help with upgrade...

rocknation

help with upgrade...

Postby rocknation » July 3rd, 2013, 9:36 am

hey.. i have a soundstream lil wonder ll 4.580 i was thinking of getting the powerbass asa 600.4 they both carry the same 2-30amps fuse have it on 2 18sound 8" an 2 d220ti drivers.
i just want to kno if this is a good up grade for my system or should i keep my soundstream on till i get another amp...

images (1).jpg
images (1).jpg (6.58 KiB) Viewed 4280 times

images.jpg
images.jpg (4.55 KiB) Viewed 4280 times

wanted

Re: help with upgrade...

Postby wanted » July 3rd, 2013, 6:37 pm

go with the powerbass you won't regret it!

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 3rd, 2013, 10:01 pm

wanted wrote:go with the powerbass you won't regret it!

Why?

SQ Audio

Postby SQ Audio » July 3rd, 2013, 11:12 pm

^^^lol! this is going to get funny very soon ^^^ he said upgrade lol and he said why^^^ lol...

wanted

Postby wanted » July 4th, 2013, 12:04 am

simply put,I used both of them on many installs and the powerbass is the better of the two! Soundstream lil wonder = problems, powerbass = no problems
I

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 4th, 2013, 12:07 am

wanted wrote:simply put,I used both of them on many installs and the powerbass is the better of the two! Soundstream lil wonder = problems, powerbass = no problems
I

I have a lil wonder like the pictured for the last how much ever years it was released (back when that was considered a "mini" amp) and to date only issue I had was I lost a power terminal.

What problems you had?

wanted

Postby wanted » July 4th, 2013, 12:20 am

the problem I had with all of them is that it shuts off after a few months,sometimes weeks. Installed them in many customer vehicles and it worked fine, then one day it stops. When the Tech checks them it's cold solder or something minor,but the point is that the powerbass never,never once gave trouble when replaced in the said vehicle. Just last week I went with a customer to buy a lil wonder 4 by a know store in Chaguanas and it worked fine in the store, when I installed it about 2 hours later it came on in protect mode with no speakers or RCAs hooked up.Took it back got a refund, went and got a Powerbass. Hope that answers your question, good luck with your lil wonder.

Postby black start » July 4th, 2013, 12:41 am

isn't that model powerbass a lot newer than that SS. How would we know of the long terms problems with the powerbass?

noob question-don't flame meh

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 4th, 2013, 2:02 am

wanted wrote:the problem I had with all of them is that it shuts off after a few months,sometimes weeks. Installed them in many customer vehicles and it worked fine, then one day it stops. When the Tech checks them it's cold solder or something minor,but the point is that the powerbass never,never once gave trouble when replaced in the said vehicle. Just last week I went with a customer to buy a lil wonder 4 by a know store in Chaguanas and it worked fine in the store, when I installed it about 2 hours later it came on in protect mode with no speakers or RCAs hooked up.Took it back got a refund, went and got a Powerbass. Hope that answers your question, good luck with your lil wonder.

Cold solder problems in a 5+ year old budget amp doesnt seem toofar fetched. I sure am lucky to not experience any problems in the howmuch ever years and installs mine has been in.

In your scenario with the lil wonder 4 (dunno bout that amp really) but when you returned it did it work in the store?

Id agree with you however wanted, that the lil wonder arnt the best of amps and the powerbass would be an upgrade in terms of having lower noise floor and a bit more power iirc (not much but still a gain) also with a newer amp (powerbass) you would have better longevity vs an already aging lil wonder.

To answer the OP, if you have a working amp it wont make much of a difference in a "upgrade", would be more like a shift. Maybe better to save some $$ and get a truly better amp.

black start wrote:isn't that model powerbass a lot newer than that SS. How would we know of the long terms problems with the powerbass?

Simple, we dont, just have to hope the build house they used had high QC and the product itself is worth holding onto. Could maybe guinea pig someone to open up one and take a look at the build quality but even that to the untrained eye maybe worth as much as a "yeaboidanboiitbess" review.

wanted

Postby wanted » July 4th, 2013, 8:25 am

black start wrote:isn't that model powerbass a lot newer than that SS. How would we know of the long terms problems with the powerbass?

that model has been out for years

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 4th, 2013, 10:28 am

wanted wrote:the problem I had with all of them is that it shuts off after a few months,sometimes weeks. Installed them in many customer vehicles and it worked fine, then one day it stops. When the Tech checks them it's cold solder or something minor,but the point is that the powerbass never,never once gave trouble when replaced in the said vehicle. Just last week I went with a customer to buy a lil wonder 4 by a know store in Chaguanas and it worked fine in the store, when I installed it about 2 hours later it came on in protect mode with no speakers or RCAs hooked up.Took it back got a refund, went and got a Powerbass. Hope that answers your question, good luck with your lil wonder.

just a fyi & btw to anybody reading : its not my store ... :|

wanted

Postby wanted » July 4th, 2013, 11:52 am

It's not Rovin's Store.

rocknation

Postby rocknation » July 14th, 2013, 9:04 pm

ok guys am going wit the ds-18 2400watts 4ch amp

http://www.ds18sound.com/#!product/prd1 ... /ds-2400.4

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 15th, 2013, 10:00 am

simple solution:save more$ and get a more reputable brand than both mentioned.

ranking dread

Postby ranking dread » July 15th, 2013, 12:30 pm

hear what buddy i have the same mids u have they an trust meh with dem amps u suggest they u wasting real good time
if space is an issue or u just looking for a simple install the powerbass is the best choice for longevity and headache free
if u lookin for full potential of them them 18sounds and drivers u need 2 amps to be heard blocks away lol (my suggestion powerbass 800.2) and a small 2 chanel
if u want a 4 ch look into 1 of these http://www.amazon.com/Hifonics-ZRX2000- ... zrx+2000.4

dxtremedreamer

Postby dxtremedreamer » September 14th, 2013, 6:21 pm

rocknation wrote:ok guys am going wit the ds-18 2400watts 4ch amp

http://www.ds18sound.com/#!product/prd1 ... /ds-2400.4

How does this amp perform? i am considering getting it for a small system..