HID KIT help!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Keegs

HID KIT help!

Postby Keegs » August 7th, 2013, 4:43 pm

Honda men/women...got a 99' EK3 sedan with projector headlights and wanna know what's the best HID kit to install? What size bulb does 6th generation civic carry?? Im thinking hi and lo beam around 6000 low and 8000 hi?!

hondablood

Re: HID KIT help!

Postby hondablood » August 7th, 2013, 6:09 pm

doesnt matter what bulb ypu put,trust me,that light will just show as far as your big toe,been there,done that with the projectors and it was a waste of money plus i had to pay to get it wired,plus re wired when i went back stock,not to mention when rain fall..u wont see a thing...just my 2 cents

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » August 7th, 2013, 9:23 pm

^ correct stock is best

halfdef

Postby halfdef » August 7th, 2013, 10:06 pm

Function over form I always say ........stick to the oem size or try 90/100watt bulbs

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2013, 10:10 pm

hondablood wrote:doesnt matter what bulb ypu put,trust me,that light will just show as far as your big toe,been there,done that with the projectors and it was a waste of money plus i had to pay to get it wired,plus re wired when i went back stock,not to mention when rain fall..u wont see a thing...just my 2 cents

You tried adjusting the height of the beam?

Anyways, I find a bright yellow shows best at night. Grass looks green, white line on road looks white etc

hondablood

Postby hondablood » August 7th, 2013, 11:59 pm

hondablood wrote:doesnt matter what bulb ypu put,trust me,that light will just show as far as your big toe,been there,done that with the projectors and it was a waste of money plus i had to pay to get it wired,plus re wired when i went back stock,not to mention when rain fall..u wont see a thing...just my 2 cents

You tried adjusting the height of the beam?

Anyways, I find a bright yellow shows best at night. Grass looks green, white line on road looks white etc

i try everything i feel,all i do is blind pple,get real high beam in my eye and still ent seeing nutten

Keegs

Postby Keegs » August 8th, 2013, 6:48 am

Interesting info about stock. Well is there anyway to improve visibility of stock headlights? Probably should just change the bulbs, Instead of installing an HID kit???

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 8th, 2013, 10:07 am

imho HID is more of a 'style' when u compare functionality.....

Stock is best.

i to learn the hard way.

Postby r3iXmann » August 8th, 2013, 1:26 pm

you can retrofit projector lights or buy aftermarket projector lights

also, two things to bear in mind..

1. the higher the kelvins, the less usable light you'll have
2. most HID kits sold locally are 35W..get a 55W kit..VVME makes good stuff..been using them for a while now

Return to “HONDA”