm

sure that not the stingray ive been asking about for a while.?
PAJ plates kinda has me sold that it is.
It was white back in the 80's

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 4:58 pm

that not a stingray
it's a C3.........prolly an early to mid 1970s model
afaik, the black split window stingray still tucked away in gasparillo

Postby wagonrunner » September 16th, 2013, 5:35 pm

MG Man wrote:that not a stingray

wiki and others has the C3 as a second gen sting ray.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Corvette_(C3)

hindian

Postby hindian » September 16th, 2013, 9:05 pm

TriniGT wrote:Probably posted already,

Haven't seen this car in years...glad to know it still around this used to be parked up everytime I've seen it...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 17th, 2013, 10:10 am

Correct Karl.
This model is listed as the C3 1973 Corvette Stingray Coupe

But everyone knows that the most exciting corvette created is the C4 :lol:

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 17th, 2013, 10:17 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

Correct Karl.

Just a stingray badge to promote sales in that era with the low perf. engine package

Postby DVSTT » September 17th, 2013, 10:44 am

Where in gasparillo? :O

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2013, 4:49 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

Correct Karl.

wikimuddaman
stingray ended when they changed the bodystyle to the C3

Postby wagonrunner » September 17th, 2013, 5:40 pm

MG Man wrote:wikimuddaman
stingray ended when they changed the bodystyle to the C3

bun some tires and demand jostiss. it eh we fault dem no have your knowledge. :lol: :lol:
http://www.diecastsociety.com/review-autoart-chevrolet-corvette-1970/
http://www.classicandperformancecar.com/front_website/octane_interact/carspecs.php/?see=3322

even chevrolet hadda hold a burn.
look what they say happen in 1969 in the C3 body
http://www.chevrolet.com/content/dam/Chevrolet/northamerica/usa/nscwebsite/en/Home/Chevy%20Culture/News/dream_cruise/01-images/2012_culture_racing_dream_cruise_timeline_download.pdf

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 17th, 2013, 7:29 pm

DVSTT wrote:

kenny's one,currently under heavy resto right now i've heard, big block crate motor and all

oh and its not a split,normal '77-'80 stingray i think (cant remember off hand which exact)

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2013, 8:20 pm

Wagonrunner I have spoken

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2013, 8:21 pm

You mean all these years of hearing from 'creditable' sources, it's not a black split window coupe?
My life has been one huge lie :-/

ru$$ell wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

kenny's one,currently under heavy resto right now i've heard, big block crate motor and all

oh and its not a split,normal '77-'80 stingray i think (cant remember off hand which exact)

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » September 17th, 2013, 9:06 pm