Boat accident in Las Cuevas

Re: Boat accident in Las Cuevas

Postby pioneer » June 26th, 2013, 7:14 pm

They asked them months ago to ease up on the nets because they were killing green turtles, fishermen say nah dem hadda make ah dollah an feed dey famalee

Postby rspann » June 26th, 2013, 7:46 pm

Poor people have to eat too,they want JOSTISS!Boy,one of them cut across my path sunday coming from Chac,if I didn't slow down and give him a bligh,he ass was grass all now.You seeing this massive boat under full speed and cut straight across almost under it,had to be high on something .

Postby pioneer » June 26th, 2013, 7:47 pm

yuh was returning some slaves?

Postby rspann » June 26th, 2013, 7:50 pm

No,my boat name fatel rozack ,ah was bringing in some indentures.LOl.Calcutta ship.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 26th, 2013, 8:45 pm

javishm wrote:The driver of the boat which collided with Blades turned around picked Blades out of the water and brought her to shore.

At least he had the decency to stop and bring her to shore. I know some people wudda gun it out of there

Postby javishm » June 26th, 2013, 11:46 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
javishm wrote:The driver of the boat which collided with Blades turned around picked Blades out of the water and brought her to shore.

At least he had the decency to stop and bring her to shore. I know some people wudda gun it out of there

i was reading elsewhere where they said he ran after bringing her onto the shore...idk how true that is...

dem fishermen only care bout the mulah

Postby turbosingh » June 27th, 2013, 6:48 am

Didnt realize her parents were close friends off my parents Damn!

Postby Slartibartfast » June 27th, 2013, 8:56 am

javishm wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

i was reading elsewhere where they said he ran after bringing her onto the shore...idk how true that is...

dem fishermen only care bout the mulah

It sounded like he ran cuz he was scared of what would happen to him when police came. Honestly I would have been sheiting myself to. He seems to not be a malicious person but geez he real stupid to be boating through there in the first place.

Ignorance might not be a crime, but stupidity will get you arrested

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 27th, 2013, 8:59 am

rspann wrote:Poor people have to eat too,they want JOSTISS!Boy,one of them cut across my path sunday coming from Chac,if I didn't slow down and give him a bligh,he ass was grass all now.You seeing this massive boat under full speed and cut straight across almost under it,had to be high on something .

Just clarifying something rspann,- what direction were you headed and what direction was he headed?
I take it you had the RIGHT of way according to the Rules of the sea?
if you DID, i would have scared the crap out of that other boat just to teach them a lesson!

Postby wagonrunner » June 27th, 2013, 9:40 am

Slartibartfast wrote: but geez he real stupid to be boating through there in the first place.

Ignorance might not be a crime, but stupidity will get you arrested

Did they say what part of the beach she got hit?
the eastern side of that beach (Las Cuevas) looks like this. There is a fishing depot there.

ImageImage
Last edited by wagonrunner on June 27th, 2013, 9:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » June 27th, 2013, 9:42 am

We were running parallel to each other heading east,he was behind by a few meters,and to my right, when all of a sudden he veered left,crossing almost under my bow.I had my whole family on board and I was not taking any chances I had to cut all my speed immediately.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 27th, 2013, 10:00 am

wagonrunner wrote:Did they say what part of the beach she got hit?
the eastern side of that beach (Las Cuevas) looks like this. There is a fishing depot there.

I think it is unlikely that she was swimming in between or close to all of those boats AND he was travelling parallel to the shoreline at such a high speed in between all those boats.

If that was the case I would downgrade from calling him stupid to calling him reckless. Can anyone confirm which part of the beach the accident took place?

Postby wagonrunner » June 27th, 2013, 10:19 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Can anyone confirm which part of the beach the accident took place?

thats what I'm hoping for as well.
The strange thing is the most eastern life guard tower has boats on sand right next to it (boats tied because at high tide they float), directly ahead of it, and even between it and the ramp up to the beach facilities. when it comes to the sea - Bathers > pirogues. You'd bathe by a lifeguard tower wouldn't you?

Those boats don't teleport back and forth. they go in the water right there, and come out the water right there. Anywhere from the ramp, and east of it.

As for high rate of speed - ABS doesn't work in the water. :|
Even if you cut all power or try reverse. momentum carries for some distance.

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » June 27th, 2013, 12:42 pm

rspann...I commend you on your gallantry.

THAT is the best possible thing you could have done and it just drives home my belief that people in this country who operate vehicles of any sort just don't give a damn anymore..anything goes apparently..

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » September 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

SO was the driver of the boat ever CHARGED ?