So you jump inna taxi and Kamla driving. Wha u go do?

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2013, 4:04 pm

Norway's PM becomes taxi driver for a day to canvass opinion

Norwegian Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg became a taxi driver to hear directly from voters in an unusual election stunt.
By Henry Austin, NBC News contributor
Norway’s prime minister went undercover as a taxi driver in an attempt to find out what the voters were really thinking.
Donning dark glasses, Jens Stoltenberg canvassed opinion as drove around Oslo in June, only confirming his identity when passengers realized who he was.
Hidden cameras fitted in the cab recorded reactions from the passengers, including one who remarked: "From this angle, he really looks like the prime minister."
The footage was published on Sunday by daily newspaper Verdens Gang (VG) and on the PM's Facebook and twitter pages.
"If there is one place where people say what they really mean about most things, it is in a taxi. Right from the gut," Stoltenberg told VG. “I loved talking to people and we kept driving for several hours. In fact I was quite sad when it was over.”
Reaction to the incognito Stoltenberg, who has led the country for eight years, was mixed. Many of his passengers were left shocked and bemused.

Norwegian Labour Party / Scanpix via AP
Norwegian Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg went undercover as a taxi driver.

"So, you have begun driving a taxi," deadpanned one passenger after realizing who his chauffeur was. "Have you quit as prime minister?" another asked.
But the discussions soon turned to politics, with his customers raising a number of issues facing the country ahead of the September 9 general election -- which Stoltenberg's ruling leftist coalition appears likely to lose, according to a poll conducted for Norwegian TV station TV2.
An elderly woman who recognized the politician urged him to do something about "the salaries of bosses," complaining that "they should not make millions like that."
A student discussed education policy and another raised environmental issues.
Some of the passengers were handpicked, while others were randomly picked up off the street.
Nearly all were given a bumpy ride.
At one point the prime minister jolted the automatic car by pressing the brake, when he thought he was pressing the clutch.
"I am not really happy about the driving," said one passenger. "I guess I will live," another said. "Your driving is really bad," a third added.

Norwegian Labour Party / Scanpix via AP
"If there is one place where people say what they really mean about most things, it is in a taxi," Norwegian Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg said.

Stoltenberg later confessed he was not used to driving as he usually sits at the back of his chauffeured car.
The stunt was planned with the Try Advertising Agency.
Agency owner Kjetil Try said there had been some concerns from the police to begin with, but that everything had gone to plan in the end.
“There is no political advertising on TV in Norway,” he said. “So we had to come up with something that captured the imagination. The response has been very positive.”
He added that the video would be shown in cinemas across the country.
Stoltenberg said he was not ready for a career change.
“First, I will not lose the election,” he told VG. “I believe this country and its taxi passengers will be better off without me as a taxi driver.”
Reuters contributed to this report.
This story was originally published on Mon Aug 12, 2013 5:24 AM EDT

http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013 ... inion?lite

speedist

Re: So you jump inna taxi and Kamla driving. Wha u go do?

Postby speedist » August 12th, 2013, 4:16 pm

Ask she if she could drop meh chaguanas...

Postby j.o.e » August 12th, 2013, 4:17 pm

Ask her to take a breathalyzer

Postby wagonrunner » August 12th, 2013, 4:30 pm

j.o.e wrote:Ask her to take a breathalyzer

nah dan. ask she to share the White Oak, chaser, and procure a vessel if she says yes.

Postby Rainman » August 12th, 2013, 4:33 pm

I don't get into vehicles with drunk drivers.

speedist

Postby speedist » August 12th, 2013, 4:44 pm

No boat ride either?

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 12th, 2013, 4:47 pm

Ear gyul dai yew?

Econo on de leff wwgd?

Postby shogun » August 12th, 2013, 4:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:Ask her to take a breathalyzer

Awesome stunt by Stoltenberg...

Obama, Putin or Cameron, could never pull that off.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 12th, 2013, 4:47 pm

Id ask her to take me into a desolate area and have her way with me.
Id promise her that i won t tell anyone.

greenlantern12

Postby greenlantern12 » August 12th, 2013, 4:54 pm

I would rob her cause that's she and other government official have been doing to the ppl of t&t

speedist

Postby speedist » August 12th, 2013, 4:56 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Id ask her to take me into a desolate area and have her way with me.
Id promise her that i won t tell anyone.

That's just wrong. *shivers*
3pl9u9.jpg
3pl9u9.jpg (22.76 KiB) Viewed 4042 times

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2013, 4:56 pm

greenlantern12 wrote:I would rob her cause that's she and other government official have been doing to the ppl of t&t

*DEDZ*

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2013, 5:15 pm

Postby shogun » August 12th, 2013, 5:24 pm

^You don't even have to go that far back.

The last three years took a toll on her. Just the other night they showed footage of her, when she was being sworn in as PM, mixed with more recent footage... I was like WTF!

Postby Spitfir3 » August 12th, 2013, 6:46 pm

i would most likely get into a fist fight because lets face it kams not going to give up she white oak jus so jus so

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 12th, 2013, 7:15 pm

She have to mash out and pass everything on the road... Take the shoulder I ent care, feel like we in the chopper... Reach to work early for once.

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2013, 8:49 pm

I go jump outta taxi

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2013, 8:53 pm

I'll ask her how come the little people don't matter to them anymore.

Postby rspann » August 12th, 2013, 8:59 pm

Last edited by rspann on August 12th, 2013, 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

marlener

Postby marlener » August 12th, 2013, 9:00 pm

Jump out and promise to come back and pay.

Postby j.o.e » August 12th, 2013, 9:01 pm

I would pray that she's a better driver than she is a PM

Postby Monk BANzai » August 12th, 2013, 9:08 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Ear gyul dai yew?

Econo on de leff wwgd?

improved beds in that room...

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 12th, 2013, 9:08 pm

Rainman wrote:I don't get into vehicles with drunk drivers.

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Ollour check meh bearse chutney nah :)

Ah jump in ah car
With Kamla
Chupke chupke

:| :|

Postby brams112 » August 12th, 2013, 9:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I'll ask her how come the little people don't matter to them anymore.

Ent?

speedist

Postby speedist » August 12th, 2013, 9:36 pm

Why is the rum gone?

Postby sMASH » August 12th, 2013, 9:51 pm

keep a firm grip on my wallet... they already appropriated my taxes, not gonna let them get the rest

geodude

Postby geodude » August 12th, 2013, 10:02 pm

post it on tuner, busy busy

duh

Postby javishm » August 13th, 2013, 12:48 am

that will never happen she feel she too stush for that

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 13th, 2013, 6:32 am

javishm wrote:that will never happen she feel she too stush for that

Which is true given her status in our society. Which makes you the fox