:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » August 22nd, 2013, 8:37 pm

I looking for paraffin wax. Anyone knows where I can get?

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2013, 10:03 am

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 23rd, 2013, 10:08 am

Try explaining that "nail gun" to customs.

"buh ociffer dais to build mih house, what you mean weapon?"

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2013, 10:12 am

it's fake of course lol

Postby turbosingh » August 23rd, 2013, 10:12 am

^^Just offer him a little$$$ an it will be fine.

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2013, 2:12 pm

u all aint noticing the amt of places selling used tools (from the US) and the ridiculous prices they want for it?

is this a good router?
http://www.amazon.com/Hitachi-M12VC-4-H ... rds=router

diy use really

or should i get the PC 690?

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 9th, 2013, 6:59 pm

It is a good router, i almost bought one but opted for the Skil with a carry bag. I like bags and cases. Keeps everything together.

The PC is a better buy as its the standard for measuring others.

After market accessories for it are second to none.

That said, a Bosch Colt will do almost everything the bigger ones will do unless you are a serious diy woodworker. If i had to buy again, i would get a Colt for my occasional small use.

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2013, 7:06 pm

looking for some advice on how I can prepare used wooden pallets to stand up to the outdoor elements

rain/sun/mud etc

want to repurpose some for some outdoor furniture.

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 7:14 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:looking for some advice on how I can prepare used wooden pallets to stand up to the outdoor elements

rain/sun/mud etc

THIS is all you need

Available at FTfarfan...thirdworld trinis dunno what that is...hardware men (even bhags) go tell you sandin sealer...

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2013, 7:15 pm

the easiest waterproofing for wood is fiberglass resin with a little aerosil or micro bubbles/beads(i cant remember the exact name)

but this maybe costly
you might have to sand the pallets so you will use less resin

other than that, you may wanna check sherwin williams/farfan for any product that could work and may be cheaper

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2013, 7:18 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:looking for some advice on how I can prepare used wooden pallets to stand up to the outdoor elements

rain/sun/mud etc

THIS is all you need

Available at FTfarfan...thirdworld trinis dunno what that is...hardware men (even bhags) go tell you sandin sealer...

thanks pioneer,
guh invite yuh for some drinks when project done
PRODUCT OVERVIEW

The Bulls Eye 1-2-3 1-Gallon Water-Based White Primer/Sealer is a versatile, low-VOC interior/exterior primer that seals porous surfaces and traps most stains. It is specially formulated for use on ferrous and non-ferrous metals, making it ideal for repainting aluminum siding. It also bonds well to wood, plaster, concrete, gloss enamels, hardboard siding, glass and tile. It dries to the touch in 30 minutes and is ready for paint in as little as 1 hour.

Ideal for repainting rough, chalky surfaces like aluminum siding
Applies with a roller, sprayer or brush
Water-based formula bonds to glossy surfaces without scuff sanding
Resists peeling and blistering
Rust-inhibiting formula can prime ferrous metals
Mold and mildew resistant once dry
Each gallon covers up to 450 sq. ft., depending on surface porosity
Subject to or will include a recycling fee in the following sates: CA, OR, CT
Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
Use our online calculator to determine the ideal amount of paint to complete your project
MFG Model # : 182407
MFG Part # : 182407

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2013, 8:09 pm

bullseye is serious stuff, you can only thin/wash brushes with methylated spirits.
I bought some a long time ago from young sing.

pallets come in all varieties of wood, most cheap light pine.

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 8:11 pm

Ummm the can says you can thin with water, I thin if needed with water

It's water-based

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Cans i used clearly said denatured alcohol which is methylated spirits.
Maybe they have changed

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 8:19 pm

I feel so...check can above...water-base

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2013, 8:25 pm

If you google it with denatured you still get results saying so,also ammonia cleans it up.
I remember that very clearly

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2013, 8:34 pm

yeah but that bullseye is atleast 150 a quart and a quart might barely complete 2 pallets top/bottom

it may not be practical to use that from a financial perspective
unless ABA dont mind spending some $$

a gal of fiberglas resin is approx 110

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2013, 8:36 pm

damn @ 150 a quart....okay that wont make sense because i need to do something like 100 pallets....

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 8:37 pm

I have a quart I bought last year and it saying $80

pugboy, I does clean off spills on my fingers with water

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2013, 8:42 pm

ill call/check farfan tomorrow and let you guys know

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2013, 8:43 pm

It must have changed then

Postby Ted_v2 » September 9th, 2013, 8:44 pm

fiberglass resin is the best option.

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2013, 8:52 pm

If can afford it get a plunge router.
I have the dewalt 621 and plunge capability is much nicer.

I just get the dewalt table saw and rolling stand, problem is i have nowhere to keep it,lol

Postby pioneer » September 10th, 2013, 12:00 am

I have de 618PK and couldn't be happier

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2013, 12:23 am

X_Factor wrote:u all aint noticing the amt of places selling used tools (from the US) and the ridiculous prices they want for it?

is this a good router?
http://www.amazon.com/Hitachi-M12VC-4-H ... rds=router

diy use really

or should i get the PC 690?

Believe it or not box men using the Black and Decker plunge router and it real holding up. I think I saw it for $800.00 by SSL sometime back.

I bought a milwaukee plunge router from there self for like $1500.00.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 10th, 2013, 7:49 am

MDF is like wet toilet paper to a router. Anything will hold up so not an accurate gauge there.

Postby gt4tified » September 11th, 2013, 2:26 am

Looking at a router table setup...do you guys think it better to make one with a fence or buy one?

Postby Chimera » September 11th, 2013, 7:25 am

Feel I gonna buy the dewalt sawzall

Postby X_Factor » September 11th, 2013, 8:09 am

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW310K-Amp ... lt+sawzall

get this one!!
but if u have no use for it and just buying for buying sake, hold off till they have some tool deal

Postby Chimera » September 11th, 2013, 6:14 pm

nah i have use lol

need it to dismantle some pallets