The 'Speed Kills' Myth (anti-Mg Man thought process)

Postby SUPAstarr » September 15th, 2013, 4:25 pm

It's a good watch, not everything is applicable, but some of the facts are. Your thoughts?

Re: The 'Speed Kills' Myth

Postby ronsin1 » September 15th, 2013, 5:20 pm

Interesting

Postby sliderz1 » September 15th, 2013, 6:42 pm

fantastic watch

Postby wagonrunner » September 15th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Vasant Bharath frowns on this or anything resembling reality.

japzor

Postby japzor » September 15th, 2013, 8:20 pm

Good post.

Postby hydroep » September 15th, 2013, 8:24 pm

I like the point about those drivers who use the speed limit as an excuse for hogging the overtaking lane. Increasing our limit to let's say 120 km/h would probably eliminate that excuse for the local 'slow pokes' but our problem would be (as it always has been) a lack of enforcement.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 15th, 2013, 8:36 pm

Very interesting indeed.

TriP

Postby TriP » September 15th, 2013, 8:39 pm

nicee..postt..!!!

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » September 15th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Subscribed. Rated and Endorsed. We have been saying similar for YEARS!

Postby bushwakka » September 15th, 2013, 9:29 pm

tldnw

Postby noshownogo » September 15th, 2013, 9:49 pm

Narrator sound bitter like he on the receiving end of a few tickets :lol:

He does make good sensible points with lots of supporting evidence though.

Postby Sky » September 15th, 2013, 9:53 pm

We need more awareness and maturity, mixed will less "that can't happen to me" mentality before we raise the speed limit here.

Postby sliderz1 » September 15th, 2013, 9:55 pm

duane where's my sig?

Postby eliteauto » September 15th, 2013, 9:59 pm

Sky wrote:We need more awareness and maturity, mixed will less "that can't happen to me" mentality before we raise the speed limit here.

raise it/don't raise it stupid ppl will still be stupid

Postby pioneer » September 15th, 2013, 11:07 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Sky wrote:We need more awareness and maturity, mixed will less "that can't happen to me" mentality before we raise the speed limit here.

Strong this

Trinis need to take stock of themselves and stop being tuntuns - like those people who insist on reading papers, putting on makeup, feeding and dressing chiren all while driving.

Also nothing can happen without proper enforcement - like seatbelt and cellphone laws. People using cellphones normal as if that law never existed. Increase those fines to $6000 and make it hurt.

Trinis not properly cultured and civilised enough to appreciate anything good or progressive.

Let's not even start on the PH and taxi drivers.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 15th, 2013, 11:56 pm

Pios... Higher fines DISCOURAGE enforcement, and mean that those charged feel victimised and are more likely to fight the ticket... if the fine was $300 real men would be getting charge, and still cussin, but learning their lesson... but as the video says, its not about getting people to do the right thing, its about making money

As for the speed limit, today I drove home at 80km down the highway, and I really felt like i was an obstacle to other drivers, though honestly it was wet and they were overdoing it IMHO

Postby Monk BANzai » September 16th, 2013, 12:16 am

eliteauto wrote:

Strong this

Trinis need to take stock of themselves and stop being tuntuns - like those people who insist on reading papers, putting on makeup, feeding and dressing chiren all while driving.

Also nothing can happen without proper enforcement - like seatbelt and cellphone laws. People using cellphones normal as if that law never existed. Increase those fines to $6000 and make it hurt.

Trinis not properly cultured and civilised enough to appreciate anything good or progressive.

Let's not even start on the PH and taxi drivers.

add proper education to that....ive always maintained that the country that boasts some of the best motorsport drivers in the world got it becuz...they were properly taught..

2 years to obtain your Driver's Permit.

Great Post SuperStaRR...

Re: The 'Speed Kills' Myth (anti-Mg Man thought process)

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 10:14 am

high speed limit, low speed limit, bumbassery will always claim lives
Every fculing Sunday, I drive to Princes Town and I swear every dumb cnut has to cross the white line around a corner
Not to mention the dumb cnuts who gee fyahz to overtake just before the blind hill overlooking Usine Ste Madeline pond, and then on the short stretch just before the sharp left................
I am pretty sure local stats would confirm most local fatalities do not result from doing 160 on the highway.
Properly designed highways can facilitate 120kph speed limits, but when you have sheit like the 'humps' on the Claxton Bay bend (northbound), and crumbling asphalt, PLUS nannyfarts who insist on doing 80k in the overtaking lane, it increases the risk of some sort of drama
Sadly traffic laws are really made for the lowest common denominator (ie the shitass driver) and not for skilled drivers.............

Postby pioneer » September 16th, 2013, 10:30 am

Is talknah society...everybody ha rights now

Is their constitutional right to jive like ah dunce, with the complimentary dunce look on their face after they execute such jive.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 16th, 2013, 1:07 pm

MG Man wrote:high speed limit, low speed limit, bumbassery will always claim lives
Every fculing Sunday, I drive to Princes Town and I swear every dumb cnut has to cross the white line around a corner
Not to mention the dumb cnuts who gee fyahz to overtake just before the blind hill overlooking Usine Ste Madeline pond, and then on the short stretch just before the sharp left................
I am pretty sure local stats would confirm most local fatalities do not result from doing 160 on the highway.
Properly designed highways can facilitate 120kph speed limits, but when you have sheit like the 'humps' on the Claxton Bay bend (northbound), and crumbling asphalt, PLUS nannyfarts who insist on doing 80k in the overtaking lane, it increases the risk of some sort of drama
Sadly traffic laws are really made for the lowest common denominator (ie the shitass driver) and not for skilled drivers.............

this.

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2013, 1:28 pm

MG Man wrote:high speed limit, low speed limit, bumbassery will always claim lives

^so what's the speed limit in the overtaking lane then?

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 1:48 pm

we need:
Better (world-standard) roads (including more use of those cable thingies
Proper alerts and warnings for drivers about changing weather / traffic conditions, construction etc
Proper sidewalks for pedestrians
Proper vehicle inspection system (not the buy-ah-windscreen sticker system)
Proper drivers ed / training
Proper accident investigations and analysis

Once we have that, we can set realistic highway speed limits, so then we can have stiffer penalties for violators, including:
progressively higher fines for faster speeds above speed limit
fines for idiot pedestrians / jaywalkers
stiff penalties for drivers creating hazards by driving slowly on the highway / driving in the passing lane / shoulder
etc
I think most people would agree that 120kph is a reasonable speed limit. While I tend to drive around 80kph, I can see that speed putting many drivers to sleep (everybody's different)

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 1:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:

^so what's the speed limit in the overtaking lane then?

and suddenly, a wild nannyfart appears
the law states 'Keep left except when overtaking'
Pity they don't make you recite that when you buy your drivers permit

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 16th, 2013, 2:03 pm

^^^Get out of the fleckin way unless youre overtaking.

Thats the limit dammit!

Postby pete » September 16th, 2013, 2:20 pm

WRT the progressive speed fines, last time that was brought up the arguement was that by making it a higher penalty at a higher speed is like saying it's "ok" to break the speed limit a little bit.

So now it doesn't matter if you're doing 90 or 290, the speeding ticket is the same.

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2013, 2:26 pm

^who said i was goin 80k in the right lane? is just that some ppl want to use the right lane as an excuse to speed sometime doing almost twice the limit and staying in the lane even though there's no vehicles in the left- does the law says the speed limit ONLY applies to the left lane?

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 2:28 pm

I'm pretty sure you're trying somehow to make a point here, but maybe you need to take a few minutes and think about it...maybe colour with some crayons n such

Postby Sky » September 16th, 2013, 2:44 pm

You guys think that the police does give bligh, or they just too lazy to stop ppl when they're on the h/way and ppl passing them @ 120?

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2013, 2:47 pm

they on patrol :-p

Postby cinco » September 16th, 2013, 4:10 pm

Because police hadda prove u were speedin using their speedo as a measure wont hold up in court basically to stop yuh and charge yuh wid speedin dey hadda be timin on d side ah d highway....